We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall stayed was ok”
Review of Donghuang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Donghuang Hotel
Ranked #1,580 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night only during my last day of group tour in Beijing.
The hotel, the room overall was ok for me. A lots of room amenities available, but need to pay. The shower room was a bit small. However, there was some unfavourable things happened. When I was sitting down the table for recording my stuff around 12AM, there was some shadow fly over from my left eyes for several of times. But I thought that I was too tired, so that I didn't look into it. Indeed, the next day, another 2 rooms of the guests were discussing the same topics that yesterday I was encountered and this make me to believe that all of us have seen the "supernatural things" happened in our eyes.. Who knows? haha.. However, the location of the hotel was pretty good, close to shopping mall, convenience store etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calvin289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

For 3 days, I stayed in Donghuang Hotel and I quite enjoyed there.
In China, I didn’t expect cozy and tidy room but this hotel is quite clean and well arranged items. At 6 floors I could easy have a breakfast and New world department store is also located next to the building. In this hotel you can enjoy all the comfort and disposal items.
Unfortunately, I couldn’t enough time to travel in Beijing, the accommodation was really satisfied and the scenery is not bad. You know, there was thick smog all the days.
Around the hotel, there is 798 art districts within walking distance. If you can get a few free time, you can enjoy the modern and latest art of China.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Je
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My employer cancelled corporate relation to my preferred hotel, so I had to choose this one for the first time. At reception I had to wait amongst smoking other travelers waiting to be served. The room I was given was top floor, and spacious. My first impression, already outside the room on the floor hall: It urgently needs some renovation! Secondly, the bed was not nicely prepared, just so and so. The air-condition blew smelly bad Beijing air, so I switched it off, which of course cooled the room made me freezing. The TV did not provide any other international channel then CNN. Next morning, I started to explore it a little bit further: The entire room is worn to an extent any other hotel operator claiming this level would do some renovation. All outlets of air con were full of dust and dirty, even the filter mat was not in place and also not has seen any cleaning since long. In the shower you looked into a rusty shower head, and the electrical appliances for automatic switches of the wardrobe lights are placed to prevent opening the door to access all the power fuses. The body scale was used from many previous guests but has obviously never seen any decent cleaning, and the carpets in and out of the room also are more a dirt and dust conserve rather then providing a cosy and tidy environment. The worst is the breakfast: Even the Chinese offers were just not even so and so, not to mention the poor offer for any western breakfast. I hope, they have better rooms next time, otherwise I will not come again.

Room Tip: well, I only can tell u which one not to choose: 3137
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We were in Beijing in early February and stayed at the Donghuang. Of the three hotels we stayed in it was meh. It was clean, mostly, although there was some stuff that might have been alive in the grouting around the tub. Our mini-fridge was not working when we checked in, but upon reporting it it was changed in less then 15 min. The English ability of the staff is nearly non-existent, they were friendly. To report the mini-fridge to several attempts using a translation program on an iPhone. I'm sure several early attempts translated to, "little cold thing is not digging holes", I think in the end, "refrigerator not cold" got the point across.

The bed was a little hard, but we like firm mattresses, so that was not a problem. The comforter was about 4 inches thick and too warm but I fear what would have happened if I'd asked for something thinner to put over me in bed.

The location is a problem, it is about 1/2 between the airport and the city center. We were in Bei Hai park on a cold day and just wanted to get home and several cabbies refused to go that far out one offered for 100rmb, I protested and said it should be on the meter, he kindly demurred, so we walked back to the subway and took that. It was early in our trip, I should have checked my currency exchange app, I'd have realized he wanted $15. As it was the subway cost 2rmb/person, or $0.32. The best things I can say about the locations is that there were good places to eat in the area and the Wangjing East subway stop was about a 10-15 min walk.

Not a bad hotel, but I have to think that you could find something with the same price point much more centrally located.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2ksr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Its a nice place surrounded by all shopping malls and good spacious rooms.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
Thank shubz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank Kiu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 6 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Jiuxianqiao
Quanji Beijing Dashanzi Qiao 798 Art Zone
CAMIC International Convention C...
#2,090 of 6,606 in Beijing
4 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#20 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,308 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#30 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donghuang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donghuang Hotel

Address: No.16 Guanshuan South Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100102, China (Formerly Donghuang Kaili Hotel)
Region: China > Beijing > Wangjing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,580 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £58 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Donghuang Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Donghuang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing