We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Tiantan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tiantan Hotel
Ranked #2,305 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
UK
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Another Wendy Wu Tours chosen hotel. Good location for Metro (for Silk Street Market) and the The Pearl Market (Hongqiao Market) just down the road. Good small sports shops across the road. Good value hotel. Room a little tired but clean. Hair-drier didn't work but was quickly changed. Lobby good to hang out in with the group and a drink after the days travels. Breakfast was good, both Chinese and western. Eggs to order. Beware of the morning business rush. No chance of a seat. There is a Foot Massage business in the car park of the hotel. It looks a bit dubious but both my wife and I went there together in a double treatment room and had an excellent full foot massage for £15 each. Great before or after the Great Wall!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunchasingbrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    81
    65
    14
    7
See reviews for
22
24
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washingtoon, DC
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel could use some updating in the hallways, they were very dark, though the rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff was very good and the location was central to various tourist locations and

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miliner9113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

The staff was courteous. The food in both hotel restaurants was good. Nice selection of Chinese and Western food in the morning. Rooms were a bit "worn." They were clean. The bed was much more comfortable than I thought it would be....

Walking distance to the Pearl Market and Temple of Heaven.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Elissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Tiantan hotel had fairly spacious rooms with fresh linens and towels daily. The mattress and pillows were extremely firm, but normal for China. The bathroom was large and modern. The only complaint I would have is that the breakfast area has very limited seating. The quality and variety of the food in the breakfast was great. The lobby was spacious and had plenty of seating. Very important as the wifi is only available in the lobby. The staff is helpful and the location good. Across the parking lot was a massage house which is very convenient. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfamilyTulsa_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is an older hotel that is going through renovations. But I found it to be reasonably priced, clean and in a good location. It is quiet at night, but the sounds of traffic and renovation work make it difficult to sleep in. The buffet food is good, but gets a bit repetitive after a few days. Its close to the metro, several parks, the pearl market and shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 448andyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I can understand a hard mattress. It is actually good for the back. They also provide 2 bottles of water. However, the sink faucet was all scratched we thought it was dirty. The bathroom hangers were broken, and the shower curtain leaked water through and always got the water flowing across the whole bathroom. The breakfast had ample Chinese food choices, and they made omelettes. It is a 15 minute walk to Temple of Heaven, which I think is what the hotel is named for in Chinese. A neat feature are robes and slippers, plus gas masks for emergency, in case of a chemical attack ??? On our second day, one towel had a hole in it. The charger was also neat. I wish those types of plugs are international standards. See my pictures.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soverdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I will definitely come again. Staff couldn't do enough for us.
Quiet halls at night. VERY helpful in all things. Very Quick
money exchange. I spent a lot. I walked several blocks to
the Park and saw people ballroom dancing at 7 am. We
had to eat with other foreigners and were not allowed in the
segregated Chinese restaurants. The buffet in morning was
interesting, and Beer offered. They do offer the usual, but
also some odd Western items for breakfast! So enjoyed it,
and Staff willing to help in any way. Others in our Group were
elsewhere, and their food was awful. Please stay here; I totally
enjoyed doing a Single Upgrade.

Room Tip: Go with a Group associated with medical or high end, LOOK at the room first. I had a room that face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BootsiesMom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Springs Valley Hotel
Springs Valley Hotel
#3,380 of 6,483 in Beijing
79 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Chongwenmen
Jianguo Hotel Qianmen Beijing
Jianguo Hotel Qianmen Beijing
#172 of 6,483 in Beijing
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,593 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#154 of 6,483 in Beijing
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiantan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiantan Hotel

Property: Tiantan Hotel
Address: No.1 Tiyuguan Road, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100061, China
Region: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#309 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tiantan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tiantan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiantan Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing