We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Design ... Great Food ... A bit of attitude”
Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #2 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed at Opposite House for a long weekend.
Design was beautiful.
Lobby is breathtaking. with great rotating exhibit
Rooms had everything you needed and refreshing design.
Free wifi throughout .. a bonus!
Ate at the village ... delicious and Sureño .. the highlight (great food, wine and service)
My only negative comment was that i do not pay to have attitude as part of the service. Esp from the front desk. A smile and helpful assistance would be appreciated, not rolling eyes and cool attitude by some of the front desk staff (not all).
Saying that ... i still look fwd to returning and experiencing this great hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas_destinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

Amazing art exhibit foyer.
Easy check in (although some of the staff a little snobby)
Great food.
Location is in a hip part of town.
Enjoyed our experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

An amazing hotel. Beautiful large rooms, sleek cedar interiors - huge, square cedar bath. Superbly stocked mini bar - free from memory (booze excluded!). Excellent service and fantastic eating options - both in the hotel and in Sanlitun. Mesh Bar in lobby is a good start to the night, Punk (club) not the best, but fun for a night cap. Beautifully designed lobby space with regular art shows and a lovely little cafe. Have stayed there three and was excellent each time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonKjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

One of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. From the gorgeous wood, metal and cloth textures used in the room, through the lovely personalised gifts that they leave you every night, free (and continually refilled) minibar and free wifi, the great breakfasts and exceedingly deep bamboo bath, to the fact that it doesn't really feel like a hotel at all; more like you're staying in an art installation. From the future. Staff were great, beds were comfy, location fantastic; will be totally unable to stay happily in any other hotel from now on.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulamae_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed 2 nights at The Opposite House in mid March on a business trip, traveling with a co-worker. In general, unlike other Asian cultures (say Japanese), China is not as well known for their high level of customer service in most of their hotels and restaurants. However, they have been making advancements in the service level here and there. The Opposite House is one of those places.

Neighborhood: I was told that the location is among the best for younger people as the neighborhood is full of bars, shops and restaurants. I went out one night in the next door shopping plaza where there's a trendy NYC-style mixology bar on the 3rd floor. However, finding a taxi at night to leave the area is quite difficult as there's always a ton of people on the street all coming and going so competition for a taxi is tough.

Check In/Lobby: The check in process is unique. No real front desk but rather guests are sent to the couches in the lobby and are then approached by receptionists with iPads. The hotel itself is rather small but very well appointed and trendy/stylish (similar to a W Hotel). I don't know if they had a business center, but luckily I didn't require any printing/faxing during my stay and the free wifi access in the rooms was perfectly sufficient.

Room: I was in room 313 (a large corner room) and it was exceptionally spacious with a large table that seats 8 in the foyer, a long bedroom with a flat screen TV and all the outlet plugs you could ask for (even US style plugs). They also have a stocked mini fridge where everything inside (beer, juice, water, nuts) was complimentary. Beside the bed you have a remote to control all the lights in the room as well as the electronic shades that seal off the floor to ceiling windows. The posh bathroom is quite modern zen with an overhead rainfall shower and a separate wooden bathtub. In addition, the hotel provides a bathroom kit with all the toiletries you could need (including shaving kit, comb, toothbrush, toothpaste, cotton pad, sewing kit, etc).

Restaurants/Bars: The restaurants and bars are top notch as well though not very authentic Chinese culture. Bei (the Japanese one) was excellent food and service. Felt like I was in downtown Manhattan. We only ate at Bei but I heard Sureno (the Mediterranean one) was top notch. The bars were also quite popular in the evenings with mostly non-hotel guests (which is always a good sign). However, I forgot they allow smoking (unofficially) in the bars in China, so that was a turn off.

Pool: I didn't have time to check out the pool, but they have one downstairs.

In summary, if you're accustomed to Western style amenities and facilities, The Opposite House is an excellent choice. Whatever it lacks in authentic Chinese feel, it makes up for it with excellent levels of service.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to be significantly larger 1 bedrooms than the standard 1 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Songer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My boyfriend and I traveled to China in March, and stayed at the Opposite House for 4 nights upon a friend's recommendation. The hotel exceeding our expectations - the staff was so helpful, the rooms were lovely and clean, and the hotel is just an oasis from the crazy city. The neighborhood it is in is great because you can walk to a lot of nightlife and restaurants. It is right next to a nice shopping center.

The breakfast is delicious - - lots of American options. The main restaurant is also open and very busy for afternoon tea on the weekends - you see a lot of locals coming in and enjoying it as well.

I couldn't recommend the place more highly. I have stayed at beautiful hotels all over the world - for a city like Beijing this smaller, more intimate and peaceful experience is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The best poached fruit with mascarpone cream on toasted brioche EVER in the world!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank HelinskiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,256 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,599 in Beijing
840 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,599 in Beijing
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,599 in Beijing
421 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,963 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#9 of 6,599 in Beijing
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#157 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £168 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing