We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent rooms,horrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Schonbrunn Hotel Beijing
Ranked #2,161 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Usually you take the service attitude here in Beijing with a grain of salt but for an international hotel as they claim to be, the service was one of the worst i’ve ever encountered。 The rooms are spectacular though, one of the best i‘ve stayed in China - new and bright, nice thoughtful details throughout。

HOWEVER - when we first checked in, the front desk was extremely impatient and impolite, at one point even accused us for faking the reservation when we clearly presented all confirmations。The first night when we returned to our hotel we found that our keycards did not work, front desk told us it was because we only booked one night and locked our room with all the stuff in it until we pay up。 We showed them the reservation of two nights, again, more accusations and a rather rude demand of extra deposit of 500RMB when we were not told of that the first day。We were so tired of this ongoing rude attitude we didn’t even bother clarifying。

Nice hotel but I would not go back as paying customer ever again。

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank iczi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2010

We stayed at the Schonbrunn Hotel in Beijing with a group of 20 Americans including two small children. The check in process was a little long as they were accommodating changes to our room type. We ended up with most of us in a room with one queen sized bed and some people in a room with two double beds. The Queen rooms were small, but well appointed. The hotel was fairly new and was immaculately clean. The bed was comfortable - certainly the best bed we slept in while in China. A bit firm, but no where near many of the other hotels we stayed at. It was a bit odd that there was a window from the bathroom into the bedroom. There was a shade you could pull for more privacy which I found after having the people who were across from us watch me pee after we arrived and threw the window open to let the sun in. oopse. The double rooms were huge. Even for American standards they were quite large and certainly some of the largest rooms we found in China. The hotel is just off of the fourth ring high way. Our group had rooms facing the high way and facing the courtyard. There were not any complaints about noise.

While we stayed there we also borrowed a wheel chair from the hotel for free. The staff was very helpful in getting taxis and helping us find where we might want to go. There were always a couple of staff at the door to greet you when you came back.

The one downfall is that there isn't a lot within walking distance to the hotel. My husband is Chinese (born and raised in China, not Chinese-American) and even he would not eat at the restaurants across the highway from the hotel. On the same side of the highway about a 5min walk away there is a shopping mall type place with a food court and some noodle restaurants. We ate there once during the trip and bought jackets for the unexpected cold weather.

We got a very good deal paying about 380 Chinese Yuan per night. It was very close to the Summer Palace and the Bird's Nest, but a bit of a drive from other more central Beijing sites. The hotel mentioned that there was a metro line that we could take a bus to, but we didn't try it. They did have free high speed internet in the rooms - via ethernet cable, not wifi. There was free wifi in the lobby, but I could not get my iPhone to work with it most of the time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LexaPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

I stayed at the Schonbrunn as part of a small workshop. It is very nice in some respects, and lacking in others. The biggest issue was that it lost power in a windstorm shortly after I arrived and they didn't seem very prepared for the outage. Rooms had battery-powered emergency flashlights but neither hallways nor stairways had any emergency illumination. Also, the cold water was a trickle (no shower after my flight!). A hotel like this, just a year old, should have a UPS with some emergency power to run lights and the water pump. I have a medical device that needs power, so they wound up taking me to the nearby Sheraton Four Points, a nicer hotel but over twice the cost. While I thought the Schonbrunn was covering it, it seems it was actually an arrangement with the workshop organizer to pay for it, which didn't seem fair. Returning to the Schonbrunn the next morning, I couldn't get a taxi to take me at first, until I had them phone the hotel for directions -- no one knows where this place is! They graciously upgraded me to a suite for the rest of my stay, which was very kind of them. But, there were other glitches, such as no bellman available when someone was checking in. Still, the staff is friendly and earnest. On the whole I would probably stay there again given the bang for the buck, so to speak.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FDFromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yuito1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Schützen Sie Ihre Gesundheit, gehen Sie in ein anderes Hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SirToby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank yumiblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LettuceEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Jiuxianqiao
Rosedale Hotel & Suites Beijing
Rosedale Hotel & Suites Beijing
#2,053 of 6,606 in Beijing
279 reviews
Yuanda Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
#7 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,124 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,297 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schonbrunn Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schonbrunn Hotel Beijing

Address: No.125 West Fourth Ring Northern Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100195, China
Region: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,161 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £46 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schonbrunn Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Schonbrunn Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing