We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Location, Poor Cleaniness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Ranked #8 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent Location, Poor Cleaniness”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We choose the Capital Hotel because of its close proximity to the tourist sites in Beijing. It's about 10 minutes walk away from the forbidden city.

We thought the hotel was very good value for money outside the peak tourist season. The staff spoke sufficient English and were very professional. The room itself was large, with two armchairs, a desk plus chair, TV and ensuite bath and shower.

The beds were very comfortable by Chinese standards. Most hotels provide very hard mattresses but this hotel had memory foam mattresses which made for a good night's sleep.

The drain was blocked in the shower, but that was fixed promptly when we told the staff. However what we found really disconcerting was that our towels and bathrobes were never changed. We knew they had not been changed because when we arrived the two towels and two bathrobes had small brown stains on them. Despite our repeated requests, these items were not changed for three days and new items were not provided. This is not the five star service we had been expecting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mely G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    327
    44
    21
    11
See reviews for
160
171
97
802
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Nice modern hotel just one subway stop from Guomao by subway line 1 Shuangjing station (center of central business district). Just nex to hotel, located big mall. Rooms are very clean and if you are lucky room can provide amazing view over to CBD. Breakfast was good offering wide selection of western and Chinese food.

Room Tip: Ask room where is view to North
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyfishermanBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Very modern, clean hotel with excellent service. I had opportunity to eat in the executive lounge which is large and comfortable, well catered and with helpful staff. The rooms are a good size and well appointed. Personally, I don't understand the modern trend of glass-walled bathrooms that require use of blinds for separation, but as sole user of my room, this was not an issue on this occasion.

Handy location for the underground train network, which although busy, works very well and avoids the standstill traffic in the roads. The trains also cost only RMB 2 for any length journey, including interchanges.

The room had an envelope with discount vouchers for each of the restaurants. Make sure you find this before using a hotel restaurant!

I stayed only three nights, but had no concerns and a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_48098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

OverAll Excellent. TV channels and coverage excellent. Rooms and house cleaning excellent.
Minor experience was the gal at the concierge. My husband asked her to show us a location and she could not find own hotel on the map given out by the hotel..... but all the male workers at the concierge were excellent.
Worse experience was with the traffic and taxi drivers from the silk market. Difficult to get a taxi later in the evening back to your hotel or restaurants from Silk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Everything is excellent, especially the buffet breakfast; the first hotel I know has the fruit juice made in front of you with your own choice of fruits. There is a big modern mall within a few mins walk, through which you can get to the subway station. The gym room is excellent, 5-star quality, from which there is a excellent view to the north along the dongsanhuan (3rd East-ring) road towards Guomao (central business area) ... only if the weather is good.
Be aware that, the washing and bathing room is kind of 'open' type and there is a see-through curtain.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kctam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
143 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Located a few minutes from a subway station in a south eastern suburb, this western chain hotel caters well for the foreign traveller. Staff are very good and attentive and English speaking. Nice Italian restaurant and buffet breakfast exceptionally good with a range of dishes to cater for all sorts of tastes.

Rooms are of a good size and well appointed, though a little noisy if overlooking the expressway. Only bizarre aspect is the bathroom is in a sea through glass room for the main room. TV had a number of English speaking channels including CNN and BBC World.

All in all can't fault the hotel. Taxis are really cheap and cost about GBP4 and take 20 mins to sights such as the Forbidden City

Room Tip: try and avoid the rooms overlooking the expressway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phileasfoggtmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is one of those situations where I believe Trip Advisor has vastly overhyped this hotel. Overall I was very dissapointed, and consider it the worst Marriott/Renaissance I've stayed at in China thus far. They did little to nothing for platinums, and the rooms are dated. I'd choose somewhere else.


The Good Things:
-The breakfast selection was great
-Location was nice, near shopping and the metro

The Bad Things:
-Rooms are dated, somewhat dirty and seem run down. For example the wood floor in our room was so warped it was like on a hill.
-As a Platinum I was given a worse room than my non-elite friends. This was the worst (non)upgrade situation I've seen at a Marriott in China.
-The executive lounge offerings were very poor for China. The food selection was sparse, and the liquor choices were bottom barrell- not even Jack Daniels level. It seems like they were just doing the bare bones that was required.
-The English skills of the staff were less than I've seen at other Marriotts in China.
-The rooms facing the big highway get plagued with tons of honking due to the traffic starting very early.

My advice- stay away!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverCO303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,364 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,474 in Beijing
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,856 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,474 in Beijing
737 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel

Property: Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Address: No.61 Dongsanhuan Middle Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 522
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why can't a business trip also be a journey full of inspiring discoveries? Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel is the ultimate lifestyle hotel in Beijing. Surrounded by upscale shopping malls, numerous of intriguing restaurants and amazing bars in Shuangjing area. The hotel puts you in the heart of Beijing Central Business District, 35 minutes away from the International Airport.Our property offers the perfect blend of comfort, with 522 spacious guest rooms including 37 well-appointed suites. Our International Chefs' team proposes a delicious international and authentic cuisine which should delight your senses. With more than 2300 square meters function space, elegantly decorated, the Renaissance Beijing Capital can satisfy all your business and social events requirements.To end a perfect day in Beijing, enjoy our signature Touch Spa and health club before letting you be pampered in our Club Lounge on the 24th floor.You spend life working. Discover the world as you go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Marriott, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing