We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely disengaged”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Ranked #27 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was so looking forward to my stay in Beijing and this Hotel having been completely spoilt in India. The Hotel is very pretty and is in a good position in Beijing. However from the moment I stepped in side the hotel until I left, the staff were completely disinterested and disengaged with the English speaking customers. The room was slightly dirty with light switches and skirting boards marked. The coffee and other facilities were not replaced and after four hours my room was not cleaned. As a solo guest at breakfast time I was always sent to another room away from the other guests as it had a table for two. Not a great feeling. The hotel has a very dull feeling to it. I could not wait to leave!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Built for the Olympics, this Belle Epoque style hotel is a genuine 5 Star. Awesome lobby and attentive staff (though English can be a problem at times). When we visited it was strangely empty which did not contribute to the atmosphere!
Buffet style food was very good indeed and there was a choice of restaurants on the premises. The Molly Malone pub was ok, high prices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommywelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel was excellent--looks like an old hotel, turned out to have been built for the 2008 Olympics. There were people in it, but they seemed sparse. Not much of a view from anywhere, but light and quiet. What we particularly appreciated was how above-and-beyond-the-call-of-duty, in our view, the concierge staff were--with suggestions, phone calls, writing down addresses, even walking us a block away from the hotel to a cheaper restaurant than any place that was obviousl Their English was serviceable to excellent, their willingness always excellent. Julia and Rick

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 10Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

European style architecture inside and outside. The service is decent. The rooms are clean and spacious. Walking distance to Wangfujing area and tiananmen square.

The traffic is a bit tricky there as the surrounding is always crowded.

Room Tip: I stayed at the executive room, all rooms are decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- decent-sized room
- cleanliness
- comfort
- 15 mns walking distance from the forbidden city
- excellent facilities
- good chinese style breakfast
- decent restaurants

Cons:
- as often in Beijing, the hotel staff mostly have a poor level of english...something you would not be expecting at a 5 star hotel

Thank Jcsvet
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 April 2014

As a young traveller, my friends and I decided to splash out on this exquisite hotel for the last night of our Easter trip to Beijing. The first thing I can say is that this hotel truly lives up to its name. Both the exterior and the interior scream grandeur, decadence and excessive opulence and makes guests feel like they are in a palace. If the visuals don't sway you, fear not, for the staff here are incredibly friendly and always willing to help. A personal thanks to the lady who runs the business centre for kindly helping me with my flights and for the concierge who organised a taxi to the airport for me at 5am, My room was incredibly comfortable, the decoration and attention to detail is very noticeable and one can't help but me intrigued by the French-style design. The Portuguese and French restaurants are a tad overpriced but the hotel's annexed Irish pub 'Molly Malone's', will more than suffice for those on a lesser budget. The health suite is fantastic with a particular mention to the hot Jacuzzi. A good location, a 5 minute walk from the famous night market and all the local and designer shops, this is a great hotel for a short stay that gives one an insight into Beijing's high end area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarke1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It's an amazing Hotel. Total luxury. The entrance way is really stunning.Two enormous grand staircases lead up to the second floor.

The service was impeccable! When we arrived a very friendly Concierge greeted us, lead us to our room and asked if it would be sufficient, the room was incredible! She also informed us if we needed assistance with our planned activities she would be available.

A breakfast buffet was included and choices were wide, varied and delicious. Even the coffee was remarkable!

I couldn't log on to the WiFi in the room so I called Guest Services. Within minutes they brought in a small WIFI router, installed it in seconds and I logged in right away.

This is the type of hotel that will cater to your every whim, with a smile!
Don't hesitate to stay here, you deserve it...right?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Renaissance Beijing Wangfujing Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#28 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,741 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#33 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#43 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,984 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legendale Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legendale Hotel Beijing

Address: No.90-92 Jinbao Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £128 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Legendale Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Legendale Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing