We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel and close to Temple of Heaven”
Review of Tiantan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tiantan Hotel
Ranked #2,306 of 6,491 Hotels in Beijing
Waterloo, Ia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Ok hotel and close to Temple of Heaven”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel was clean and the breakfast was pretty good. The room was pretty dark and the air conditioning had not been turned on yet, so the room was pretty warm. Overall it was a good location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDWLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    81
    67
    14
    7
See reviews for
22
25
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed her for 3 nights, I agree the rooms were not delux but were good for the price and larger than some rooms I have had in Europe. The beds were firm but got a good nights sleep. There was no Wifi but they did have ethernet. I did love the location as the freash market was only about 4 blocks away and we walked down thier to get freash fruit and steamed buns, also across from the market was an amusment park with a farris wheel.
The breakfast was good with the tipical western and asian dishes and aomelette bar (more like scrambled eggs with stuff).
The staff was helpful and arranged a taxi to take us to the SilkStreet market (20 rmb). Over all I would rate this as a 3 star.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The hotel was not bad for the area. It was in a good location BUT, no WiFi and the rooms were not all that well maintained. Carpet was not clean in any room we went into. The AC/Heat did NOT work in our room. The lobby was nice, but did not spend all that much time in it.

We did walk down the street to a bakery with a coffee shop upstairs that did have WiFi. We were on a Gate1 tour. Just posted a video that shows the hotel and bakery, and other items on Youtube at; http://youtu.be/TgzQm6afWwo

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delezynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel during a recent trip and could take it or leave it I guess. Was supposed to be 4 star but I don't think so. Maybe for Beijing but for any international standard, I would maybe give it a 3. Room and beds were small. Heat thermostat would not adjust so had to open window for "fresh air" which if you've ever been to Beijing, you know that there is not any such thing. Carpet was dirty. Front lobby of hotel was kept very cold for some reason which seemed odd. coffee shop in lobby charged 35 yuans for a tiny coffee! about 6 bucks! This seemed rediculous when you could walk a block down the street and buy a whole meal for half that amount. On a positive note, the breakfast buffet was pretty good. And it's very close (10 min walk) to the Temple of Heaven.
All in all, I would say that it's not bad but I'm sure you could do a lot better if you looked around some.

Room Tip: check out the competition first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aksasquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Traveled with a Gate 1 group. Upon our arrival, we were given a room with a double bed (wanted twin). Checked the bathroom and discovered a leak. Contacted our tour guide and she made the arrangements to change the room. Bus boy helped us with the baggage. Very helpful.
The lighting in the room was dismal. The lowest wattage bulbs were used and I do believe that it was done, so that you wouldn't notice the filthy carpets. The bed was hard, but I didn't mind. On a whole the room was clean. There are no draws in the room; however, they do provide conventors (a plus). The hotel also provides robes and slippers. I place a great deal of emphasis on having WiFi. None is available at this hotel, and they charge for internet service.The carpet in the main dining room needs to be replaced, because it's past the shampoo stage. We order soup to go, but they didn't have containers. They gave it to us in bowls, but allowed the waitress to bring it to our rooms.(a plus). Breakfast was an eye opener. To Westerners it would be lunch or dinner.If you like cold cuts and cheese you can make do. If you like your coffee strong, bring your own. The provided the first two bottles of water free. I don't know how much they charged for water, because we brought it from our bus driver (2 for a dollar). The location was not important to us because we went to our various locations by bus. (Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and the Beijing Zoo, the pandas). The staff were helpful, but I would not recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: I can't recommend one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackpot8160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Carrollton, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Hotel room was clean except the carpet was badly worn. Lighting in bathroom was very poor. Good water pressure and plenty of hot water. However, no airconditioning, but pop out window offered some relief. Opening the window also allows the Beijing smog to enter and the street noise is bad until after midnight. Thank goodness it was in the 30's outside or we would have been very uncomfortable during our stay. Buffet breakfast was crowded with our tour and another tour group along with a wedding party trying to eat at the same time. Food was very good, though. The wait staff at breakfast, the front desk and lobby bar staff seemed overwhelmed most of the time. However, they were friendly and spoke English. One window was out on the second floor with a piece of plywood covering the window when we arrived on our bus.

The lobby was cold most of the time so you had to sit with your coat on in the lounge area. In the US, they would have rated a 2 star.

Room Tip: The hotel needs to be updated. If you choose to stay here go in the winter or early spring. The su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busytraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 542 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I was in room 727.
The Good: Located near Temple of Heaven Park. Located near pearl market and shopping and a very good authentic noodle restaurant and convenience store. They provide two small bottles of water in the bathroom each day. Water in on minibar is expensive. Nice hard bed and bedding was clean. Toothbrushes, combs, shampoo, shower gel, lotion provided in bathroom. Hi speed internet using provided ethernet cable. Large selection of western and Chinese foods offered at breakfast. The bad: Not a four star hotel. Room maintenance/housekeeping left much to be desired. Mini frig empty. Only two tea bags provided. No coffee service. Water kettle rusty. Safe didn’t work. Tub drain plug didn’t work. Very poor in-room lighting. No wifi. Only one English TV channel (CNN.) And, as other reviews have mentions, you will be asked about missing items (even when housekeeping didn’t provide.)Slow elevator. Smokers in hotel. Caution should be used when crossing streets. Bicycles and motor scooters do not stop for anything, even crosswalk signals. It is just best to cross the street when there is no oncoming traffic in ANY direction. If you found this review helpful, please click on “Yes.” Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kitchenchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Springs Valley Hotel
Springs Valley Hotel
#3,380 of 6,491 in Beijing
79 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,491 in Beijing
2,595 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Jianguo Hotel Qianmen Beijing
Jianguo Hotel Qianmen Beijing
#181 of 6,491 in Beijing
336 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#150 of 6,491 in Beijing
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiantan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiantan Hotel

Property: Tiantan Hotel
Address: No.1 Tiyuguan Road, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100061, China
Region: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#309 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiantan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tiantan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiantan Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing