We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, peacefull and friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch
Ranked #17 of 941 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, peacefull and friendly!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have been 5 nights at Hutongren and from the beginnng we felt ally like comming home! It is perfectly located, very nicely and puristic furnished, our room on the roof was cosy and the people there werde extremely friendly and helpful. And especially Seven, who was there from early in the morning until late in the night, was always polite, charming and always ready to help us where ever we needed some support.
We can really recommend Hutongren without any reservations!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanG446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    64
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
39
49
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We were very happy with our decision to stay at the Hutongren. The location allowed us to see a more authentic view of Beijing and we were able to walk to many attractions. We had reserved a double room but when we arrived, Seven upgraded us to the garden room. The under-floor heating kept the room cozy; the bath was lovely after a day of walking; the king size bed was VERY comfortable with silk sheets and soft duvet.
The breakfast was included in the room rate and very good value. We had the British breakfast each morning and it was delicious. We had read about Blackie, the hotel dog, and he is indeed adorable. Very affectionate, but not attention-seeking.
There are 3 metro stops in the vicinity of the hotel: Andingmen; Beixingqiau and Nanluoguxiang. All are on different lines so depending on your destination, one may be more convenient. We found the transfer stations to be quite a lot of walking. The closest station is Nanluoguxiang. It is located at the end of the shopping street (Nanluoguxiang) where the alleyway for the Hutongren is located. The entrance to the street is just opposite the exits, to the right of a large building made of light yellowish/orane bricks. If you go too far up Nanluoguxiang, you will reach Gulou Street. Just turn around and retrace your steps; the hotel is located down the 2nd alleyway on your left. From the Beixingqiao station, take exit D and turn left at the top of the stairs and walk along the road for about 10 minutes. You will see a McDonalds on the opposite side of the street just before the road narrows and becomes Gulou Street at the Andingmen Street intersection. Carry on until you reach Nanluoguxiang and turn left. To reach the Andingmen station from the Nanluoguxiang shopping street, turn right onto Gulou street and left at Andingmen. It is about 15-20 mins of walking. You need to cross over a fairly busy street to the entrance (same side of the street). Although this metro is the farthest, you may find it more convenient to reach many of the sights. We took a taxi from the airport to the Hutongren and it was 88rmb. We spoke to some other guests and they paid 300 rmb. Three different people tried to "scam" us at the airport. The first was one of the touts who claimed the taxi line up would take 2 hours (it took about 10 mins); the second was a bonafide taxi driver who said he didn't know where the address was and a man just happened to appear and said he would take us using his car and he tried to give us his card; the third was the actual taxi driver who took us who "forgot" to start his meter. Thankfully, we were prepared for these rascals after reading comments from other Trip Advisor reviews.

Room Tip: We liked the garden room. The only negative was the noise from the alley adjacent to our window - th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmeroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

A comfortable, peaceful sanctuary. The location is excellent. A 15 minute walk to the train station. Tucked away in the middle of a busy Hutong (Traditonal Chinese alley) which is FULL of cafes, shops and food stalls. 

The hotel is made of concrete, and you cannot hear any of the street noise from the bustling alley outside. Very clean and comfortable. Very good breakfast (multiple items & styles to choose from).

Seven, the manager is amazing. Fluent in English, she really knows how to treat guests, and ensures a great stay in Beijing. The rest of the staff is very helpful also.

Cons:
-a few small harmless beetles in the rooms.
-No Wifi in the rooms, only lobby.
-Doors are thin, so you can hear other guests in the hallway, but still very quiet.

A small hotel, so everyone is friendly, and personal. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomeDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutongren, Manager at Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Hi, thanks for your reviews of our hotel.I'm glad to receive your appreciation. And meantime, also thanks for the problems you mentioned, we promise to improve our work and service. Hope to meet you again.~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Unbelievable experience in a negative sense. We arrived, tired and needed a rest. But could not do that, because there was a family dog in the lobby, who barked and barked.

We had two rooms. One of the rooms was cold (16C) and no warm water. It was a double room, but so tiny, that I could not open my suitcase. There was no place to hang my coat or put my things, no clothes rack or closet or anything. The other room was even worse.

The walls were made of paper. You could hear every sound through the walls. The large window of the double room, that they claim on their homepage to open to the back yard really opens to the atrium and all the guests of the hutong walk pass it.

There was a warning sign on the wall of the bathroom, which said, that there is a fine for cleaning your shoes with towels. The towels were so dirty! I believed every word of this sign!

Who on earth are the people who recommend the place, I cannot understand.

As soon as we arrived, we started to look for another hotel. We never stayed a night but ended up paying for the first night!

Unbelievable doghouse and so overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirjam1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutongren, Manager at Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Mirjam,
We are so sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience in our hotel.
The noise you mentioned is a common characteristics of all the houses in hutongs., just like many foreign residential areas. The windows are facing the alley so the sound from the street is unavoidable. Our hotel is located between two small hutongs so motor vehicles never pass by. The alleies are for pedestrians only and there are walking people coming in. The seneitivity of noise varies on different people, there are many guests think our hotel is very quiet on Tripadvisor. But we ard still very sorry of that if it really made you unhappy.
Hutongren hotel is located in the old center area in Beijing. As it was rebuild on the foundation of traditional Beijing folk house.Our rooms are small because of the restrictions on the old building structures.
You had booked 2 rooms.The single room,skyheart is 8.7m2. And the twin room ,rain breeze,is 13.4m2. We also have a supreme double room Lao-Jun-May which is18.4m2 but it was reserved on that day so we are sorry we couldn't change for you .
You reserved the room on our official website,www.hutongren.com.cn, you can browse every room's photo there, but it seems these pictures didn't help you have a clear sense of the rooms , we'll put some more pics with more details on the website so that the guest s can acquaint the rooms more convenient.
We're so sorry there is no clothes-hook in room Rain breeze,we are going to install a set of hook. Thank you very much for your kind advise.
The towels we served are all produced by purified cotton,weight 800g. If the towels were dirty, we were happy to change it for you immediately if you had let us know.
The problem about hot water , we provide hot water in every room, We didn't turn on the heat of the hotwater of the twin room because you checked in very early around 10:30am. We don't want the guests wait in the yard so we lead you to your room as soon as you came. We had told you that it was better to take shower 1 hour later and you said you understood it.
Just as what you said, blackie is one of our families Hutongren is his home. He barks when he meets a new friend at first. This is his special way to say hello to you and he will definitely become good friend with you soon. We also had tried to communicate this with you, he doesn't stay in the hotel at night. And if you want to have a nap, we will take him out .
The last thing is about cancellation policy. Due to our small-scale hotel, the loss of occasional cancellation will be 100%.
(Cancellation Policy:Cancellations must be received at least 7 days prior to the expected date of arrival. If notice is given within 7 days, the first night rate and tax must be forfeited. If notice is given within 3 days, the whole fee must be forfeited. This is a small hotel - book only once you are certain of your travel dates.
Early Checkout Policy: As Hutongren is a small hotel with only 10 rooms, checking out early causes problems by taking away the ability for other guests to book during that same period. Within 7 days of arrival or during your stay at Hutongren, a penalty of 1 night's room rate is charged upon cancellation of any number of days from the original booking, unless the cancellation is made 7 days in advance of the actually date booked.)
So if you have reserved and check in the hotel that means you accepted these rules and agreed with it. But on Feb 28th, you two said that's the hotel's rules not yours.
You had booked 2 rooms * 7 days, checked in around10:30am , and checked out around 2:00pm after a "coffee" from the main street. According to the policy, we charged the first night rate with tax.
The amercement is the loos of both you and the hotel. We really understand your displeasing feeling and will reflect on ourselves. And do more to meke the guests understand the details of the rooms and our hotel before thay make reservations.
Anyway, we are sorry about all these unhappy things. Hope you have had a great time in Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

It definitely was a different experience than the normal hotel in China. It was very quiet, quaint and cozy. The dog was so cute! It gave a completely authentic experience of the more traditional side of Beijing.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank MysticMoon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutongren, Manager at Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Hi, thanks for your reviews very much. I'm glad that you had a great time in our hotel. Hope to meet you again~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend in mid jan 2013. Fantastic spot, close to busy hutong, plenty to see and do. Room was great, had a twin room even though I was on my own, comfy bed, great shower and the underfloor heating kept the room nice and toasty. Make sure taxi drops you at the right spot, I did spend 20 mins at midnight wandering around dark alleys on my own trying to find it.

Breakfast was great and staff very helpful. Would defo stay here again if in beijing. If going to badaling to walk the wall get cab or subway to beijing north and jump on the train for 6rmb each way, nice chilled way to travel.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Heberdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutongren, Manager at Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Hi,thanks for your reviews very much. I'm glad that you had a good time in our hotel. Hope to see you next time~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This time during our stay in Beijing, we were very happy to find this lovely little nicely refurbished Hutong hotel. Modern and homey environment on the excellent location. All Staff speak English and they all are very helpful for us giving travel advices and directions. If there is a chance to travel to Beijing again we definately will go back again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank yuzitokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#119 of 6,517 in Beijing
186 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#42 of 6,517 in Beijing
571 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#129 of 6,517 in Beijing
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#138 of 6,517 in Beijing
173 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,517 in Beijing
495 reviews
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch

Property: Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch
Address: No.71 Xiaoju'er Hutong, Nanluoguxiang, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 941 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a very small, easily-overlooked side alley north of storied Xiao Ju’er Hutong, this charming little tea-theme hotel offers a quiet, well-lit retreat from the bustle of the middle of everything. A handful of rooms-double from RMB 600 and single from RMB 480 – surround a stone-floored atrium filled with plants, natural light, books in various languages, wi-fi and a small bar. All rooms are equipped with super comfortable King Koil Mattresses, traditional furniture, air conditioners and under-ground heating. You will be warmly welcomed by the lovely staff and little Blackie. The unique Chinese Tea experience (free Tea classes are given everyday by reservation in advance), relative peace and quiet you’ll find here after a long day is worth it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing