We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Zen Business hotel in Beijing”
Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #3 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Zen Business hotel in Beijing”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The opposite house is a boutique hotel and is the creation of renowned japonese Architect Kengo Kuma. the room are spacious and very Zen and well adapt to conduct business in the center of Beijing and well located in the well known Sanlitun Village. The room are very simple and the use of wood is everywhere including the bath and the vanity and the sinks (not really efficient for hotel use)
The suite on the 6 floors are very bright and efficient for working and doing business with a long working table and a long bar style of table.
Sureno the Mediterranean restaurant is excellent and even if you do not stay in the hotel it is worth to try it. Jing Yaa Tang provide as well the best duck in Town with an open wooden oven.
The service is great and very personalized.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 760pieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    141
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
88
219
74
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Apart from the exquisite detail of the design in this hotel, the staff were delightful, excellent linguistic ability and superb food and shopping available on site in addition to the inspiring works of art and tranquil recreational facilities. Superb job all at OHH. MC

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is a very nice place. I loved the decoration. Very beautiful works of art on display in the lobby. Our room was very nice, comfortable and well equipped. As well we had a superb breakfast. Regarding the staff, well they were very pleasant and efficient, providing a good quality service. Valet parking available and an Italian restaurant with very good food. Also we enjoyed the spa which is very relaxing. The hotel is located in a nice neighborhood. You can book it without restraint.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieTNorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Opposite House offers up a truly unique ambiance that combines contemporary sophistication with a casual elegance. The people are all friendly and trained to please; the rooms (at least ours) comfortable and richly designed. The location near the embassies and beside an upscale mall is dotted with nightspots that draw a great international crowd.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis02021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
391 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Amazing change in a very special time in an interesting city,THE OPPOSITE HOUSE,building 1 Taikoo li Sanlitun North is a gem in design and service.
If you are interested in learning more about the "NEW CHINA " you should stay in that place.
The Japanese Designer mad a consequent job, he is working with the finest wood .
The reception is a little bit strange, because the staff has to stand a long time.however all is done via internet and computers. The rooms are very comfortable. Perfect air condition. service excellent. The tech board for the lights dimming is to complicated. The shower perfect.
It is a real pleasure to stay at this house. If you are interested in changes and experiences, this is the place you have to be,

Room Tip: We like the 2 floor, because you see still the top of the trees and the bamboos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puffinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My friends and I have recently used this on two occasions when we were passing through beijing. The hotel is excellent, well located and very nicely decorated. The restaurants offer a wide range of local and international food and are very reasonable. Only downside is the rather coffin like wooden baths in the rooms, look great but not desperately comfortable, resorted to showering after first attempt at a soak.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 3-night stay just a couple of days ago... and we would never stay here again. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is clean and we love the interior design... it is a pity that it is run by incompetent staff.

Room for improvement:-

1) Staff Language Skills - I can speak a little bit of Mandarin, but definitely not enough to get by anywhere in China. Nevertheless, we had so much difficulty explaining ourselves to the frontline staff (i.e. receptionist and concierge). For example, we wanted to see the pandas in China (naturally!) but they didn't know what 'pandas' were. After a game of gesturing, impersonating a panda, speaking my broken Mandarin and googling for photos, they finally understood. Strange that in a city which receives hundreds of thousands of tourists annually, the frontline staff in a hotel as established as this can't speak English. Of course during the whole game of charade, the manager and the concierge leader was nowhere to be seen. We learnt after not to ask too many questions or make any requests, it was just too stressful.

2) Concierge Service - Absolutely horrible. We had to postpone our flight from a morning flight to a midnight flight because we were provided with the wrong information. I had done my research online prior to our arrival in Beijing and had read that the Forbidden City is closed on Mondays. Upon arrival, we checked that piece of information with the concierge and was told that it's not true - it is open all day every day. So, we comfortably scheduled our visit to the Forbidden City on our last day in Beijing, which was a Monday instead of Sunday to avoid the crowd. To our horror, when we arrived at the Forbidden City on Monday, it was CLOSED! Who would go to Beijing and not see the Forbidden City?! We called up the hotel immediately and was informed by another staff that indeed the Forbidden City was closed for half-day on Mondays. BOTH the manager and the concierge leader was waiting for us when we returned to the hotel and they apologized profusely, but the damage had been done. This was our third and last day staying at the hotel and it was our FIRST TIME meeting them, or anyone in fact, who spoke fluent English.

3) Rooms - Badly designed basin. It was impossible to turn on the tap, not even when it's just a trickle, without concurrently splashing water all over yourself and all around the basin. We constantly had to clean up the surrounding area, which we happen to place all our toiletries and my make-up, as well as ourselves after turning on the tap.

4) Billing - No system, very disorganized. After we had checked-out, paid up and got into a taxi to head to the airport, the concierge ran after our taxi because they had forgotten to bill us for our private car service on Day 2. Upon our return home, there was an e-mail from the hotel sitting in my inbox informing us that they had ALSO forgotten to bill us for our private car service on Day 4.
By now, I am completely convinced that the hotel has no system whatsoever and is run by a group of truly incompetent staff. The people in charge only show up when there is a problem, otherwise, all guests are to fend for themselves.

I would say that the only thing we liked about this hotel was that bottled water was free and there was no limit as to the number of bottles they can provide us each day - most hotels have this rule. Nevertheless, provision of free bottled water is not enough for us to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SMYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,473 in Beijing
736 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,473 in Beijing
323 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,473 in Beijing
806 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,473 in Beijing
373 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Property: The Opposite House
Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#150 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelbag, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing