We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel, location and .. it's just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #4 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Glostrup, Denmark
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel, location and .. it's just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stay here most of the times I come to Beijing. It's conveniently located in SanLiTun village, a very nice shopping area with both high end shopping, fine dining, easy access to local markets and a taste of the "old" china.
The rooms are very inviting and its a pleasure to stay there, the staff is always paying attention to the customers need, all in all the hotel offers the best of the best.

Room Tip: Rooms in the opposite corner of the reception can be a little bit noisy during weekends, try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knudsen_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    137
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
80
210
74
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I visited Beijing on Business and to socialize with friends I developed over the years in China and New York. I chose this property because of a friends recommendation, and was happy I did so.
In reviewing any hotel, I need certain creature comforts which we all crave, but this place was unique.

1. Small Hotel made me feel comfortable and more at home. Reminded me of the small highly personal hotels in Paris I frequent. And this in the biggest city in China.
2. Staff and service. The people here are very well trained and professional. Friendly service people are always appreciated, but its the professionalism which makes a difference. Problems and requests get attention and results. i.e: how do i recharge my Shanghai Unicom in Beijing on my iPhone? can you translate this for me? Where can I find.....etc... All done! Btw.. 3 of the girls at the desk went to English speaking Universities to study Hospitality ( Usa, Australia,etc.).
3. Location, location...Sanlitun is akin to a city within a city. It is surrounded by so many quality restaurants, book stores, cafes, shops... many of which can be accessed underground and inside. Beijing can get cold, taxis can be erratically impossible, and a place-based strategy made a big difference to me in avoiding unnecessarily unpleasant journeys to other areas. Beijing is quite spread out and choked with traffic. I became quite pleased having my friends visit me for dinners and drinks at my place/area.( They considered it a treat.)
4. On my last day, I was checking out to take a car to the Airport. After saying goodbye , the
omnipresent Hotel Manager (Carl) was outside personally checking that all my luggage was properly in the trunk of the car. Bon Voyage!

If you are still reading, the 2 hotel restaurants downstairs are quite superb. Sureno and Jing Yaa Tang. And within a 5 minute walk an endless supply of more..i.e.: try the Japanese restaurant Koyama for amazing sushi ( yes, as good as NY, I promise),. Isola for italian, Transit for smoking hot sichuan, Aqua for Spanish tapas with sparkling champagne.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The rooms are spacious, minimalist, Japanese-inspired havens of peace and comfort.
The staff are extremely attentive and it really is the little things that count. Free mini bar with a very good selection of drinks (yes, and beer), treats and snacks, and your own french press to make delicious coffee. The funky bath bag is available to take home too!
They also leave you a little hand-written note with a gift (like a face mask or lip balm) by your bed each night. Makes you feel special and is something personal and comforting to come back to after a long day either at the office or site-seeing in busy Beijing!
I am a regular business traveller to Beijing and always stay at The Opposite House. Its part of the reason why I love Beijing. Since Im a regular, they welcome me back with a card and a cupcake in my room. They know what I like!
The bar (Mesh) and Sureno restaurant are both excellent (best pizza's in Asia!) and the breakfast is always fantastic (best scrambled eggs)
Hope you enjoy your stay as much as I do...Highly recommended

Room Tip: the suites on the 6th floor are huge and you feel like a king in them! the bed is massive too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Opposite House has recently opened a Chinese restaurant in the basement beside the excellent Sureno. Jing Yaa Tang is housed in a well proportioned, high-ceilinged room on three levels which means large tables can be accomodated without shattering the calm of other diners. All the courses we consumed were delicious but the standout dish is the Beijing duck served from the wood-fired ovens located behind thick glass at one end of the room. We had it both ways: light, crispy skin and succulent meat sliced very thinly and served with pancakes and condiments, plus minced duck mixed with desiccated bamboo shoots and eaten wrapped in little lettuce parcels. Delicious! The food is foreigner-friendly but doesn't pull its punches on spice and flavour. The wine list is generous and there is good quality beverages to be had by the glass, too. Go - you won't be disappointed. Just remember this is a quality boutique hotel and Jing Yaa Tang is priced accordingly. Our dinner for three cost RMB1300.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Beijing is an enormous and sprawling city that can be really draining on the business traveller. What better than having a designer refuge after long day in the traffic and smog? It is a cool building on the edge of the Sanlitun shopping and restaurant complex (highly recommended). As you walk through an ancient wooden door the hotel atrium opens up before you featuring an art installation that has been different every time that I stay there. It is a rare small hotel in Beijing and probably has about 100 rooms only. The staff are courteous and efficient. The open plan rooms (the bedroom morphs into the bathroom area) are in calming wood and cream colour-ways and the bed very comfortable. I have only eaten breakfast in the restaurant which was excellent. There is a bar called Mesh that attracts the local cool dudes, and on the doorstep is the nightlife of the Sanlitun district. Be careful of pickpockets etc as you would in any major city. Highly recommended for a short stay.

Room Tip: Probably best to get a room on a higher floor as the atrium is fairly echo-y and away from the lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedfordians23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I love this hotel. I highly recommend it and would stay here again in a minute. While i gave it an excellent rating, please note the caveats at the end of the review. They were minor items for me but may be important to you.

Here is what is great:
- fantastic room with marvelous bed
- nightly surprise gifts/tokens left in the room
- nice toiletries
- friendly, attractive, helpful staff
- fee in-room mini bar -- we became addicted to the jelly beans!
- beautiful lobby and art
- nice breakfast
- pleasant on site restaurants
- really really LATE checkout given because of late flight (totally unexpected - many hotels would have charged us.)

Caveats:
- lobby sofas/lighting - not ideal for sitting/reading/working. - i had jet lag and went downstairs to do some work so i wouldn't wake my husband. Lobby does not function well for work.

- staff's English is inconsistent - while everyone is helpful not everyone speaks English well. For example, we asked about going to the Forbidden City. We were told it would better to go the next day because we could start earlier. What we weren't told was that the Forbidden City was closed Monday afternoons.(In 2014 it is closed ALL DAY Monday) and that is why the next day would be better.

- if you are a tourist, the hotel is a bit remote from the main attractions and a 15 minute walk to the subway

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago Carolin... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel is extremely well located in the North-East part of Beijing, within the 3rd ring, in Sanlitun. Shopping, restaurants and bars are at walking distance so this is perfect for leisure time. For business meetings, they will be usually in CBD (further South) or, if dealing with pure Chinese, state-owned companies, in the center of the city or in Financial District (West). This means taking a taxi but it is worth it as these parts of town are nowhere nearly as fun to live in.
The Opposite House has a very modern and zen vibe thanks to its design by a famous Japanese chap and the various artworks displayed in the lobby. This hotel manages to have casual, friendly staff but they are very efficient and professional at the same time, which is exceptional in Beijing!
The rooms are very, very spacious, modern and confortable. Somehow minimalistic but I really appreciated the clutter less calm they provide!
The restaurants reflect the hotel: nothing overly complicated but well executed with very good ingredients. I have even enjoyed the weird green detox juice a member of staff recommended to me during breakfast!
This hotel is a no brainer for trendy 5 star hotel in Beijing!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMAHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,449 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,449 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,449 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,449 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Property: The Opposite House
Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#158 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing