We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular ambience and service to match”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Ranked #27 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This stunning hotel will remain as one of the top I have stayed in. Little touches of attention work well and the staff are respectful, insightful and informative. Ms May Tang is the Executive Assistant Manager/Rooms and a delightful resource. Peter the convierge is attentive and informative. The Legendale is a legend in its own time. I loved the pool; the rooms are exquisite in their appointment and cleanliness. The Baroque French Theatre of the entire space is spectacular. The bathrooms are salubrious and our check in at 2.30am was without a glitch! This is a truly 5star plus venue and accessible to most tourist sights - I am delighted to say I am returning for a longer stay in 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that can access the Noble Lounge if at all possible. It might cost a few dollars more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarquam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

Beijing is not Beijing without staying at the Legendale Hotel. I will take off my hat in front of the Staff that are well known as Very Friendly and Hospitable. Specially May, Anna, Jack, Sony, Catherine and over all the rest of the staff. You will leave the hotel and right away you will miss the beautiful property and the great service from all the staff. Going to Beijing and not staying at the Legendale is like going to a garden not seeing roses. Thank You May & Anna for making our trip an amazing one. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wroque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is a beautiful hotel however the service from the reception staff was extremely poor. Got in at about 2am and it took around 1 hr to check in and it was all done without one smile from the young female receptionist. Also dealt with her several times later and got the same bad service. Extremely slow, cranky and unpleasant. Be prepared to have a large hold placed on your credit card at check in 5000 Yuan per room. We had booked 3 rooms and had to put 15000 Yuan on credit card so if you plan to shop with card allow for that. (Hold was cleared at check out) Cleaning of the rooms also left a lot to be desired, however this was addressed after a complaint to management. Thank you to May. Overpriced food at the hotel Portuguese restaurant final bill did not reflect prices on menu, French restaurant was good. Buffet breakfast was ok. Coffee/tea/bathroom amenities not replaced daily, cups etc not washed. Bathroom flooded due to the shower being blocked. Room service was a problem as they could not understand English. The hotel itself is great. Loved the health spa/pool but be aware that you need to wear swim caps in the pool in Beijing. Also note it’s difficult to get taxis from this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinkpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed here with business colleagues in April 2012. We stayed on the 16th Floor and had views over the Forbidden City. The service was first class throughout from May and her team, nothing was too much trouble. I had three meals in the hotel during my five day stay, two in the Portuguese restaurant. One of my colleagues is Portuguese and said it was just like the food back home, it was really very very good. I ate once in the Chinese restaurant and again the food was excellent. The three front of house staff spoke excellent english, one was American, one Swedish and May is Chinese. The hotel is in a completly safe area and some fifteen minutes walk from the Forbidden City and ten minutes from the night market ( a must see). The rooms were really comfy and there is not a bad thing I could say about the hotel. Going back to Beijing in July and will be staying there again

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the quality of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fletchManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

If you like going out onto the street to get you own taxi; if you like a small breakfast selection with stale bread; if you like 1000rmb/night deposit (ontop of your room charge); and if you like Chinese speaking only staff that won't help you get anywhere, this is the hotel for you.

If you prefer 5 star service for your 5 star money walk across the street to the Regent.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mav256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The wife and I stayed two nights in a junior suite. The hotel is very well located, the rooms quite big, bed very comfy, service is good, and staff mostly speak English.

So why only average rating?

The price is way to high for the quality you get, and the quality is pretty much fake French luxury, with emphasis on fake. Open one of the commodes in the hallway, and you find it is made out of plywood (or MDF), the drawers do not fit properly (and are empty) - that pretty much sums up this hotel.

The books in our room where fake, ok, one was real (and quite interesting Chinese literature, probably an oversight on the hotels behalf), but the rest just empty shells. It is crazy. I read somewhere that they imported antiques from France, but did not see any.

Breakfast is horrible.

This place is NOT worth the money. Stay away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Legendale is well positioned in Beijing and is easy to get both to and around from. The rooms are spacious and clean and make for a comfortable stay. The staff are friendly and accommodating and are quick to try and help. Most of them speak English to some degree; something that is not that common among some other higher end hotels in the city. Would have no issue booking into this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ykbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#33 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,561 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,482 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#25 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#8 of 6,556 in Beijing
574 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#41 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legendale Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legendale Hotel Beijing

Address: No.90-92 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £131 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Legendale Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legendale Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing