We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but certainly not perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lakeview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lakeview Hotel
Ranked #176 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, but certainly not perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel when I needed to attend a function at Peking University. All in all, it's a nice hotel, situated very close to the University. Do not stay here if you need to travel to the city center frequently - it's very far from from the city center.
The problem with this hotel is it's not particularly clean. The first room I stayed, there was problem with the drainage in the shower, causing the whole bathroom got flooded. I changed to the second room which was fine, but the bathtub was very dirty. The hotel restaurants are very expensive.
Otherwise the hotel is nice, rooms are spacious, and the club facilities are nice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    86
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
2
5
9
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

large room, comfortable bed. bath and shower ok. Biggest problem - the staff. NOBODY speaks English, except the managers. Ordering from room service is a 45 minute odyssey. "Hello, I would like to order some food." "ah. call colleague. one moment." line is cut. try 3 more times. speak to the right person. "what do you want?" "To order some food." "OK." "A plate of lasagne and a Tsintao beer." "Ok ok. What do you want?" "A p l a t e of l a s a g n e and a Tsintao beer." "Ah. OK. Wait a moment. Call colleague." and so on.
Service: They forget your breakfast order; they don't fill the mini-bar. Used plates and dishes are still in the room days later; the carpets are stained and the sofa, dirty. Coffee is unbelievabl bad. Only redeeming feature - it's close to Tsinghua university.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jv_bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Myself and my better half stayed in this hotel during July 2013 and had a wonderful stay. I was there on business and my partner tagged along for a shot of culture and sightseeing. It was our first trip to Beijing and, overall, we were very pleased with the hotel.

Pros: cleanliness, size of rooms, awesome bathroom with music feed from the in-room TV, nice gym and spa (usually empty), room amenities, staff friendliness, attentive housekeeping staff, relaxed atmosphere, comfy bed.

Cons: wireless/internet speed and reliability, restaurant food (wasn't to our taste), early morning reception service for check-out (the staff were asleep under the desk when we arrived to check out!), location (it's far away from most tourist areas - we had a generous budget so traveled most places by taxi but I hear the public transport is also an option), lack of English speaking reception/restaurant staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter_9607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Tsing Hwa, Peking U are just 5 min walk. It is a bit far to Wangfujing but underground station is just 5 min walk. 40 min to International Airport.
I had tried the gym of this hotel. Small but quite alright. Breakfast has improved from last year when I visited. If you have to work in Zhongguancun this is a pretty good location.

Room Tip: You must confirm availability of the room before checking in. This hotel had been overbooked last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aysmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

-the hotel's AC doesn't work.
-the service is really bad, no one speaks english
-the gym is a joke 2 (tiny and little availabe equipment)
-the rooms are smelly
-poor hpusekeeping
-the massages at the spa is overpriced and crappy
-even if you are going to PU, the subway ride is bettet than staying at this crappy hotel
I can't believe how they call themselves a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariadap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were a party of 4 and in each of our rooms, despite outside temperatures of up to 30 degrees, the air con either blew out hot air, didn't work at all or, as we suspected at the end of our visit, deliberately turned off to save money.

Needless to say, the room was stifling, impossible to sleep in and deeply unpleasant. The staff, who surprisingly for a so called 5 star hotel (surely a misnomer), spoke very little English, refused, at first, to acknowledge there was even a problem, even though the wall thermometer read 30 degrees.

All in all, a nightmare. Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dominic s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I was here for 1 week while attending a seminar at PKU. To be able to walk my lecture room was great. There is really no reason to stay here otherwise if you are going to Beijing. The lobby is nice. The room got the job done, the bed was comfortable, the bathrrom was nice. The restaurants are okay if you are doing one night. There are so many great restaurants in Beijing, even within a 2 minute walk of this hotel. Staff are friendly, their English is average for a hotel. Breakfast was plentiful. Internet was okay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#60 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Zhongguancun
Xihua Hotel
Xihua Hotel
#839 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Zhongguancun
Zhonguanyuan Global Village, PKU
Zhonguanyuan Global Village, PKU
#752 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wudaokou
Wenjin Hotel
Wenjin Hotel
#1,542 of 6,450 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Zhongguancun
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun
Zhongguancun
ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakeview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakeview Hotel

Property: The Lakeview Hotel
Address: No.127 Zhongguancun North Street, Haidian District, Beijing 100080, China
Region: China > Beijing > Zhongguancun
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Lakeview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakeview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing