We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel and service”
Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #2 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and service”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Superb design, informal, excellent personal service and great eating places and bars. Just the sort of hotel room you want to come back to and spend time in - has everything you need.

Room Tip: Any of them all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    138
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
83
215
73
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I arrived at the Hotel "the opposite house" Beijing, for 3 nights starting May The 12. I made the reservation via INTERNET. I receive a very noisy room, air conditioning is terribel , the noise from the street is horribel ! The hotel is durty and not well maintained. I decide to leave one day earlier, and they refuse to pay me back the night !! I have paid, but I will never come back in this noisy Hotel !!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is definitely a cool place to stay and hang.

Had the pleasure of staying there earlier in the year and while comparisons to the sister property, The Upper House, in Hong Kong are not really justifed due to the significant difference in style and layout of the properties, you do get the feeling of association. Go Swire!

I stayed in January and it was cold in Beijing! Even the staff didnt want to be outside, which affected the quality of the bell service, but other than this I had not complaints about the property.

Funky room design with the timber bathroom layout, great FnB outlets. Particularly the bar at the front of the hotel where excellent beverages are available for consumption! I also noted a great breakfast in the all day dining outlet.

The location is in one of the more happenning areas of Beijing and if it was not so cold I would have had the chance to explore a little further. Next time!

I look forward to the return visit.

Room Tip: Most are a similar layout. I don't think it matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Im_a_travlin_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Not only is this hotel genuinely stunning to look at, but the service and facilities are up to the same high standard. It's a thoroughly modern design, and it's a pleasure to stay somewhere that is so visually interesting. The art throughout (and the building itself) is provocative and entertaining. This isn't one of those cold trendy designed hotels.
Check in was really seamless. From the way you are welcomed at the door to checking in to your room, it's done with a genuine welcome and warmth. The check in process is all done sitting in the lounge area on a remote tablet screen which makes it feel much more personal and less like a hotel.
The rooms are also highly designed although occasionally the modernness gets in the way of functionality. For example, the bathroom taps look amazingly cool but there's not actually much room to get your hands underneath the running water and no lock on the toilet door made for some embarrassing moments for guests.
Service was consistently exceptional and I appreciated being able to change money without the usual rip off hotel rates - they gave bank rate. Food is also a high standard if pricey. But that goes with the territory. Location in Sanlitun in the middle of The Village is also ideal, if a little bit unreal. It's a fabulous, luxurious place to stay if you like modern design.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

a fun hotel to stay for those of us completely bored with the Westin Financial Street. The art on display is a great feature of this hotel. F+B staff always a little disorganised, but that is a Beijing wide issue. Great GM in Anthony Ross.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chingsoiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Date of Stay: January 11-14,2012
Reservations: iPrefer Website
Room Type: Studio 45
Upgrade: 
Studio 70
Loyalty Card: iPrefer Member

Location: Very hip location for a very hip hotel. The hotel is on the North side of the Sunlitun Village Shopping & Life Style Centre. The back entrance of the hotel leads you to rows of shops with brands like Miu Miu, Emporio Armani, Balenciaga, Lanvin and Alexander McQueen to name a few, whilst the other side of the village has more popular brands like Nike, Uniqlo and Apple. There are restaurants in the area but I spent my dinners searching for the best Peking Duck in Beijing so the restaurants in Sunlitun weren’t much of a help.

Transfer: Like most transfers at Beijing International Airport, someone meets you at the gate and escorts you through immigration and baggage claim before taking you through this small passage to an elevator which leads to a VIP drop off area where the hotel car is waiting for you.

Check-in: The moment I stepped out of the car and was warmly greeted by Kelvin, the Guest Experience Manager, with “Kumain ka na?” (the Filipino translation of “Have you eaten?”) I knew the Opposite House wasn't like most hotels. Checking in was just like staying over at a friend’s place, you are invited to the lounge where Kelvin chats you up while his team runs everything through their iPads.



Room: The room was very spacious, apparently I was given the Studio 70 for my stay. I knew from the iPrefer website I was entitled to and upgrade but nobody mentioned anything to me, and since it was booked under a special advance purchase rate I didn't bother to ask. I never liked dark rooms so the floor to ceiling windows ensures there’s enough light coming into the room from the courtyard outside. There’s also a day bed by the window, which I never used since I was just alone. The mini bar was complimentary and is refilled daily too. They used motion sensors for the lights in the closet so you won’t get up from bed the moment you turn off the lights and realized you were able to close the closet doors properly. Instead of mints on the pillows, evening turndown service leaves you with little gifts every night and a small note. I received a stack of postcards, a facial mask and a lip balm. I couldn't recall much about notes but I remember one of them saying, “it was a cold day, make sure to use the lip balm” or something like that.

Bathroom: The layout is very open, sectioned from the room by glass and curtain, so if you are staying there with another person you don't really know as part of a group, it might get a bit awkward. The toiletries are also interesting since I believe it's a local luxury skincare line that used local ingredients like Chinese Mulberry, Lotus Seed and Tibetan Roseroot.

Check-out: Check-out was simple, since everything was prepaid I only had to settled my breakfast bills and was off to see Beijing one more time.

Overall: Beautiful rooms are a dime a dozen these days. Hotels have been putting more thought in planning and designing rooms today but what sets the Opposite House apart from other hotels is the impression it left me after my stay. From the Filipino greeting by the Experience Manager, to the nightly gifts with notes I receive on my pillow, the Opposite House made me feel very much at home, just like what I said above, it was like staying over at a friend’s house.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keslergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

That's my hotel! Great design, stunning service, nice people. I wish there would be more around like this

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjacobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,463 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,463 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,463 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,463 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Property: The Opposite House
Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#155 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing