We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great”
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #41 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The staff at Michael's House is perhaps the most friendly and hospitable at any hotel that I have ever stayed. The facilities, while good, are not quite equal to the warmth of the welcome. Room size is about average for China, small by Western standards. The bathroom was nice and had a large shower, no tub. Furnishings were a modern traditional, and fairly new. WiFi internet is available throughout the hotel. It is faster than most other hotspots in Beijing, but is still moderately slow and erratic. The biggest problem I had were the bugs. The hotel is immaculately cleaned, but housekeeping would leave a window to the courtyard open for the floor to dry after it was washed. Every night there were three or four mosquitos buzzing about. I would stay at Michael's House again, but I would check for other places first.
 

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

Micheal's is good but it is not really a "hutong guesthouse". It is located off a larger road, about 15 min. from the subway. The place is small and quaint. I am not sure it deserves all the accolades it has received. The idea of boutique hotel is attention to detail. The design theme has not been consistently carried through. Breakfast is disappointing. The staff are wonderful.
The room is ave. size but the bathroom could use more counter space. Our room has a dank smell that we dealt with by burning a candle. Would I come back to Micheal's? Maybe not. The location is not great and I keep thinking there must be more interesting places out there in the real hutongs. Maybe not but I think I will keep looking.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sichuanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We really had a great holiday here. The hotel is such a friendly place, the staff are great and the rooms and social areas are well looked after. The staff's English is great so it's easy to communicate, which is sometimes difficult in China if you don't speak the local language. Storm the tour organiser is also lovely. He goes above and beyond for all the guests needs with useful advise. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karita j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The staff are very friendly and helpful. They spoke very good English and made the place very inviting. Definitely made my trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xcountry111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

It's somewhere around average. Nothing wrong with it. But it lacked soul and charm. At first glance the lobby seems intriguing and promising. But within a few minutes, I quickly realized it actually felt like an average westernized chain hotel with a pseudo traditional chinese shell over it. They have what you expect in a hotel: beds, free wifi, free breakfast, helpful staff. But they didn't have anything that made me stop and think it was nice, or clever, or unique.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Location: the hotel is located downtown beijing in a typical not turisty chinese street, the street has many good small chinese restaurents where you can eat with locals. The hotel is about 10 min walk from jishuitan metro station and is easily accesible.
The rooms are great clean and complete with all you need including a safe.
The best thing about the hotel is by far the service, the reception crew speaks english and is helpfull in all your needs.
You can ask them anything and they will help you with a smile.

Also I would like to say special thanks to Amy the receptionist who was especially nice and helped us book flights and buy train tickets with extreme patiens.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royshalit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Michael's House is a classy little place in Beijing. A tube ride out of the city but so worth it. We have stayed in hotels around the world that have far less charm and decadence than this little place. The owner actually genuinely cares about your booking, your stay and your satisfaction. We would have stayed longer had we appreciated just how happy we were going to be there! Michael's excellent staff booked trips for us and made sure we ate before we left them early one morning. Home baked biscuits to boot! Nothing was too much trouble. Each room had its own style and none of them could be considered as standard. Funky little area outside of Beijing but has its own appeal (look for the lake, and the drum and bell towers aren't far really) Try to book ahead with this one, it really is worth it, and because it is smaller, it does get booked! How would i sum this place up? Special.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bongalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#112 of 6,568 in Beijing
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,188 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#38 of 6,568 in Beijing
518 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#19 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £47 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying A Convenient Location,the Hotel Offers You Traditional Ambiance And Modern Facilities With Guestrooms To Suit All Budgets.decorated With A Variety Of Main Colours, All Rooms Have Individual Styles.enjoy The Afternoon Tea With Your Friends Under The Glass Roof And Feel As If You Are Going Back In Time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing