We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch
Ranked #15 of 926 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
KL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean & Cozy”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in the 4 bed room right opposite reception. Space is limited but ideal for families with young kids as bunker beds bring excitement to their holidays! Would suggest to fix some sort of ventilation in the attached shower. Otherwise great place to stay right next to a lovely street with hundreds of eateries.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordita33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutongren, Manager at Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your comment and suggestion. It's very nice to hear you have a nice stay here.we will try to improve the problem you had mentioned.
Thank you for your sharing: )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    64
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
38
49
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

1, it is a great place to explore "hutong". The hotel was renovated from a traditional beijing "siheyuan" . Decoration is tasteful and unique. you will like it, if you enjoy artsy stuff.
2, friendly staff who speak English. They were very helpful to make suggestions.
3, centrally located; The hotel is close to everywhere. It locates in a very safe neighborhood.
4, The room is clean, and in decent size. Surprisingly, mattress is very comfortable. I slept well during my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FanJacksonup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutongren, Manager at Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello,
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here.
Thank you for your comment and sharing of your feeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was really happy to stay at Hutongren Courtyard Hotel.

Make sure you have the directions given by the hotel to get show to a taxi driver to get there. The address in itself is not sufficient. When you get there, you realize the hotel is at the end of an alley, in a pedestrian hutong. This is what makes its character!

Hutongren Courtyard Hotel is a very nicely an tastefully renovated in an old house in a Beijing Hutong. The rooms are super clean, and with nice bathrooms. Rooms (some of them without windows) are generally on the small side, which is compensated by the quality of the common spaces.

Most important, everyone working in Hutongren Courtyard Hotel is super friendly, and has a good command of English. They are all helpful, reactive, and efficient. Breakfast is western style, and nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marseil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutongren, Manager at Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello Marseille,
Thank you for your useful and objective comment.
About the address we will change a more simple version later.
We are very happy that you like here.
Thank you for the long comment again: )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Hutongren was recommended in the Lonely Planet guide and I was very very happy with my stay.
GREAT location, right in the center of the hutong district, off the trendy pedestrian street NanLuoguXiang. Built within a hutong courtyard, the whole property has been remodelled, so everything inside is brand new, with modern fittings and furnishings. The roof terrace is amazing, with views out over the hutong.
It's great value for money. When on business trips to Beijing, I usually pay at least double to stay in a run-down "Business" hotel.
My friend (who is from Beijing) met me at the hotel and was amazed how a tourist like me had been able to find such a good hotel for such good value armed only with my Lonely Planet guide...
Downsides: this hotel is just off Nanluoguxiang, so it can be a bit noisy and is difficult to find. But that comes with the territory: this is a place for tourists looking to experience Beijing. If you are visiting on business and want a traditional hotel next to the train station with a large buffet breakfast and 5-star professional service, this is not the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutongren, Manager at Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hi!
We are very happy that you like here and enjoyed your staying.
Thank you for your such long comment.
Welcome to come back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed here for three nights during my visit to Beijing. We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Our room was located in the back, and it was very quiet and relaxing. We noticed the street noise mentioned in other reviews, but it was quite distant and barely noticable, and by about 9:30 or so every evening, it had died down to nearly nothing. We slept very well on the very soft and comfortable beds. There was a large bathtub that made for a very relaxing bath. We had three in our room (for a small fee for the 3rd person), worth noting, as I've found in China it's a little hard to find hotels that will let you stay three to a room.

The hotel had a relaxing, Zen feel, with plenty of natural light. The welcome tea was very refreshing. The location was just perfect, right off the busy hutong streets with plenty of nearby shops, bars and restaurants. We were jet lagged and looking to eat breakfast super early, but there are not too many breakfast options available in the area before around 8 am or so. The hotel's breakfast, unfortunately, doesn't start until 8 am, a little late if you're looking to get out and get started on your sightseeing first thing in the morning.

The place is a little hard to find,as mentioned in other reviews. Look out for the Starbucks sign (just the sign, the actual Starbucks is inside of a hotel). Once you find the sign, if the sign is on your left, the alley is just behind you. If the sign is on the right, the alley is just up ahead on your right. The alley is very tiny, and there's a small sign shaped like an arrow with the name of the hotel on it. Go to the end of the alley and you'll find the entrance on the left. I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Book one of the rooms in the back, as street noise and noise from the common areas will be at a mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemtwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutongren, Manager at Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hi gemtwist,
Thank you very much for your comment and the note for the direction! actually we are going to make a more simple introduction of the location.
Thank you for share your real experience and feelings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at Hutongren for two nights at the beginning of July 2013 on a flying visit to Beijing.

On the run-up we emailed Seven a few times to ask for assistance with confirmations for visas, advice o day-trips and booking taxis and she always replied straight away and was extremly helpful, which was much appreciated.

We booked a transfer from the airport through the hotel as we were due to arrive late at night, Our flight was delayed by several hours but the driver was still ready and waiting for us when we finally arrived.

The hotel is quiet and peaceful but still in the perfect location, just off one of the nicest Huton shopping streets we saw in Beijing. All the main attractions are a short taxi ride away. It would be hard to find without a driver who knew the way but if you got the directions in Chinese from Seven before arrival I'm sure there would be no problem.

Our room was clean and functional, with working air con and a lovely shower, although the hot water was not working on our second day (we were offered the use of an empty room's shower instead though). As were were leaving late the day of our check-out, they allowed us to keep our bags locked in the room while we went off to do some more exploring.

We loved our stay - a home from home and Blackie the house dog is very cute and entertaining!

Thank you Seven, Eleven and Blackie for all your help and hospitality, I'm sure we'll be back one day!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutongren, Manager at Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Hi,
Thanks for your long and careful review very much! We feel really happy and honor with your compliment and support, they are very important for us. Do hope that we can meet you next time in Beijing and have the chance to host you again. Thanks a lot again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I reserved 3 nights, but first night is nightmare. The room (Tatami) is very tiny. Lying in their twin size bed, I can clearly heard other visitor talking, coughing, laughing... Say if there is any single person moving in the public lobby, you will hear his/her sound .
Terrible !

I want to leave the second day but they won't give me refund. The receptionist lied by telling me they don't charge credit card, actually they do!

Not worth the money.

The only thing I feel positive is their bedding is very soft and comfortable.

Room Tip: Unless you really love a Hutong feeling, go prime hotel in wangfujing is much better with only 100 y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutongren, Manager at Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear jessie,

We feel so sorry that you failed to get a satisfied experience in our hotel.

The whole situation began with that you have booked the single tatami room for 3 nights on our official website.:www.hutongren.com.cn. We have posted specific room introduction for each room on our website .And for the single tatami room, our introduction mentioned that “This room has window facing to the Tea House and might have some noise between 8am to 11pm, while most of the time it is quiet. We have considered this inconvenience this might cause you and reflected it on the room rate.” Because of the restriction of the building, it’s difficult to make every room perfect. We feel so sorry for that. And in order to make it up, we will show the real situation to our guests before they make reservation and reflecte the defects on the room rate reasonably.

Certainly, we feel really sorry that you didn’t sleep well that night. So when you complain about the noise in the next morning, we offered to give the free upgrade, but you reject it. We have already gave the sincere solution, but you sticked to check-out. So we have to implement our Cancellation Policy & Early Checkout Policy as agreed upon by both parties.

There are photos and specific introductions of rooms on our website.At the begining of guest’s reservation, we will communicate with guests to help them know our hotel and rooms more better by calling or e-mails.And as everyone knows, the early check-out will bring hotels a 100% loss. So we have to charge the penalty of 1 night's room rate with tax upon cancellation of any number of days from the original booking.

In addition, as we know, the average room rate of the four-star hotel near WangFujing is about rmb500 yuan per night at least. And rmb100 yuan is the usual price of the youth hostel. Or maybe you just happened to catch the promotion of the four-star hotels.

Anyway, thanks for your review and endorsement of our bedding. In order to provide better sleeping experience, we bought our bed pad from Westin and our bedcloths are customized.

We promise to do better and hope to give every guest a better experience.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#126 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#131 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#47 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#125 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#187 of 6,464 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch

Property: Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch
Address: No.71 Xiaoju'er Hutong, Nanluoguxiang, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 926 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a very small, easily-overlooked side alley north of storied Xiao Ju’er Hutong, this charming little tea-theme hotel offers a quiet, well-lit retreat from the bustle of the middle of everything. A handful of rooms-double from RMB 600 and single from RMB 480 – surround a stone-floored atrium filled with plants, natural light, books in various languages, wi-fi and a small bar. All rooms are equipped with super comfortable King Koil Mattresses, traditional furniture, air conditioners and under-ground heating. You will be warmly welcomed by the lovely staff and little Blackie. The unique Chinese Tea experience (free Tea classes are given everyday by reservation in advance), relative peace and quiet you’ll find here after a long day is worth it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Beijing Wohkoon Hostel-Nan Luo Gu Xiang Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing