We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beijing, China”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Line Hotel (Harmony)
Ranked #2,611 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beijing, China”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Hotel is very basic, but clean and well maintained, reasonable priced with internet. Great for exploring the city, close to railway station and main Post office with some food stores and restaurants nearby, around 20-30 minutes walk to the Forbidden City and around 20 minutes to a huge modern shopping center. Hotel has a restaurant downstairs - tried only broccoli with some wacky sauce but it was fantastic! lot's of other restaurants close by or some distance from the hotel. Traveling by cab is great fun - I loved it!, very inexpensive, drivers don't speak any English so ask in a hotel to write down your destination/s on a piece of paper, never seen cars like that in my life, driver keeps talking to you in Chinese but who cares, basically it's a big mess but like I said before I loved it. Beijing is very safe for foreign visitors - severe punishments for robbing/assaulting any foreign tourist. Staff in a hotel very helpful, English no problem, rooms cleaned daily, decent bathroom. Overall great stay, comfy beds, had a good night sleep. Would recommend this hotel to anybody interested more in sightseeing and exploring the city rather then staying in a luxury 5* hotel and paying top dollar for it. Chose this hotel because of close proximity to the Forbidden City and value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    82
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
16
46
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel is clean but plain. There is free wifi available in the rooms. It has a great location for catching trains to Mongolia.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SbearCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The harmony hotel was a nice comfortable stay for us. Granted the rooms are small and the beds are twin beds, so only two people should stay in even a room with two beds. The beds are quite hard, so if you are used to nice soft comfortable beds be aware that you won't get that here. The staff is nice and helpful and generally the place was quite clean. Close to metro stations so convenient to get to most places. Nothing special, but if you just need a place to rest your head for a few nights this place will work! By the way, there is the most delicious dumpling place next door!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seetheworld979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel was booked for us by Intrepid as part of their original beijing city break. We were given a twin instead of a double, but when we called reception they did sort it quickly for us (maybe helped that we are a married couple, but not sure why they gave us a twin in the first place - it was a twin where beds could not be pushed together). The second room was fine - also worn, not attractive at all, but fine. Quite large with a big fridge and a safe. The shower worked well but leaked all over the floor so we had to use up a lot of towels each day to mop up! We didn't ask for it to be fixed so I don't know what the response would have been. Staff at reception were variable and I would not describe them as enthusiastic, but generally were fine and did call us taxis and so on when we asked. The lobby area is quite attractive.

The hotel is opposite a convenience store which was really handy for water and breakfast items to put in the fridge. However there was really nothing else good about the location. From reading previous reviews I was under the impression that the hotel was really near Wangfujing street - it is s good 20min walk there, and not necessarily easy to find (we missed it entirely one night). After a long day sightseeing it was too far for us to walk (and we walk a lot!) There is nothing to see on the way. We discovered that the Beijing subway system is fantastic and easy to use - however, the hotel is still not really well connected with the subway. There is Beijing railway station nearby, but needs a change just to get to wangfujing area, so not convenient really. Taxis are cheap but traffic in beijing is a major problem and it takes ages to get anywhere.

If on a budget I think this hotel would be fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsluxuryexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Well this hotel wasn't horrible, I stayed in much worse, it just was incredibly underwhelming. Our room was unusually large compared to our friends who were staying at the hotel, but was equally ugly. After booking a double room, and being placed in a twin, it was too hard for them to understand why two men wanted a double bed at 2am when we checked in.

The Beijing authorities may find the missing stone from the Great Wall in the bed mattresses at the hotel, really, really, really hard - the place should be called the Hard-mony.

The area the hotel is located may be convent to the attractions, but its really on the wrong end of town, too far from Wangfujing to make it easy to get to at night - the local area is not one you want to be around late at night. There isn't much choice in the local area for dinner - unless you want McDonalds or Chinese-Chain Store take away.

The views of the China Post Beijing Depot across from the hotel are to be enjoyed if you like views of dark green trucks, and the staff were uncharacteristically un-helpul - throughout our trip we found the Chinese people a delight to deal with - but at Harmony, everything was a real effort for them.

Stay here for a night, when visiting the Forbidden City if you must, but there are so many better choices in Beijing.

Room Tip: Lower floors, there is no view to speak of up high and the lifts take too long otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendanmeilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Ireland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed here twice, both times as part of an overlanding group. Hotel is in a good spot, 2 minutes walk from the main train station (not Beijing West) Its also very close to Wanfujing, Tiananmen Square etc. Staff were not particularly friendly.

Rooms are average, beds are like rocks. Literally. (I know beds in China are generally alot harder but these were like blocks of cement.). Bathroom was fine but very old and like the room, very dated. The shower leaked all over the floor.

Worst thing is the entire hotel absolutely reeks of cigarettes once you go upstairs, including in the rooms. So I wouldnt recommend this place if you particularly dislike the smell of smoke.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepudtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The Harmony is a below standard 3 star hotel with a tired facade that needs updating and our twin share room 711 was average, as was the breakfast. The ceiling was cracked and had been repatched badly. Beds were like rocks but please note that most beds are hard in China and 3 star accommodation is less than you would expect in other places in the world. Having said that, I must praise the staff for their helpfulness with a couple of small problems we had with a broken pipe in the bathroom and a broken toilet flush handle. The housekeeping staff did not speak much english but that did not stop them from giving very fast and efficient service to attend to our problems, which were actioned within 15 minutes and fixed within 30. Well done!

Our room was spacious, with a safe and wi-fi throughout the hotel. We had no wi-fi device so used the internet which could be purchased from the business centre for 1 yuan per minute.

The Harmony is very centrally located near the Beijing railway station and a short walk from the New World shopping centre if you need to pick up a few groceries or check out the retail shops. Don't forget to look down as you can enjoy the ice skating whilst shopping!. Local shops across the road are handy for water (not provided in the room) and other supplies, restaurants are easy to walk to and ATM machines are handy. We had an interesting view of a hutong from our window and enjoyed watching the activity in the street from early till late.

An ok hotel but I believe China Odyssey Tours can do better next time!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandylem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Hunan Mansion
Hunan Mansion
#637 of 6,473 in Beijing
11 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Jingu Qilong Hotel
Jingu Qilong Hotel
#3,560 of 6,473 in Beijing
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
#93 of 6,473 in Beijing
347 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#146 of 6,473 in Beijing
751 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Line Hotel (Harmony)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Line Hotel (Harmony)

Property: City Line Hotel (Harmony)
Address: No.9 Youtong Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,611 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Line Hotel (Harmony) 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Line Hotel (Harmony) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Harmony Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing