We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Day Tour Guide Leo Kong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hiking the Wall - Day Tours

Hiking the Wall - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Private Great Wall Hiking from Jiankou to Mutianyu
Ranked #28 of 127 Outdoor Activities in Beijing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: we are a Great Wall hike tour operator based in Beijing and have trekked extensively to authentic Ming Dynasty Great Wall, and mountains in China.We specialize in access to off-limits places, steer you away from the tourist traps, tailor fresh experiences for any personality and specific interests.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One Day Tour Guide Leo Kong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

It was a real Highlight visiting the Great Wall, Ming Tombs, Forbidden City, Panda House & the Hootons recently. Our tour guide Leo Kong was fantastic as he really made the tour quite enjoyable. His English and local knowledge was very good with a great sense of humour ! If you ever visit Beijing look him up as you know you will be in good hands. Thank-you Leo for a truly great Beijing experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Taylors42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    23
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Wall hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The immensity of the wall is outstanding. If you do visit it, bring good walking boots or trainers(sneakers), and you have to take the slide for the descent!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ktreacyplumbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Raw part of The Great Wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This part of The Great Wall has been left untouched for a long time. I went for overnight camping in one of the tower of this section. My tour group ordered dinner from local people who delivered the meal up to the tower. The sunset and sunrise scenery was absolutely beautiful. It was one of the best hike in my life.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramli_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“"Not a man until you come to the Great Wall! "”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I experienced the essence of this saying myself when I visited the Great Wall for the first time today. Going from one tower to the next on the Great Wall takes only 10 minutes at the most. Nevertheless, I was already sweating by the end of hitting three towers on this sunny breezy day in spring when it was only 2 degrees C.outdoors. The challenge was the height of each step. It is at least three times higher than the usual steps in a 'regular' staircase. In other words, one indeed has to 'climb' the stairs, not just 'walk' the stairs. The good news is that I passed the test for healthy heart functioning and enjoyed the scenery of cherry blossom and this symbol of China's rich history.

P.S. As I came downhill, I discovered a trail hidden behind the bushes which is much less steep compared to the Great Wall itself, and it was a good option for someone who wants to enjoy the mountaintop at the Great Wall but not its steep staircase.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank goodtime4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

After a steep 1-2 hours hike up to the top of the wall you simply get blown away from this fascinating view. I really loved this section of the wall as it hasn't been renovated at all and you can really feel the history. I recommend going up early (I left Beijing at around 5:30am) to beat the crowd. My guide and I've been walking around the wall for about 4 hours and we've only met about 10 people. But as soon as we got closer to the Mutianyu section it got very crowded.
It's way easier to get to this section with a tour guide. However it would also be possible to go to Mutianyu by bus the day before, stay at one of the hostels / hotels for the night and get up early the next morning. Like this you can go up the restored section and walk over to the unrestored. You'll have enough time to spend at least a couple of hours at Jiankou before going back to the hostel / Beijing. And it's much cheaper, too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bovese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hiking the Wall - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hiking the Wall - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing