We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Michael's House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Beijing' Home(Beijing)
View Hotel
Wenhui Hotel(Beijing)
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
410
146
30
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
146
30
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscovered courtyardjishuitan stationcentral courtyardminute walkcircle linetaxi driverhutong stylehome away from homesmall hotelyogurtreal beijingsmall alleyliving areabed was very comfortabledumplingsreception deskenglish speaking staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 592 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had two nights in Beijing on our way to another city. We had read reviews of Michael's House being well located and having excellent service, and we were not disappointed. The room was comfortable, breakfast was simple but very good (boiled eggs, fruit, cereal), and the staff set us up for a city tour, and for our airport transfers. Wifi was reliable and reasonably fast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had the best stay of our trip around China here! A bit hard to find but we rang the hotel and passed the phone onto the taxi guy who was guided in by the lovely "Little" (one of the staff). Greeted at the door like long lost friends, the staff Jenny, Amy, Sophia and Little were fabulous. All speak English and are so helpful and thoughtful, providing whatever assistance we needed, direction, places to eat, umbrellas in event of rain, cups of tea and coffee etc. Michael's house is a courtyard style hotel (hutong) down a small alley, hence nice and quiet at nights sleep. Courtyard area ideal place to unwind in the evening and swap travel tales with other guests. Metro station is a 5 minute walk away and 2Y ( about 50 cents) will get you anywhere you want to go, easy!

Room Tip: Rooms are small but have everything you need with the bonus of the communal courtyard area to sit back and relax with a cold beer at the end of a big day.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickandMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at Michael's in May and it was by far the best place we have ever stayed. The place is immaculate, quiet, and they speak excellent english which was a huge help. Our bed was really comfortable. We enjoyed getting beers out of the cooler and playing cribbage in the courtyard. The staff were very friendly. I do not think i will return to China, but if I did I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinaGal_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

If you want a hutong courtyard experience in Beijing there are other places you can stay, chances are they may be a little closer to central Bejing and the favoured tourist attractions, that said... I'm yet to find one that has such superb staff who will go to any lengths to make you feel at home and welcome you to their spotless and charming courtyard hotel. Taxi's are extremely cheap and readily available to get you around and the plus side is Michael's House is in a very quiet location so you can truly escape the hustle and bustle and save a considerable amount of RMB over what you would pay to be "closer to the action" I would not hesitate in recommending Michael's House to friends or family, all those who have already stayed on my recommendation have been delighted. The beds are the most comfortable I've slept in whilst in China, if sleep quality is important to you then you really should give this hidden gem a try.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting our son in Beijing and had chosen the hotel after reading all the recommendations on trip advisor. We were certainly not disappointed..our room was lovely and the staff were absolutely delightful. We met lots of fascinating people over breakfast each morning and enjoyed being able to relax in the lovely covered courtyard.
The walk to the station each morning was always fascinating...cycles and cars everywhere and in every direction! We enjoyed exploring round the streets and think the location was really good as a springboard to all parts of Beijing.
I would thoroughly recommend Michaels House..in fact I already have!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews