We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK in some things, poor in others”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Liaoning International Hotel
Ranked #380 of 6,492 Hotels in Beijing
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK in some things, poor in others”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The hotel services are adequate, although there were occasional oversights that were corrected when we complained. The availability of a sport center with a good size pool is definitely a plus. I would have given it a higher ranking if not for three important issues:
(a) The hotel is planned and built only for car access. there is no pedestrian walkway into/out of it. In fact, exit to nearby city streets is blocked and you need to take a detour through the road that runs parallel to the highway. It is OK if you come for one night but a great discomfort if you stay there for longer period as we did (working nearby).
(b) The hotel claims to have wired internet. Indeed, when you connect your computer it indicates connectivity, however the speed is so low (not only for google services) that it is practically unusable most of the time. For this reason alone I would recommend to avoid this hotel if you plan on using internet connection.
(c) Breakfast buffet is the best I have seen in China. However, if your room does not include it, they charge you 138 Yuan for it. I there is plenty of alternatives nearby, except see point (a) above.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anitzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    73
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
7
3
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My family has been here since the beginning of July. My husband is teaching at the university.
I am writing this because this afternoon, an explicitly graphic PROSTITUTE service business card
was slipped under the door of our room. Other colleagues we talked to told us they have been finding these for the past week. I confronted the manager and he said he was sorry!
My understanding is that Prostitution is illegal in China and strictly monitored. This hotel cannot be considered a safe environment when they are having their staff place these cards in guest rooms!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This hotel is being renovated and as such, the facilities available is limited. The wall paper in my room requires immediate replacement. The windows also need doublt gazed to keep away the noise from the nearby railways. Its location is outside the city centre but close to airport and universities. While the breakfast and the room rate is reasonable with comfortable bed, I would only stay here for its proximity to the universities nearby after renovation till end of this year.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed here with my spouse for a university-related trip and found the rooms to be large and overall accommodations to be clean and comfortable. The rooms and hotel in general are a bit frayed on the edges, but the staff are friendly and the people at the front desk have a reasonable command of English (a point that is much appreciated if you don't speak any Mandarin). The buffet breakfast is nice with a wide variety of Chinese and Western food. The hotel just started renovations in the lobby and cafe which is noisy and loud, and it's unclear how long renovations will take. Also, the internet connection is frustratingly slow but this seems typical of the region. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to visitors, particularly for access to the universities in the area.

Food must: take a taxi to the nearest Din Tai Fung at Modern Plaza, No. 40, Zhongguancun St., Haidian District (take elevator to Food Court on the 7th floor)!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galaxy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
814 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

After the horrendous WuKe Hotel experience, I changed to the Liaoning. It is very conveniently located by the Chinese Academy of Sciences, other universities, as well as different tech companies.

It is clear that some of the luster from Royal King times has faded with the new management. It does not seem that investments are made to the property, i.e., it is a matter of time until it disappears.

The rooms are spacious and nice. Things are clean, however, some of the infrastructure is crumbling. Several of the vendors in the hotel mall are gone with only the gym left (which you can use for free if you stay at the hotel). If you get the government rate it is about 500 RMB/night (breakfast included) which is a good price. Otherwise they will ask for close to 1000 RMB, at which point it is not worth it. Note that the beds are hard.

As stated elsewhere, stay on the south and west sides. You have the railway to the east and the 4th ring road (aka highway) to the north. Staff is friendly and very helpful.

Breakfast buffet is extensive. Be sure to be there early (6:30) otherwise the Chinese retirees will beat you to the veggies on the buffet and these are rarely restocked.

Overall an OK experience, good price for the value. It is, however, far from all touristic sites.

Room Tip: Take rooms to the south and west to prevent noise from the highway and railroad. Ask for rooms high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelmutsFoodPorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at the Liaoning International Hotel during our 5 days tour of Imperial Beijing in March 2012.

We were pre-checked at this hotel by our tour agency, so obtained our keys and proceeded to our room immediately without the usual hassle of registering at the front desk. The hotel lobby and surrounding is pleasant and corridors to our room foyer well lighted up. Our room is excellent with all the usual amenities of an international hotel - toiletries and complimentary tea/coffee/bottled water (I was informed before our departure to Beijing, that this local hotel is rated 5-stars according to hotel rating standards in China, so did not expect the grandeur of an international hotel). I was tickled pink in noticing that the hotel include a large box of condoms for sale to hotel guest which was prominently displayed at the bedside table. Also, you may want to draw the blinds in the bathroom, which has a glass partition wall facing the bed and TV... I guess some hotel guess enjoy watching TV while having a soak in the bath tub.

Breakfast is served at the coffee shop on the ground level... service starts at 6:30am and includes self-served buffet Chinese and Western meals. However, eggs are fried only one style...i.e. the Chinese chef's choice... the cooks don't understand what is "sunny side up" or "over easy" for that matter... so I could not imagine anyone requesting for "scrambled eggs". Another thing to note, expect a stranger, two or three if you are unlucky (referring to local Chinese hotel guests staying at the hotel to plonked in any minute at your table while you are enjoying your breakfast... none of these local hotel guests bother to ask whether they can share your table!... just pretend these are invisible guest about in the coffee shop.

Conclusion, we had an enjoyable stay at the Liaoning International Hotel despite the queer local cultural behaviors

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The Royal King Hotel (now renamed Liaoning Hotel) is in the Haidian district, ideal for visitors to the Universities and high tech industries in the north west of Beijing, but a long way from the main tourist sites. The rooms are quite well appointed and reasonably spacious, but despite being quite new there are signs of wear and tear. While we were there (Jan 2012) two new lifts were installed and some chipped tiles etc were repaired, but in our rooms there were broken tiles, mouldy fittings and stains on the chairs that had not been attended to for some time. The cleaning staff were diligent and hard working, and the general cleanliness of the Hotel was good.
Breakfasts were of a good standard and reasonable value for money compared to Western prices, although the range was a bit limited. The pastries and omlettes are recommended. The Hotel Cafe served OK food 24-hours/day, but was quite expensive compared to surrounding restaurants.
The Hotel staff were quite friendly, attentive and professional, and gave good service, particularly the cafe staff, but most spoke very limited English and trying to communicate something more complex than "tea please" was a challenge.
We found the best local eatery was the UBC Coffee cafe around the corner form the Hotel - great selection of very nice food, including some Western meals, at very good prices, with menus in English (very useful).
Because of its isolation, we found we used the Metro/subway virtually every day to get around. The station at Zhuanguancun is about a 20 mins straight walk from the Hotel (16 Yuan taxi ride). Tickets cost 2 Yuan each, regardless of destination, so its a great way to travel providing you don't mind standing or crowds. There are buses which travel the route from the Hotel to Station but without a local guide who speaks the language there is little chance of getting on and around by bus.
The nearest 'sites' to see are the Summer Palace (highly recommended, one of the best sites in Beijing) and the Olympic village.

Room Tip: One side of the Hotel (the easter side) faces the Northern railway line which is about 30 metres awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKEELAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Wudaokou
Park Plaza Beijing Science Park
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#70 of 6,492 in Beijing
229 reviews
Wudaokou
Vision Hotel
Vision Hotel
#144 of 6,492 in Beijing
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wudaokou
Wenjin Hotel
Wenjin Hotel
#913 of 6,492 in Beijing
192 reviews
Wudaokou
Geosciences International Conference Centre
Zhongguancun
Beijing Yanshan Hotel
Beijing Yanshan Hotel
#227 of 6,492 in Beijing
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liaoning International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liaoning International Hotel

Property: Liaoning International Hotel
Address: No.2A North 4th Ring West Road, Beijing 100190, China
Region: China > Beijing > Wudaokou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 6,492 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Liaoning International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located in Haidian District and has a convenient access to the country's so-called Silicon Valley, Zhongguancun, and many of the city's cultural and historic attractions. Their rooms are air-conditioned and fitted with free high-speed Internet access, LCD TV with satellite channels, a DDD/ IDD phone, and private toilet and bath with sprinkler shower. Among their facilities includes a health club that features steam bath, gymnasium, and jacuzzi, spa, beauty salon and barber shop, an indoor swimming pool, a dicso, and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Liaoning International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing