We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The AMAZING staff makes this one of the best hotels in the world”
Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #2 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The phenomenal staff at this hotel really sets it apart from other top-tier hotels around the world. When I checked out of the hotel, I had a new set of friends in Beijing--the staff at The Opposite House.

Manager Kenny Pan and his team (shout out to Danny!) went far above and beyond their duties to make my stay exceptional. I met Kenny when I first checked in, and I instantly felt like I had a new friend. Kenny spent a significant amount of time with me making sure that my day trip to the Great Wall would go smoothly. Kenny had multiple conversations with my driver to make sure that everything was all squared away before going. On another day, Danny walked through the neighborhood with me to run some errands to make sure that I wouldn't have any problems.

These guys are the absolute best! I have stayed at many top-tier hotels in Asia, and this staff is the warmest, friendliest, and most caring by a long shot. They really treat you as if you were an old friend visiting, and they go out of their way to make sure you can experience whatever aspect of Beijing that you are looking to experience.

Of course, the rooms and the hotel space are incredible and unique. The architect and designers really did a phenomenal job, and the amenities are wonderful.

Do whatever you can to stay at The Opposite House when you visit Beijing. It's much more than just an accommodation, it's a home away from home complete with a network of helpful friends who will look out for you.

I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppermintfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Executive Assistant Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Peppermintfur

Many thanks for the positive review on behalf of The Opposite House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Opposite House experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service at the hotel in particular the Guest Experience team. Both Kenny and Danny are stars within the hotel. Please rest assured that we will share your positive feedback to both of them and the team.

We look forward to welcome you back for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly for any rooms or restaurant inquiries (philippblaser@swirehotels.com).

Kind regards,

Philipp Blaser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

I recently spent three days in Beijing with my son, and he had booked us into The Opposite House - what a brilliant choice! This property is a Swire Hotel, and literally like nothing I have ever seen before - the rooms were more than comfortable, the staff exemplary, the restaurants great and the location wonderful. It is hard to explain this hotel, except to say that when you walk in the doors - held open, I have to say, by smiling staff members, you feel that you are in an upscale art museum rather than a hotel - check in is by friendly and eager staff with iPads - no stuffy desks here, and then you are shown to your room - which is all wood and glass, with a massive glass enclosed shower, and a sunken wooden tub! The lights in the room are all controlled by a touch pad, also the blinds go up and down at the touch of a button.I only ate at the Village Café, for breakfasts and lunch - again, wonderfully friendly and efficient staff - food was good, too! If I ever return to Beijing, this is definitely the hotel for me.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newfoundlander_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Executive Assistant Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Newfoundlander_7

Many thanks for the positive review on behalf of The Opposite House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the service, rooms and restaurants. Please rest assured that we will share your positive feedback to the team. I highly recommend that you try our other restaurants Sureño and Jing Yaa Tang on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our House in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any rooms or restaurant inquiries (philippblaser@swirehotels.com).

Kind regards,

Philipp Blaser
Executive Assistant Manager - The Opposite House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

At first, Beijing appears as a grey and polluted city which is true actually but differently than Shanghai where it's easy to fall in love for, it takes a bit more time for Beijing. When you start to look around, when you start to measure the pulse of this city, you will realize it's a very interesting place and a very fancy city.
The very best place where to feel the heartbeat of Beijing is wonderfully located right next to Sanlitun Village, a paradise for shoppers but an ideal base where to find attractive bars, charming restaurants and beautiful people. The name of this hidden is The Opposite House, a cubical green glasses building with a huge wooden chinese front door appearing as a vegetal and smooth sanctuary inviting to a calm, serene but trendy and so fashionable experience in the same time.
The Opposite House is with no doubt the very best place to stay with a huge lobby where you will find often art exhibition. The sense of space is really impressive and you will find this same spectacular design in the rooms and suites, all very spacious from 45 sq. meters for the smallest to more than 200 sq. meters for the Penthouse.
The japanese architect Kengo Kuma has created a magical urban retreat inviting the 5 senses to be in perfect harmony. The materials used have been meticulously selected to create a contemporary home away from home but incredibly warm with a beautiful wooden floor, a very sexy and so comfortable japanese style wood bathtub and a exquisite light making of each room and suite, a place where you will feel so relaxed. I've rarely seen a place like this where I consider to be in such a cocoon of natural elegance, luxury and well being. I'm lucky enough to travel a lot and I've experienced so many excellent hotels but this is at The Opposite House where I feel the best and it's always hard to leave such a unique hotel.
More than a decor which is so exquisite, there is a very warm atmosphere at TOH because every single person working here is simply so kind, nice and passionated. The whole team has the only objective to make the guests feeling so good and it's working. This is with no comparison the best hotel team I've seen in China and one of the best around the globe. I've the impression everybody at TOH has a talent and it gives me a beautiful emotion.
For the best dinner in town, don't leave the hotel and run to Sureno, the mediterranean restaurant also beautifully designed where a "family style" Italian and Southern European delicious cuisine based on the freshest ingredients is served in the best atmosphere ever. Themis Kouris, Matthew Bell and the whole team will ensure you have a precious moment and my two dinners were so perfect I just wanted to extend the dinners very late. The other option is the chinese restaurant which looks excellent as well but didn't have time to try and for a last drink, the bar Mesh is the most trendy place where music is cool and staff as professional, friendly and nice as everywhere in the hotel.
A very big thank you to Philipp Blaser, the excellent Executive Assistant Manager to know how to give this very positive energy to all the staff which looks happy and proud to work in this property and which will pamper you from the arrival until the departure.
Don't hesitate if you have to stay in Beijing, choose TOH and if it's just for a dinner, select Sureno where there is a unique vibe.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Executive Assistant Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear RCBLHKG

Many thanks for the positive review on behalf of The Opposite House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the service, rooms and restaurants. Please rest assured that we will share your positive feedback to the team. Additionally it was a delight that you got to attend the vernissage for our new art installation "Mountain Vastness" by Charles Chau.

We look forward to welcome you back for your next weekend get away. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly for any rooms or restaurant inquiries.

Warm regards,

Philipp Blaser
Executive Assistant Manager - The Opposite House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Opposite House Beijing - Sanlitun district of Beijing, China.

What’s in a name?

Think of something, like say an international five star hotel, and then your mind may well conjure up images of formal lobby’s, brocade curtains perhaps even, heaven forbid, guilt ormolu. Along with stuffy service staff with starched uniforms….now stick with that thought and then consider the complete opposite.

Do this, but in a good way, and you end up with what a hotel should be, somewhere actually interesting and desirable to go to rather than faux formality and possibly an awkward experience. The Opposite House Beijing does more than reversing one’s thinking of what a hotel should be, and creates, and very well at that, a hotel that is enjoyable to be in and offers more that just a place to stay but a place to really “chill out”, dine at and enjoy overall.

The Layout

I recently had the pleasure of dining at the Restaurant known at Sureno; while this dining establishment is located on the lower level, half the fun is in getting there, as the lift takes one to a lower lobby known as the “Egg” it’s an interesting, and cozy entrance to the features of the lower level and leads to the front of the restaurant. This has the added bonus of opening onto an outdoor courtyard, and as the dining area features floor to ceiling glass it offers a nice semi-garden view as well. Note the establishment has the benefit of a high yet angled ceiling, this follows the layout pattern of separate squares that also features in the buildings overall architecture, having been designed by the renowned Japanese architect Kengo Kum.

Sureno features warm wood and leather providing an inviting atmosphere of casual sophistication, and very caring and attentive service from the wait staff. I visited over a recent long weekend, as it was a Monday the Hotel had their weekday lunch special on offer. At RMB 138++ for four courses and 158+ for four courses and a glass of house wine, which in the case was a French red or white from Cotes Du Rhone. The Dining tables are well presented and appointed with large bottles of Olive Oil and Balsamic along with proper, in this case Alesi pepper and salt mills.

The Food

Specialising in Mediterranean cuisine, the lunch special offers a Tapa’s style semi buffet as your choice of first course, offering a very good array of tapa’s style food, bread, olives, salmon and salads. To follow was a served Mushroom soup, and clearly a very well prepared one at that, the taste and texture was superb, and it was quite evident that a range of mushrooms was used to provide full flavor. For the main I ordered the grilled Sea Bass, also fresh and fulsome in flavor, accompanied with grilled al dente vegetables and a light drizzling of pesto oil. While the vegetables were a tad salty overall the dish was excellent. For Desert, I opted for “homemade” red berry ice cream over the other choice of a Profiterole. The ice cream was pleasant enough and a nice palate cleanser for the end of the meal.

The Verdict

This was an excellent meal at very good value; the service and quality of food for the price was outstanding. Other nice touches such as linen napkins and frequently re-filled water glasses sets the establishment apart from others in the area.

Bouquets - Quality and value for really good food
Brick bats - Not the easiest place to find for the initiated
Why you will come back - Come back in the evening to enjoy an alternative ambiance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyHKHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear AnthonyHKHongKong

Many thanks for your kind words. The Sureño team and I are very excited to receive such nice praises from you. The Sureño team in particular have been working very hard on the new Spring/Summer menu and would like to welcome you back to try it in the near future.

If you are travelling back to Beijing please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly for rooms or restaurant bookings.

Kind regards,

Philipp Blaser
Executive Assistant Manager - The Opposite House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have been fortunate to stay at the Opposite House several times over the past three years and every stay has been fantastic. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, while the hotel is stylish, comfortable and uber-cool without feeling cold or like it's trying to hard. Some of the nice touches include the complimentary mini-bar, in-room amenities and free wi-fi. Breakfast at the Village Cafe was great (I appreciated the green juice at the cold bar) and dinner at their Chinese restaurant was delicious. Definitely the place to stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaH152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is unlike any other I have visited. It is very hip and cool. The service is over the top great. The design and feel are amazingly open and cool. Now I love carpets, but the fine wood in the rooms is a treat. No charge for the room bar was a very nice touch. The wi fi worked great. Wonderful bed and bathtub. Great room amenities. The Mesh bar is outstanding; they know how to make generous drinks. The lower Chinese restaurant is beautiful and the food fine with outstanding service. The breakfasts were good but again wonderful and friendly service. Check in is made an ease with lovely competence. The doormen who seem to be able to do anything do it with a grand smile on their faces. The area is alive with flair. I would go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brightlygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A friend of mine recommended that I stay here if I visit Beijing. The Hotel lived up to expectations...the room was spacious and the wooden bathtub was a nice feature. The staff were extremely helpful and the surrounding area was buzzing with life. The Chinese restaurant on the lower ground was superb!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Laurence J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,186 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,568 in Beijing
822 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,568 in Beijing
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,910 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,568 in Beijing
413 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#8 of 6,568 in Beijing
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#148 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £175 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing