We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Xiang Da International Hotel
Ranked #2,019 of 6,516 Hotels in Beijing
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Some improvement”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

4th year in a row at this hotel with sporting group. Big improvement is that Wi-Fi is now available throughout the hotel so you are not anchored to the desk. Nothing much else has changed, coffee still terrible, lack of English at front desk but bearable. Western style bakery next door godsend. 600ml coke for 60cents!
Hutongs next door, market over the road, Wal Mart round the corner and Redi Teller for conveniences across the road. Hard beds but soft pillows

Room Tip: Get a room on the lower floors as wait for lifts can be lengthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LANDY31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    48
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
19
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 7 days in early May 2013. We had mixed feelings about our stay.

Pros-
*Close to the Cashikou subway station which connects you directly to the Summer Palace and Beijing Zoo. A change at Xidan will take you to Tiananmen and the other major stations.
*The subway system is incredible and very easy to navigate. Cheap as chips too! A single trip is 2yuan (30c AUD).
*There is a great bakery downstairs to the left of the entry, similar to the Bread Top style bakeries back in Australia.
*The room (suite) was spacious with a separate living room to the bedroom. The bathrooms were spotless and very stylish.
*There is a WalMart just up the road from the subway station which is great for picking up nibbles or supplies.
*Staff were relatively verse in English at reception, and what couldn't be understood through English could be communicated through myme (which is the part I love most about travelling to non-English speaking countries).
*The breakfast at the cafe downstairs (internal to the hotel) was relatively cheap (50yuan $8-9 AUD). It is the basic buffet style brekky with a range of foods. Id recommend having breakfast around the city, not just in your hotel.
*There is a bus stop just up the road where you can catch the 109 bus to Tiananmen square and down the road. I believe it runs to the Temple of Heaven, but we didn't travel down it so I can't be certain. The bus is only 1 yuan (16c AUD), paid by cash to a conductor or in a ticket machine.

Cons
*The air con in the hotel is shocking. We arrived and turned the aircon on as the room was fairly warm. Within 30mins the temperature had risen by 5 degrees and we couldnt sleep. When we paged reception the response was very prompt, but they could not find any error and suggested we just wait.... I objected and we were moved to another room. The air con in the new room was almost as bad. We had the temp set to the lowest possible and it is only just comfortable. Id recommend another hotel if you are easily affected by the heat.
*Reception staff seem rude. I am not sure if it is just the Chinese manner, but there seemed to be a lot of eye rolling and huffing when speaking to them.
*The fridge in the room is useless. Drinks need to be in there for 1-2days before they become cold.
*Room does not have any drawers or a wardrobe in the bedroom. We had to live out of our suitcases for the week.
*The room didnt have an iron or ironing board. One was brought up immediately when we asked reception.
*The bed is hard as rock, but expect that from every hotel in China.
*There is only one English TV channel which is Business news. But who the hell comes to China to sit in their hotel and watch TV?!
*The fitness centre is tucked away in a backroom on level 5. It has 4 machines and 2 treadmills. The roof is so low that if you were over 6foot you would not be able to use the treadmills without banging your head on the roof. It does have a small selection of free weights which can be tailored to suit a 'holiday gym routine'.
*The hotel is not very well known. I printed out the name of the hotel in Chinese and English, and provided a google map print out and driver still didn't know where it was. I would recommend printing out directions in Chinese.
-BE WARY OF TAXI SCAMS AT THE AIRPORT. We left Beijing airport via the official taxi rank and were expecting the taxis to be legit. We were directed to a dodgy looking driver by the security guard at the rank who offered to take us to our hotel for 600yuan ($100 AUD). If travelling to this hotel, the taxi will only cost 130yuan INCLUDING tolls ($22 AUD). Do not accept any driver telling you that it is too far or should cost anything more than 130-150yuan.
*Although the Chinese powerpoint plugs are the same as Australia, none of our electricals will insert all the way into the point. The room has a second point that is a multi region point (with no earth point). I am just thankful we had a Japanese adaptor.

I hope some of these points have been handy for you.

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget, but maybe not if you are expecting everything to be the same as a hotel back home.

Room Tip: Suite room is great for couples. Very big, 2 bathrooms, huge bed, loungeroom, no kitchen facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamezsez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable, a 15 minute bus ride from Tiananmen Square. The staff is professional with at least one person at the front desk who speaks English at a given time. There are two restaurants on the premises, including an excellent Japanese restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LALawyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I spent 7 nights in this hotel during April, 2013. It is supposedly a 4 star hotel but only in terms of cost. The rooms have worn and stained carpets; the showers have mold; the air filtration system is terrible. If it is cold outside, your room is cold. If it is hot outside, your room is hot. Complaints to the staff did not help. As far as being an international hotel, maybe, but NOT for english speaking clients. You are lucky to get anyone on the front desk that speaks a few words of english. Forget trying to ask the concierge for help. It took 20 minutes to get a taxi midday, midweek ... could have done better on the street by myself. Even though we paid for breakfast in our room rate, we were denied twice due to staff mistakes. When we tried to get credit, no one would admit to their mistakes nor credit our account. DO NOT stay here ... find another hotel.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_GaTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The one plus about this hotel is that you can take a great shower -- excellent water pressure and hot water. The room is a good size, but no dresser to put your cloths in and if you wanted to hang them up -- not enough hangers. The carpet was awful, wouldn't recommend walking on with your bear feet, needed to use the slippers provided. The bed was so hard it was like sleeping on the floor. The staff was friendly and tried to be helpful (everyone, but the housekeeping staff that is) -- for an International Hotel, they spoke next to no English, which as stated being an international hotel, you would have thought some would have spoken enough English to help you. Had trouble exchanging money at the hotel, even though they had an exchange desk, they constantly referred you to the bank across the street. For a 4 star hotel, they need to upgrade a lot and I don't just mean their the interior of the hotel. The Chinese restaurant on the 3rd floor, don't bother going -- again, no one spoke English and most things on the menu, we were told they did not have. Location was ok, but not the best, our driver couldn't find the hotel and had to stop twice to ask for directions. It was a long way from the airport and not really close to much that we were there to see. Would recommend looking for other accommodations if going to China.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betina02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel from 03/12/12-09/12/12. We were 2 Adults and 2 Kids and we stayed in a Standard Twin room. Room was big and bed could accommodate 4 of us comfortably. Location is far from nearest subway. But will be convenient for Muslim guest as there's a Muslim Supermarket and some small Muslim Restaurants nearby. Have to walk about 400metres to get to Subway and Muslim Supermarket. There's also the Nujie Mosque nearby. Reception staff was friendly on the first few days but was rude on the last day. They charge us for In House movie for 3 days when it was only suppose to be 2 days. And also on day 4 someone entered out room. There was a watch and some eye drop lying on the bedside table. When I mention it to the receptionist, then only they waive the 3rd day movie charge. And I can see from their face that they were not happy and communicated among themselves in mandarin. That was rude to talk in foreign language infront of a guest. And make sure to check your notes for authenticity infront of the reception as they do it also.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaleel28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bintulu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Do:
1) Book thru Agoda and you may just get yourself free upgrade to Twin Bed with living room, mini kitchen & study room? like ourselves. We arrived at midnight and that's probably why our booked room full.
2) Dine in at Hongji Snack Bar along Niujie Street. Take picture of rice, fried egg and chicken before you came. Show it to the waiter to order your meal. This really help to overcome the language barrier. Did I mention their chicken is delicious?
3) Leave your luggage at concierge after check out and come back later. In our case, after we made a return trip to Beijing Zoo Wholesale Market. The staff at concierge speak English better than Reception.
4) There is another lift nearby Lobby Toilet. My room is located near to this lift.
5) Walk 400m to nearby Line 4 - Caishikou Station (Exit A)
6) Always use Exit A at Caishikou Station. You may end up at Exit C or D that are located across the road.
7) Approx RMB30 to Tiananmen Square.
Don't
1) If you're travelling mostly by subway like us. I'd recommend any hotel close to Xuanwumen, Xidan or Guomao Subway Station. These are interchange station - very strategic. The last thing you need after whole day sightseeing is to walk another 400m from Subway to hotel.
2) Don't expect night life nearby.

Room Tip: High floor room that facing Guidu Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohd_Rafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,420 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,606 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,436 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#42 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,847 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,516 in Beijing
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xiang Da International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xiang Da International Hotel

Property: Xiang Da International Hotel
Address: No.169 Guang'anmennei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100053, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#278 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Xiang Da International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Xiang Da International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xiang Da International Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing