We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well and truly overrated. Average at best”
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #47 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Bondi Beach Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well and truly overrated. Average at best”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I booked Michaels House off of the back of the fantastic reviews it had on TripAdvisor. 4th best hotel in the whole of Beijing? I don't think so.

I'll start with the location. It is in a Hutong lane off of a secondary road in Jinshuitan. The Hutong is not original or preserved. The neighbouring buildings are predominately 70s and 80s ugly low rise apartment blocks mixed with low end shops and offices, including a recycling business which does most of its work on the hutong. Ironically the best preserved old house on the hutong is the YHA hostel 2 doors down. So no romantic old world charm, just grimy urban Beijing realism. Jinshuitan is on line 2 on the subway and relatively convenient. Taxis are hard to come by at times.

The hotel itself. Decor was a bit hit and miss, traditional Chinese mixed with faux wooden country, with the occasional 90s black wrought iron piece. The bed was comfortable but my room was unfortunately arranged as two singles. The bathroom was clean but caravan plastic. A pre molded fibre glass shell with plastic floor walls and ceilings. See my photos.

The staff were great. Polite, helpful and English speaking, which helps because my Chinese is terrible. They organised my Great wall tour which was excellent. Being the first on the tour to be picked up, I saw some of the hotels and areas available as we picked up the other guests. There are much nicer hutong based hotels available.

The only praise I will give this place is the price, it is certainly cheap, just don't expect a 5 star property like the other reviews suggest.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1 Thank andrew_hayes70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanwang2004au, Owner at Michael's House, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments based on your recent stay at Michael's House on Tripadvisor.

Our hotel is located in a historical community of more than 600 years, which could be back to Yuan dynasty. Jishuitan Station, as you mentioned of the subway Line 2, the name itself came from the landform of the place which was the largest waterage port (The start of the Jing-Hang canal-Beijing to Hangzhou) and a prospective commercial area then in the mentioned dynasty times.

Today, people here are still living with traditional Chinese lifestyles such as the various food stalls at night which could be a good example. Because of these precipitates of history, the area is considered as the attractive and charming characteristic of Beijing to most of our guests.

The courtyard itself is not, though, a government-licensed preserved property, neither the YHA down the alley as you noticed, however both properties were re-builted based on and according to the original courtyard sites and Hutong architectural style and decorated with traditional Chinese elements, but furnished by modern facilities. As a basic architecture form in China, the courtyard style has existed thousands years and is still popular and beloved across the whole country.

Once again, thank you for your positive feedback for our service, staff, cleanness and being comfortable.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Michael's House is not really a hotel. It's a different place to stay, where you feel like one of the family. It's a place where the staff remember your name a year after you've been there. It's truly a place where the staff go way beyond the call of normal duty and surprise you every day. I just took my partner there for the first time, and we sent a postcard from Hong Kong when we got back. Notably, Sally is such a friendly staff member. We love Michael's House. It's not really a hotel - don't expect it to be the Shangri-la, because if you do, then really - you should stay at the Shangri-la.

p.s. If you are taking a taxi from the airport - take the address in Chinese, and phone number of the hotel with you. This is not a big western hotel with bright lights. Taxi drivers in your city don't know every lane way in town, so surprise surprise - it's the same in Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Good position, quite near to the metro, a very honest price, a characteristic context in a traditional house (that I've preferred to the usual hotel belonging to a big chain).
Besides the staff is extremely efficient and kind!
The rooms are fine and comfortable. If you prefer a traditional bed, don't take the Tatami room, since it has an "oriental style" mattress put on reed matting; besides it has not a private bathroom. I was together with a group of friends and I decided to sleep in this room because I found it really beautiful in its oriental style, even if I had to share the bathroom! The only disadvantage, in addition to the common bath (that was known), has been the lack of a wardrobe or something were to put your things for more days (there were just low furniture and few clothes-hooks).
But the overall opinion on hotel, staff and rooms is completely positive!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco_di_Genova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We came in late by train, and the taxi driver could not find the hotel. We drove in circles with the driver on the phone with the staff. Eventually we went down a small alley and found Michaels-houses.

The hotel is very clean, and very cute. If not for the cigarette smell in the room, the place would have been aesthetically perfect.

The breakfast was lacking. Western breakfast was cherri-os, scrambled eggs, coffee and some meat products.

The Chinese breakfast offered minimal supliments.

Nice place to stay to save money, but won't be your favorite spot.

Happy travels.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlwaysTime2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Michael's house is great place. If you wanna see real Chinese streets, this is perfect choise. Dirty streets with locals and amazing accomodation. When you open door from Michael's house is like different world. Friendly receptionists which speak english and aircondition.:) Only 10 min walk to subway where is shopping centre. Just be carefull with food on the street.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
1 Thank Klara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Walking into Michael's House was like walking into a 4 Star Spa that you never want to leave & then getting to stay there. The lobby area/courtyard is gorgeous and lush as well as comfortable and inviting. It was a joy to relax there and to visit with other guests. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly.

You won't be disappointed if you choose this wonderful B&B for your stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
488 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed with my family for 4 nights.Everything said about Michaels-House is correct.
Clean rooms,friendly service.Unfortunately for us the location was terrible.As five we had alot of difficulty finding two cabs.You just can't get a taxi in Beijing during rush hours and heavy rain.There is the underground option but try walking in Beijing for 15 minutes on a busy street in summer.Unbearable.We also didn't find the eating options great in the neighbourhood.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Thank angelo65Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#92 of 6,474 in Beijing
419 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#79 of 6,474 in Beijing
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Kellys Courtyard
Kellys Courtyard
#61 of 6,474 in Beijing
227 reviews
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#55 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Property: Michael's House
Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#26 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing