We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Haoyu Hotel(Beijing)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
134
65
14
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
65
14
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet hutongtaxienglishdriversubway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

A comfortable, peaceful sanctuary. The location is excellent. A 15 minute walk to the train station. Tucked away in the middle of a busy Hutong (Traditonal Chinese alley) which is FULL of cafes, shops and food stalls. 

The hotel is made of concrete, and you cannot hear any of the street noise from the bustling alley outside. Very clean and comfortable. Very good breakfast (multiple items & styles to choose from).

Seven, the manager is amazing. Fluent in English, she really knows how to treat guests, and ensures a great stay in Beijing. The rest of the staff is very helpful also.

Cons:
-a few small harmless beetles in the rooms.
-No Wifi in the rooms, only lobby.
-Doors are thin, so you can hear other guests in the hallway, but still very quiet.

A small hotel, so everyone is friendly, and personal. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomeDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutongren, Manager at Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Hi, thanks for your reviews of our hotel.I'm glad to receive your appreciation. And meantime, also thanks for the problems you mentioned, we promise to improve our work and service. Hope to meet you again.~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Unbelievable experience in a negative sense. We arrived, tired and needed a rest. But could not do that, because there was a family dog in the lobby, who barked and barked.

We had two rooms. One of the rooms was cold (16C) and no warm water. It was a double room, but so tiny, that I could not open my suitcase. There was no place to hang my coat or put my things, no clothes rack or closet or anything. The other room was even worse.

The walls were made of paper. You could hear every sound through the walls. The large window of the double room, that they claim on their homepage to open to the back yard really opens to the atrium and all the guests of the hutong walk pass it.

There was a warning sign on the wall of the bathroom, which said, that there is a fine for cleaning your shoes with towels. The towels were so dirty! I believed every word of this sign!

Who on earth are the people who recommend the place, I cannot understand.

As soon as we arrived, we started to look for another hotel. We never stayed a night but ended up paying for the first night!

Unbelievable doghouse and so overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirjam1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutongren, Manager at Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Mirjam,
We are so sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience in our hotel.
The noise you mentioned is a common characteristics of all the houses in hutongs., just like many foreign residential areas. The windows are facing the alley so the sound from the street is unavoidable. Our hotel is located between two small hutongs so motor vehicles never pass by. The alleies are for pedestrians only and there are walking people coming in. The seneitivity of noise varies on different people, there are many guests think our hotel is very quiet on Tripadvisor. But we ard still very sorry of that if it really made you unhappy.
Hutongren hotel is located in the old center area in Beijing. As it was rebuild on the foundation of traditional Beijing folk house.Our rooms are small because of the restrictions on the old building structures.
You had booked 2 rooms.The single room,skyheart is 8.7m2. And the twin room ,rain breeze,is 13.4m2. We also have a supreme double room Lao-Jun-May which is18.4m2 but it was reserved on that day so we are sorry we couldn't change for you .
You reserved the room on our official website,www.hutongren.com.cn, you can browse every room's photo there, but it seems these pictures didn't help you have a clear sense of the rooms , we'll put some more pics with more details on the website so that the guest s can acquaint the rooms more convenient.
We're so sorry there is no clothes-hook in room Rain breeze,we are going to install a set of hook. Thank you very much for your kind advise.
The towels we served are all produced by purified cotton,weight 800g. If the towels were dirty, we were happy to change it for you immediately if you had let us know.
The problem about hot water , we provide hot water in every room, We didn't turn on the heat of the hotwater of the twin room because you checked in very early around 10:30am. We don't want the guests wait in the yard so we lead you to your room as soon as you came. We had told you that it was better to take shower 1 hour later and you said you understood it.
Just as what you said, blackie is one of our families Hutongren is his home. He barks when he meets a new friend at first. This is his special way to say hello to you and he will definitely become good friend with you soon. We also had tried to communicate this with you, he doesn't stay in the hotel at night. And if you want to have a nap, we will take him out .
The last thing is about cancellation policy. Due to our small-scale hotel, the loss of occasional cancellation will be 100%.
(Cancellation Policy:Cancellations must be received at least 7 days prior to the expected date of arrival. If notice is given within 7 days, the first night rate and tax must be forfeited. If notice is given within 3 days, the whole fee must be forfeited. This is a small hotel - book only once you are certain of your travel dates.
Early Checkout Policy: As Hutongren is a small hotel with only 10 rooms, checking out early causes problems by taking away the ability for other guests to book during that same period. Within 7 days of arrival or during your stay at Hutongren, a penalty of 1 night's room rate is charged upon cancellation of any number of days from the original booking, unless the cancellation is made 7 days in advance of the actually date booked.)
So if you have reserved and check in the hotel that means you accepted these rules and agreed with it. But on Feb 28th, you two said that's the hotel's rules not yours.
You had booked 2 rooms * 7 days, checked in around10:30am , and checked out around 2:00pm after a "coffee" from the main street. According to the policy, we charged the first night rate with tax.
The amercement is the loos of both you and the hotel. We really understand your displeasing feeling and will reflect on ourselves. And do more to meke the guests understand the details of the rooms and our hotel before thay make reservations.
Anyway, we are sorry about all these unhappy things. Hope you have had a great time in Beijing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

It definitely was a different experience than the normal hotel in China. It was very quiet, quaint and cozy. The dog was so cute! It gave a completely authentic experience of the more traditional side of Beijing.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
5  Thank MysticMoon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutongren, Manager at Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Hi, thanks for your reviews very much. I'm glad that you had a great time in our hotel. Hope to meet you again~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in mid jan 2013. Fantastic spot, close to busy hutong, plenty to see and do. Room was great, had a twin room even though I was on my own, comfy bed, great shower and the underfloor heating kept the room nice and toasty. Make sure taxi drops you at the right spot, I did spend 20 mins at midnight wandering around dark alleys on my own trying to find it.

Breakfast was great and staff very helpful. Would defo stay here again if in beijing. If going to badaling to walk the wall get cab or subway to beijing north and jump on the train for 6rmb each way, nice chilled way to travel.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Heberdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutongren, Manager at Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Hi,thanks for your reviews very much. I'm glad that you had a good time in our hotel. Hope to see you next time~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This time during our stay in Beijing, we were very happy to find this lovely little nicely refurbished Hutong hotel. Modern and homey environment on the excellent location. All Staff speak English and they all are very helpful for us giving travel advices and directions. If there is a chance to travel to Beijing again we definately will go back again.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank yuzitokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews