We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The bar, the room and the location”
Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #2 of 6,461 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The bar, the room and the location”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nicely situated in the Sanlitun area, which accommodates range of nice shops and restaurants.

The hotel is very well-designed, especially the rooms!

One suggestion: Go and have a few drinks at their lobby bar, they taste truly amazing.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LinusWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Executive Assistant Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear LinusWang

Many thanks for the positive review on behalf of The Opposite House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Opposite House experience. We are particularly happy to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and the cocktails in Mesh. Joy and the Mesh team are constantly coming up with new interesting concoctions. Please rest assured that we will share your positive feedback to the team.

We look forward to welcome you back for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly for any rooms or restaurant inquiries (philippblaser@swirehotels.com).

Kind regards,

Philipp Blaser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    138
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
83
215
73
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
JOHANNESBURG
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Situated in a trendy restaurant bar are. This Hotel is Speer cool. Very large rooms amazing linen and world class service. The staff are so with the programme ver hip and happening spot. I just loved the iPad check in and the iPad in the bedroom loaded with so much information.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SUESUEJOHANNESBURG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Executive Assistant Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Suesuejohannesburg

Many thanks for the positive review on behalf of The Opposite House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Opposite House experience. We are particularly glad to hear that you enjoyed the Team Members, rooms, restaurants and service. Please rest assured that we will share your positive feedback to the team.

We look forward to welcome you back for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly for any rooms or restaurant inquiries (philippblaser@swirehotels.com).

Kind regards,

Philipp Blaser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It was very hot in Beijing when I visited. This was my third hotel and the only one with decent air conditioning (fantastic air conditioning). Free, well-stocked minibar, free wifi. All of the amenities. The staff was extremely professional and almost everyone spoke fluent English. Great location near Embassy Row and the best shopping in town. Truly unique. Book ahead as this is a small boutique hotel with only 150 rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knightofterror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Executive Assistant Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Knightofterror

Many thanks for the positive review on behalf of The Opposite House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Opposite House experience. Please rest assured that we will share your positive feedback to the team.

We look forward to welcome you back for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly for any rooms or restaurant inquiries (philippblaser@swirehotels.com).

Kind regards,

Philipp Blaser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have not stayed in the hotel, I only come by for coffee or lunch and I've given it three goes. It sucks.

This -- what do they call it? a coffee shop? a restaurant? -- has the furnishings, ambiance and quality of food one generally associates with a sixth form common room.

It's a soulless place with inefficient robots for waiting staff and a nasty 1980s feel to everything that ends up on one's table from the crockery and disgusting coffee through to the compulsory chocolate stodgy desserts.

You'll have a better lunch, in a better setting, at a fraction of the price, in any airport food court of your choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Executive Assistant Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear J S

Many thanks for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you had multiple negative experiences at the Village Café. In addition, we are disappointed that on your last visit you did not enjoy the décor, service nor food and beverage offerings. Please rest assured that we will share your comments to the team.

In order for us to further improve we would like to invite you back to the Opposite House for a discussion on how we can develop a better offering at the Village Café. Please feel free to contact me directly via email (philippblaser@swirehotels.com) to schedule an appointment.

Kind regards,

Philipp Blaser
Executive Assistant Manager - The Opposite House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
153 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

It is really rare to find a hotel which combines all the hardware and software components to result in an amazing stay experience, but the Opposite House does all that and more. There are many places which look stylish but a lot of the small things are not so functional.

Previous reviewers have written about the decor of the hotel, which I fully agree. It starts from check-in. No long counters with staff disappearing behind, you take a seat at the open lobby and the staff come with an iPad to check you in.Even the corridors on the way to the room around the atrium have the doors merging into the wall, with the room door only indicated by a thin vertical light strip.

The great part is that even though the room looks like it was taken out of the pages of a home & decor magazine, it works well. Many minutes were spent ooh-ing and ah-ing at the wooden sink and bathtub, and even trying to figure how it is waterproofed and doesn't stain.

There is an iPad in the room with the hotel app built into it, replacing the usual book/paper directory that every other hotel room has. The great thing is that it is interactive. You can even book transportation from it, or restaurant reservations (although the restaurant reservation that we wanted was not available, after one of the staff called the restaurant). It is a really efficient method as all the details are already keyed in on the iPad, unlike a telephone call where one has to communicate details to the operator, who will pass on the message and hopefully without errors.

The power charging board was built into the bedhead and could be flipped out (see picture). Almost every single connection was there, with built-in electric adaptors, Ethernet, VGA and HDMI ports. Only lacking in a USB connector, which many devices nowadays use for charging.

The indoor steel-walled pool and gym looked great, although didn't get a chance to use them.

The surrounding Sanlitun area has north and south complexes, which had many international brand names, as well as the famous bar street to the west.

Definitely deserves its high ranking on TA, for both style and service!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Executive Assistant Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear kspace

Many thanks for the positive review on behalf of The Opposite House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Opposite House experience. We are particularly glad to hear that you enjoyed the deep soaking wood bathtubs, our in-room iPad application and the Pool&Gym. Please rest assured that we will share your positive feedback to the team.

We look forward to welcome you back for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly for any rooms or restaurant inquiries (philippblaser@swirehotels.com).

Kind regards,

Philipp Blaser
Executive Assistant Manager - The Opposite House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A truly gem of a boutique hotel where Location, rooms, design, F&B outlets and staff all get 5 stars.
The design by Kengo Kuma still stands out as one of the top hotels I have been to.
I love the use of wood an elemental substances
The opposite house is always a harmonic oasis for me in an otherwise hectic city.
Sureno in the basement is after 6 years still my favorite mediterranean in town and mesh is a great place to start the evening. Don't miss the old classic "Kiwi Thyme".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvanteJerling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Executive Assistant Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear SvanteJerling

Many thanks for the positive review on behalf of The Opposite House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Opposite House experience. Please rest assured that we will share your positive feedback to the teams. With the Beijing summer kicking-off please do not miss the opportunity to try our new spring/summer menu in the garden.

We look forward to welcome you back for your next stay-cation . Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly for any rooms or restaurant inquiries (philippblaser@swirehotels.com).

Kind regards,

Philipp Blaser
Executive Assistant Manager - The Opposite House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I couldn't imagine a hotel even being this cool until I walked in the door. Everything about it just screams coolness from the decor to the way the staff dress. Our room was big, bright and really comfortable. The free mini bar is a nice touch. All said, this was a great place to stay especially after a day running around hectic confusing Beijing.
It's in a very good location too. Only a 10 minute walk to the Metro stop. There are always taxis waiting out front and the staff can tell them where you want to go.
I wish all hotels were this awesome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeandJeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipp B, Executive Assistant Manager at The Opposite House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear JoeandJeri

Many thanks for the positive review on behalf of The Opposite House. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your Opposite House experience. We are very happy to hear that you loved the hotel and enjoyed it after a hectic day of sightseeing the Capital. Please rest assured that we will share your positive feedback to the team.

We look forward to welcome you back for your next visit. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly for any rooms or restaurant inquiries (philippblaser@swirehotels.com).

Kind regards,

Philipp Blaser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,461 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,461 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,461 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,461 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Property: The Opposite House
Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#154 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing