We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Opposite House
Nearby Hotels
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$410
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,118)
Filter reviews
1,118 results
Traveller rating
918
159
31
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
918
159
31
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjing yaa tangvillage cafewooden bathtubface maskcomplimentary minibarkengo kumahand creamminimalist designstudio roomguest experiencean art gallerysanlitun areasister hotelrestaurants and barsboutique hotelyour doorstepturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
577 - 582 of 1,118 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It was very hot in Beijing when I visited. This was my third hotel and the only one with decent air conditioning (fantastic air conditioning). Free, well-stocked minibar, free wifi. All of the amenities. The staff was extremely professional and almost everyone spoke fluent English. Great location near Embassy Row and the best shopping in town. Truly unique. Book ahead as this is a small boutique hotel with only 150 rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knightofterror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Executive Assistant Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Knightofterror

Many thanks for the positive review on behalf of The Opposite House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Opposite House experience. Please rest assured that we will share your positive feedback to the team.

We look forward to welcome you back for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly for any rooms or restaurant inquiries (philippblaser@swirehotels.com).

Kind regards,

Philipp Blaser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have not stayed in the hotel, I only come by for coffee or lunch and I've given it three goes. It sucks.

This -- what do they call it? a coffee shop? a restaurant? -- has the furnishings, ambiance and quality of food one generally associates with a sixth form common room.

It's a soulless place with inefficient robots for waiting staff and a nasty 1980s feel to everything that ends up on one's table from the crockery and disgusting coffee through to the compulsory chocolate stodgy desserts.

You'll have a better lunch, in a better setting, at a fraction of the price, in any airport food court of your choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Executive Assistant Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear J S

Many thanks for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you had multiple negative experiences at the Village Café. In addition, we are disappointed that on your last visit you did not enjoy the décor, service nor food and beverage offerings. Please rest assured that we will share your comments to the team.

In order for us to further improve we would like to invite you back to the Opposite House for a discussion on how we can develop a better offering at the Village Café. Please feel free to contact me directly via email (philippblaser@swirehotels.com) to schedule an appointment.

Kind regards,

Philipp Blaser
Executive Assistant Manager - The Opposite House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

It is really rare to find a hotel which combines all the hardware and software components to result in an amazing stay experience, but the Opposite House does all that and more. There are many places which look stylish but a lot of the small things are not so functional.

Previous reviewers have written about the decor of the hotel, which I fully agree. It starts from check-in. No long counters with staff disappearing behind, you take a seat at the open lobby and the staff come with an iPad to check you in.Even the corridors on the way to the room around the atrium have the doors merging into the wall, with the room door only indicated by a thin vertical light strip.

The great part is that even though the room looks like it was taken out of the pages of a home & decor magazine, it works well. Many minutes were spent ooh-ing and ah-ing at the wooden sink and bathtub, and even trying to figure how it is waterproofed and doesn't stain.

There is an iPad in the room with the hotel app built into it, replacing the usual book/paper directory that every other hotel room has. The great thing is that it is interactive. You can even book transportation from it, or restaurant reservations (although the restaurant reservation that we wanted was not available, after one of the staff called the restaurant). It is a really efficient method as all the details are already keyed in on the iPad, unlike a telephone call where one has to communicate details to the operator, who will pass on the message and hopefully without errors.

The power charging board was built into the bedhead and could be flipped out (see picture). Almost every single connection was there, with built-in electric adaptors, Ethernet, VGA and HDMI ports. Only lacking in a USB connector, which many devices nowadays use for charging.

The indoor steel-walled pool and gym looked great, although didn't get a chance to use them.

The surrounding Sanlitun area has north and south complexes, which had many international brand names, as well as the famous bar street to the west.

Definitely deserves its high ranking on TA, for both style and service!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Executive Assistant Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear kspace

Many thanks for the positive review on behalf of The Opposite House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Opposite House experience. We are particularly glad to hear that you enjoyed the deep soaking wood bathtubs, our in-room iPad application and the Pool&Gym. Please rest assured that we will share your positive feedback to the team.

We look forward to welcome you back for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly for any rooms or restaurant inquiries (philippblaser@swirehotels.com).

Kind regards,

Philipp Blaser
Executive Assistant Manager - The Opposite House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A truly gem of a boutique hotel where Location, rooms, design, F&B outlets and staff all get 5 stars.
The design by Kengo Kuma still stands out as one of the top hotels I have been to.
I love the use of wood an elemental substances
The opposite house is always a harmonic oasis for me in an otherwise hectic city.
Sureno in the basement is after 6 years still my favorite mediterranean in town and mesh is a great place to start the evening. Don't miss the old classic "Kiwi Thyme".

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvanteJerling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Executive Assistant Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear SvanteJerling

Many thanks for the positive review on behalf of The Opposite House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Opposite House experience. Please rest assured that we will share your positive feedback to the teams. With the Beijing summer kicking-off please do not miss the opportunity to try our new spring/summer menu in the garden.

We look forward to welcome you back for your next stay-cation . Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly for any rooms or restaurant inquiries (philippblaser@swirehotels.com).

Kind regards,

Philipp Blaser
Executive Assistant Manager - The Opposite House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I couldn't imagine a hotel even being this cool until I walked in the door. Everything about it just screams coolness from the decor to the way the staff dress. Our room was big, bright and really comfortable. The free mini bar is a nice touch. All said, this was a great place to stay especially after a day running around hectic confusing Beijing.
It's in a very good location too. Only a 10 minute walk to the Metro stop. There are always taxis waiting out front and the staff can tell them where you want to go.
I wish all hotels were this awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeandJeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Executive Assistant Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear JoeandJeri

Many thanks for the positive review on behalf of The Opposite House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Opposite House experience. We are very happy to hear that you loved the hotel and enjoyed it after a hectic day of sightseeing the Capital. Please rest assured that we will share your positive feedback to the team.

We look forward to welcome you back for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly for any rooms or restaurant inquiries (philippblaser@swirehotels.com).

Kind regards,

Philipp Blaser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews