We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Business Class hotel in Beijing - without a doubt”
Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #2 of 6,563 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Very pleasant. While I usually dislike hip hotels, but the Opposite House is an exception. Low-keyed, genuinely friendly, hip but not aggressively so, the downstairs area is spacious and open, totally uncrowded - the breakfast/lunch area is open, relaxed. Rooms are spacious, very well done, excellent beddings, good cosmetics. I will certainly return. (note - one of the other reviewers stated that rooms were noisy - mine is silent; that the hotel is dirty (I find it spotlessly clean) and the zircon works perfectly)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursa387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Opposite House is very hip.
The locals know it. The staff know. I know it.
Sometimes staff a little too much attitude - for a moment thought I was in LA or NYC
Funky bar scene downstairs and great dinner in the Japanese restaurant.
Loved the foyer art installation!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinoh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Superb design, informal, excellent personal service and great eating places and bars. Just the sort of hotel room you want to come back to and spend time in - has everything you need.

Room Tip: Any of them all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I arrived at the Hotel "the opposite house" Beijing, for 3 nights starting May The 12. I made the reservation via INTERNET. I receive a very noisy room, air conditioning is terribel , the noise from the street is horribel ! The hotel is durty and not well maintained. I decide to leave one day earlier, and they refuse to pay me back the night !! I have paid, but I will never come back in this noisy Hotel !!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is definitely a cool place to stay and hang.

Had the pleasure of staying there earlier in the year and while comparisons to the sister property, The Upper House, in Hong Kong are not really justifed due to the significant difference in style and layout of the properties, you do get the feeling of association. Go Swire!

I stayed in January and it was cold in Beijing! Even the staff didnt want to be outside, which affected the quality of the bell service, but other than this I had not complaints about the property.

Funky room design with the timber bathroom layout, great FnB outlets. Particularly the bar at the front of the hotel where excellent beverages are available for consumption! I also noted a great breakfast in the all day dining outlet.

The location is in one of the more happenning areas of Beijing and if it was not so cold I would have had the chance to explore a little further. Next time!

I look forward to the return visit.

Room Tip: Most are a similar layout. I don't think it matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Im_a_travlin_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Not only is this hotel genuinely stunning to look at, but the service and facilities are up to the same high standard. It's a thoroughly modern design, and it's a pleasure to stay somewhere that is so visually interesting. The art throughout (and the building itself) is provocative and entertaining. This isn't one of those cold trendy designed hotels.
Check in was really seamless. From the way you are welcomed at the door to checking in to your room, it's done with a genuine welcome and warmth. The check in process is all done sitting in the lounge area on a remote tablet screen which makes it feel much more personal and less like a hotel.
The rooms are also highly designed although occasionally the modernness gets in the way of functionality. For example, the bathroom taps look amazingly cool but there's not actually much room to get your hands underneath the running water and no lock on the toilet door made for some embarrassing moments for guests.
Service was consistently exceptional and I appreciated being able to change money without the usual rip off hotel rates - they gave bank rate. Food is also a high standard if pricey. But that goes with the territory. Location in Sanlitun in the middle of The Village is also ideal, if a little bit unreal. It's a fabulous, luxurious place to stay if you like modern design.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zebanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

a fun hotel to stay for those of us completely bored with the Westin Financial Street. The art on display is a great feature of this hotel. F+B staff always a little disorganised, but that is a Beijing wide issue. Great GM in Anthony Ross.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chingsoiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,563 in Beijing
1,134 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,563 in Beijing
808 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,563 in Beijing
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,563 in Beijing
1,865 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,563 in Beijing
1,557 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#8 of 6,563 in Beijing
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#144 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £180 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelbag, Odigeo, Splitty, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing