We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hutongren Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch
Ranked #16 of 948 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My daughter and I on our first visit to Beijing in August 2011 found this wonderful little jewel of a hotel in tourist guide to China. We were booked for one night only, but stayed 5 nights. The authentic atmosphere, the helpful and friendly staff was quite overwhelming. We felt at home here. The area is very close to several attractions, Forbidden City, Lama Temple, The Palace, and there are many good restaurants, boutiques and markets very close by. And the staff were very helpful in arranging our trip to "the Wall". We also found the Tea Ceremony performed by Demi very interesting. We will be travelling to China again this September and are looking forward to seeing and of course staying in the Hutongren Culture Hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

The two ladies who run this hotel are very charming; breakfast was prepared specially for us the peking way . I'll return definitly this year!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heleneschneibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We found Hutongren refreshingly different, alternative, and interesting place to stay. Close to many interesting places and a really nice cultural experience. The staff were great, very friendly. Don't stay here if you want an ordinary bland place to stay, but do stay here if you want a much better and interesting experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

first time in Beijing, only there for the weekend. I'm so glad I chose Hutongren over the larger chain hotels. In a great location, The staff was so helpful and accommodating, they made my experience so much better, really helped me make the best of the short time I had here.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank lt5426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Very friendly staff, but our room was ridiculously small, the breakfast slow, and we had problems with hot water. When we booked, we didn't even ask to see the room because we thought it would be according to the price, and we regretted it. In sum, this hotel is nice, but clearly overpriced.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marie_Line_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Hutonren Cultural hotel is conveniently located on Nan lou gu xiang alley. A few minutes walk from the main street and 15 minutes walk to the nearest subway station. I was referred to this hotel by my good friend who lived in Beijing for 10 years and I was very happy with the hotel overall.
The staff at Hutonren is what making the place lively. They are fluent in English and ready to answer questions and give recommendations. This is the perfect place for budget travelers or anybody who wants to learn and feel the culture of Beijing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlickNick808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We were only in Beijing for a few days, but had such a brilliant time thanks to the team at Hutongren! We felt like we got a real experience of Beijing that would never get by staying in a big faceless hotel... the girls were all so lovely and friendly and helped us make the best of the short time we had through their recommendations and support, and we got to hang out with Blackie (the coolest dog in China)! The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring all the little boutique shops and markets of the hutongs, with lots of great restaurants and bars nearby, however it is also lovely and quiet and the hotel feels like a sanctuary from all the hustle and bustle.
Hutongren is a very special little hotel that is full of character, charm and attitude - its an experience that we will never forget.
Our only regret is that we couldn't stay for longer, we'll be back to stay at Hutongren for sure!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lecenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#114 of 6,527 in Beijing
187 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,527 in Beijing
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#135 of 6,527 in Beijing
175 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#84 of 6,527 in Beijing
259 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#139 of 6,527 in Beijing
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch

Address: No.71 Xiaoju'er Hutong, Nanluoguxiang, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 948 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Price Range: £12 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a very small, easily-overlooked side alley north of storied Xiao Ju’er Hutong, this charming little tea-theme hotel offers a quiet, well-lit retreat from the bustle of the middle of everything. A handful of rooms-double from RMB 600 and single from RMB 480 – surround a stone-floored atrium filled with plants, natural light, books in various languages, wi-fi and a small bar. All rooms are equipped with super comfortable King Koil Mattresses, traditional furniture, air conditioners and under-ground heating. You will be warmly welcomed by the lovely staff and little Blackie. The unique Chinese Tea experience (free Tea classes are given everyday by reservation in advance), relative peace and quiet you’ll find here after a long day is worth it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing