We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Templeside Deluxe Hutong House Hotel
Ranked #25 of 937 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Templeside was a pleasant quiet stay. We had 2 adults, 4 children stay in a 3 bunk room with private bathroom. It was clean and quiet. It's a 15min walk (holding the slowest one) to subway station,we timed it. With the kids normal pace it would take 20/25min. We got to see a lot of interesting things and try food along the way so we didn't mind too much. Took the tour to the wall using templeside. The tour was good, usual stops along the way at tea houses etc for you to buy would have liked more time at the wall (2hours not enough, 3 would be perfect) and less at the shopping stops along the way. Templeside hutong accomodation have 2 sites. Initially we made the booking at templeside deluxe, changed our rooms a few months later and didn't realise that the new rooms were not at the deluxe version. Never saw the deluxe but apparently it was just around the corner. Would have liked to have been told about the change of venue out of courtesy. Only found out by accident from another couple enquiring as to why they had been put somewhere else. (did wonder where the court yard was!). We were happy where we were though so let it drop. Still good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask what site your room is in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwienvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    36
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
21
31
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunnthal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Located within a traditional Hutong near to Beijing´s City Center, Templeside offers easy acess to both, modern and traditional Beijing.
The Hutong is full of small streets with markets and different tasty foodstalls.
The rooms open into an traditional courtyard.
Staff is nice and very helpfull. The dumpling night -every Monday- when you make and eat
Chinese dumplings, was a welcome surprise.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc metro
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed two nights in Deluxe house VIP room. It was great for family with two young adult children. Staff was so helpful in arrangements - we had a bit of trouble getting onward train reservations but they tried alternatives. Bobby was our driver to Great Wall - we left very early to beat crowds and heat - didn't matter since our jet lag had us awake early anyway. We met his wife and young daughter during our stay as well. They had great suggestion for local resturant Peking Duck just a short walk away. Simple breakfast was easy in morning so no need to look. Other guests so friendly too. Photos posted by others are representative.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janddmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Whe've stayed in this beautiful guesthouse for 6 nights, and it was great. The layed back atmosphere, the other backpackers and the staff of Templeside made us feel at home.

This guesthouse is located in one of the few remaining authentic neighborhoods of Beijing, which are a lust to the eye. There are a lot of small restaurants in the area which serve the best Chinese food. Besides, the guesthouse is also located near a subway stop, so you'll be in the city center within minutes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dezz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a great stay with Bobby and co., they are really helpful and friendly. The location is great, you get a taste of real Beijing. The dumpling night was really fun too. We'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We booked the Templeside Hotel through agoda.com and planned to arrive late at night (which we indicated in our booking). However, upon arrival we were told that there wasn't a room for us at the hotel - they had moved us to another property a "short walk away," which didn't feel particularly short after a full day of travel at 1am.

Essentially, the owner, Bobby, had gotten a more lucrative booking after we had reserved the room, and bumped us. He said that he attempted to contact us through agoda.com.

While I understand that exigencies may arise after a guest makes a reservation (even if that exigency is generated by avarice), I was infuriated by Bobby's unwillingness to accept responsibility for the situation. He repeated claimed the fault lay with agoda.com (he accepted "10% of the blame") and even reminded us that we had put them out by arriving late at night.

The property itself is nice enough; I would give it 4 stars if the booking had been seamless.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Niels T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We wanted to see inside a hutong so staying in one seemed like a good idea. It is a big hard to find, especially in the dark and there was construction in the alley. Back home we don't wander down dark alleys but this neighbourhood seemed very safe and the residents were friendly enough to walk us right to the door of the hotel. It is a bit of a walk to the subway station but there are interesting shops along the way. Bobby and his staff were great. We tried to buy tickets for the train by ourselves which was a dismal failure but Bobby got us train tickets and opera tickets. Thank you Bobby for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsalot35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Red Capital Residence
Red Capital Residence
#800 of 6,492 in Beijing
34 reviews
Houhai
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
#122 of 6,492 in Beijing
127 reviews
Houhai
DuGe Boutique Hotel
DuGe Boutique Hotel
#470 of 6,492 in Beijing
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#37 of 6,492 in Beijing
490 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#79 of 6,492 in Beijing
257 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templeside Deluxe Hutong House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templeside Deluxe Hutong House Hotel

Property: Templeside Deluxe Hutong House Hotel
Address: No.2 Baita Alley, Zhaodengyu Road, Xicheng District | No.2 Baita Alley, Ping'an Alley, Zhaodengyu Road, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 937 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Templeside Deluxe Hutong House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new deluxe hutong traditional house, run by the trustable team from Beijing Templeside House, which is the No.1 winner in 2007 in all China, voted by all hostelworld customers! Beijing Templeside Deluxe is a 'Si He Yuan'(a compound with houses around a square courtyard)hotel in a comfortable pure Chinese style with Qing dynasty characteristics.There are seven guest rooms and a beautiful covered courtyard as a multi-function hall.All rooms have air conditioning, Internet service, phone, TV, and even a ice fridge. The house is decorated with handmade colored paintings, antiques, traditional style wooden furniture, and various kinds of handicrafts.Our honored guests can enjoy the beauty of Chinese culture and arts here.We will have free dumpling making show for guests every Monday. Every Thursday afternoon, we have a free tour to explore our local hutong neighborhood. Living here can help you get a better understanding of Beijing's local life. You could never get the same feeling and traveling experience from any other places. Wandering in the long and puzzling hutong, smiling to lovely local neighbors, seeing the blue sky in the no-roof courtyard, hearing the whistle from swiftly flying-by doves, watering the garden, walking the dog, the Templeside house gives you 'a glimpse of what life in the city is really like'. The hotel located in the center of Beijing. It is about 30 mins walking to the Forbidden city, Bei Hai park, Tian An Men and most important sightseeing places. Over 20 buses and subway around the hotel make all traveling very easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Templeside Deluxe Hutong House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Templeside Deluxe Hutong Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing