We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Ranked #8 of 6,528 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The Renaissance provides well-appointed, stylish rooms in a modern, hip, polished hotel. The beds are comfortable and the rooms large and relatively quiet. Since the hotel attracts the business crowd there are no noisy incidents with children or boisterous tourists. The breakfast served downstairs in the BLD restaurant is great, lots of choices for fruits, vegetables, Chinese and Western breakfast options and a made-to-order smoothie bar. The gym is kept very clean and is available 24hrs. The surrounding area offers mini-marts, restaurants, and access to the subway and buses. Overall is this a restful place to stay in the bustling city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa94553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,695)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 973 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

The Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel is located at the 3rd ring road, between Guanmao and Schuangjing Station. The hotel is relatively new, and quite stylish, consistent with the newer Renaissance hotels.

I got a room on the Club Level, the size of the room was larger, than I expected from earlier reviews. The bathroom was separated from the room with a glass window.
The bed was very comfortable, the rest of the room was functional, and well designed.
The Club Lounge on the 24th floor was huge, the view stunning, and the breakfast buffet there was very varied, including made to order eggs. In the evenings the food there was more of bite-sized, which I found sub-optimal.

The staff in the hotel was very helpful, and very efficient.

Overall I liked my stay there very much, there are only two issues, which may be a problem for some.

1) The Internet is very slow. This makes the hotel not so suitable for business travelers. There was some note when the connection was created, that there may be slowness due to Governments snooping and filtering of the traffic, but I doubt that really contributes that much. I had more the impression, that the network bandwidth was not adequately sized.
2) No taxis in front of the hotel. They have to be hailed from the street exit, which is about 100 meters away. In the end I felt, that I would be better of, hailing a taxi on the street myself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoccoSiffredi1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

On my recent trip to china i stayed here. Hotel staff is extremely helpful and caring. We were in a big group and were out on a holiday and needed special food. The hotel allowed our cook to cook food in their own kitchen and also gave us a banquet for having food. The service was prompt and friendly. As china is a place where not many people speak english, the hotel reception gave us all the places we wanted to visit in chinese. The rooms were very spacious and nicely planned. The hotel was overall very clean and the room service was also very good.
All in all... Thumbs up to this place!!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are roughly the same... try and not choose a city view room as the streets are too cro...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raj1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We were a group of over 150 who travelled to Beijing for a corporate event.And must put on record my appreciation to the hotel staff who made the event a success and also the stay comfortable.Managing such a large group has its own challenges but everything went off smoothly.

The rooms were of contemporary decor , uncluttered , clean and spacious . The beds were good and the ac thermostat actually worked well (unlike most hotels) which made the stay comfortable.The ac is noiseless , a plus definitely . Of course the bath tub , many fellow travellers have mentioned about it , is an added feature . The bathrooms were large with modern fixtures .The housekeeping and room service were fairly efficient provided you could make yourself clear to the operator .

The breakfast was good .The cafe itself is very spacious .A wide array of fruits , buns , cheese , cold cuts ,cereals and juices. But the highlight were the Chinese counters . One was a soup/noodle station. Some great noodle soup and dimsums to start the day with . The counter was live and so one could see the Chef making the noodles (from a dough) as well as the soup . The other is a speciality cuisine counter . Stir fried greens , pork , tofu , fried rice , chow min . Name it and the chef would make it right away . Since no trip to China should be deemed to have been complete without savouring the local cuisine , these two counters came out absolutely at the top . The egg station was a hit too.

The hotel is at the Central Business District (CBD) . In the vicinity are malls and other shops. Beware , buying apples or medication is tough because of the language gap. So is giving directions to the local cabbie . If your destination is close by , they would try to put you on to an illegal private taxi (at four times the cost) which always seem to be hovering around . Please carry the name and address of the hotel/your destination in Chinese to get you around . Its best to rely on a local tour guide.The underground station is close by .

We had a dazzling gala dinner at the hotel with shows by Kung Fu artistes and Techno drummers.The hotel served a wide variety of Indian and Chinese dishes (including some delectable starters).The live pasta counter and the array of desserts added to the dining experience .The hall is spacious and the sound quality good . A good event venue .Recommended .

Local bargain markets ie Silk and Yashow are within reasonable distance . (Dont pay more than 40RMB for a shirt/tshirt . The sales girl will start at 200. Bargaining is not for the faint hearted there.The girls will not let you go and are not averse to shedding tears if you bargain too hard).

Overall a good stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a street view are good . Its a bustling arterial road and is lively the entire day.Would...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveladict_del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel in May 2012. We stayed for 5 nights on our first leg of our 2 week honeymoon. Overall the hotel is gorgeous! the rooms are very spacious and the bathroom superb. The photos of the bathroom window walls are real, but you can easily lower the curtains with a switch for privacy. I am a very light sleeper, so I remember waking up from some people closing doors close by, but maybe that was just the jet lag that made me more sensitive. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, especially on business.
But if you are only sightseeing, here are my thoughts: We are used to taking the metro or subway anywhere we go. Traffic in beijing is a nightmare and the metro is 2 yuan each way ($0.31) no matter how far you go. The subway was VERY close to the hotel, about a 5-7 minute walk and its outside the mall. The only problem i see is that the subway stop is not on a major line, so you have to transfer a couple of times to get to the major sights. It took us about 30 mins to get to the Pearl market, and about the same to Tiananmen Square. We were in no rush, so it was ok to wait so long. I bet taxis would take longer because of the traffic and cost much more.
We didnt try any restaurants around the area, we did have a quick meal in the mall which was ok. Of course don't expect anyone to speak English if you are not close to the tourist sights. So we just pointed at other people's food or photos on the menu. We couldn't even order water! LOL
Anyway, overall the hotel is SUPER NICE, I just don't know if I would stay there again because of the distance to the major sights.
We had marriott points, so the hotel was free, otherwise I would've done much more research to find one closer. Also, since we booked with points, our rate did not include free breakfast, but since we told them we where on our honeymoon, they gave us breakfast for free every morning. It was very nice, had a little bit of everything, western and chinese food. It was great to have some food in our bellies before we got on the long ride to the tourist sites.
Also, if you want to see the great wall, we went to Mutianyu, the farthest open sight, but it was SOOO worth it. You go up in a cable car and come down in a tobogan! it was awesome! We hired a personal driver and english tour guide named Jason. He was awesome. You can email him if you want his services: 993297848@139.com

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherrypie025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My wife, my daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 5 days in early April 2012. We were very lucky that we had the name of the hotel written in Chinese characters because many taxi drivers do not speak English.

The room was nice but I agree with other reviews that it is a bit rundown. Our room faced the street but we did not hear any traffic or other noise. The staff was very nice and very attentive. The manager asked us several times whether we were enjoying our stay.

We ordered room service a lot and found the service very quick and the food good. We took a cab to the Forbidden city but had difficulty finding a cab back to the hotel. We asked the concierge to organize a taxi ride to the Great Wall (it cost around $100). He was very friendly and he spoke some English. We organized other tours with him and even an airport transfer.

The Fat Duck restaurant was excellent. We had the tradiitonal Peking duck one night and it was amazing. We ate often at the concierge level. The mall is across the street from the hotel and they have many restaurants.

I went to the French cafe across the street and found it difficult to communicate with the staff. I asked for an espresso but I needed help from a fellow patron to translate. Who knew this would be so difficult?

The maid noticed that we used lots of bottles of water so we provided extra everyday for us. This was very appreciated. The staff was really great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Spacious, contemporary restaurant. Quality and selection of food was excellent, including lobster, steak and unlimited Veuve Cliquot champagne all at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennypieceReadingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,528 in Beijing
1,469 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#30 of 6,528 in Beijing
2,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,528 in Beijing
767 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#14 of 6,528 in Beijing
1,443 reviews
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#11 of 6,528 in Beijing
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel

Address: No.61 Dongsanhuan Middle Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 6,528 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £94 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 522
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why can't a business trip also be a journey full of inspiring discoveries? Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel is the ultimate lifestyle hotel in Beijing. Surrounded by upscale shopping malls, numerous of intriguing restaurants and amazing bars in Shuangjing area. The hotel puts you in the heart of Beijing Central Business District, 35 minutes away from the International Airport.Our property offers the perfect blend of comfort, with 522 spacious guest rooms including 37 well-appointed suites. Our International Chefs' team proposes a delicious international and authentic cuisine which should delight your senses. With more than 2300 square meters function space, elegantly decorated, the Renaissance Beijing Capital can satisfy all your business and social events requirements.To end a perfect day in Beijing, enjoy our signature Touch Spa and health club before letting you be pampered in our Club Lounge on the 24th floor.You spend life working. Discover the world as you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing