We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel off the beaten track”
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #43 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
1 review
“Wonderful hotel off the beaten track”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights at Michaels. The personnel was very friendly and competent and their English was great. They helped with all issues and even assisted in planning a trip to the Great Wall. The location is nice if you want to experience Beijing away from the touristy sections. The local street vendors and restaurants at night are a great plus. The actual hotel is ok but not luxurious. It is clean and neat. The lobby is the best part as it is open and bright with parakeets flying about. We can do nothing more than recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay again.

William and Anna

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    141
    29
    3
    3
See reviews for
125
210
67
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Michael's House is a cute hotel with nicely furnished rooms. While my husband and I felt at home at the hotel, the strange location and varying service negatively contributed to my review. The hotel is a bit out of the way in a random Beijing suburb. We were able to use the nearby buses (10 minute walk away) to get to the major tourist attractions. The other slight issue with Michael's House is that the service we received was directly related to the language proficiency of the person working. Some of the employees speak English fluently while others are unable to readily communicate. Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We're a young couple and stayed here for 3 nights based on its excellent reviews and were not disappointed.

The small hotel is in a traditional setting but has all the familiar comforts you might need. It felt more personal than some of the large western hotels we saw in other areas of the city.

Little and the reception staff spoke good English and were friendly and helpful.

The bed was large and much softer than others we've slept on in China. The Amercian-style buffet breakfast and all the facilities were excellent.

It can be difficult to find for some taxi drivers and this was easier once we had a taxi card from reception. If in any trouble, the driver can call and the reception will direct them.

We'd definitely recommend it for a stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucypnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We enjoyed our 6 night stay here, loving the experience away from international hotels where you could be in any city. We liked being able to walk around the hutongs and see the traditional way of life. The staff were very friendly with good English. Nothing was too much trouble. Amy was lovely and very helpful. We found an excellent eating place for traditional food at a very low price - 3-4 dishes plus two bottles of beer for only NZ$8-10. There is also a wonderful massage place just around the corner too. Taxis were very cheap and we preferred them to the subway. They advertise as having an American breakfast which it is - of sorts, but plenty of it even if a little unusual at times. The price was excellent especially if you book ahead and get a discount. Everything was clean, the beds were comfortable and the showers very good. We would stay there again.
Christine and Robert

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe room which looked on to the courtyard with some natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 111shiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed at Michael's House in Beijing for 8 nights in September 2013. This 12 room boutique hotel was very nice and my bed was very comfortable. I enjoyed a spacious room that was attractively decorated. It had a good bathroom and an excellent shower.

Daily buffet breakfast consisted of offerings of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, yogurt, breads for toasting, assorted fruits and cookies. The coffee was hot. Some improvement could be made in the assortment of fruits and the mix of foods available each day changed very little.

The WiFi was a bit in and out and there is no computer exclusively for guests - although you can use their main office PC if you need something.
The location is not downtown and is not a close walk to really anything - although I did walk to the Bell & Drum tower one day. Fortunately, the subway (Line 2 - a major and important line) is just a 10 minute walk. The immediate area around the hotel has some interesting street scenes and food places.
I am not sure if I would rate this as in the top 10 of all Beijing hotels - but then I didn't stay at any others and heard that the Novotel rooms looked (worn) . If you are looking for a lobby bar experience, in a central location this is not your place.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to skip the generic international hotel scene. The value was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Enjoyed our stay of 5 nights at Michaels House. It was a comfortable, clean and very friendly place An unique Beijing experience away from traditional lodgings. It basically was a bed and breakfast with that type of hospitality.
Susan stoughton

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scstoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiyuan, China
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I was looking for a budget hotel in Beijing for this visit, and surprisingly, Michael's house came up in my price range. It is certainly a nicer option than a functional budget chain hotel.

There are many positives: location, staff, comfort. Atmosphere. Cleanliness.

Location: It is a good location near subway line 2. I timed it as under 10 minutes, but it still feels like a good walk after a long day of touring. Easy to find since it was my second visit. First time guests should print the directions to give taxi drivers, but don't be afraid to give the phone number to taxi drivers so they can call the hotel. One of the airport shuttles has a Jishuitan stop, 16 yuan per person. This is a pretty handy, but the bus stop is a good 20 minute walk from the hotel and you have to go up and down steps of an overpass.

I didn't feel like making reservations for duck and followed the staff recommendation for a duck restaurant Jin Bai Wan about 15 minute walk away. I've been to all of the famous ones, and this was just as good. On the street between the alley and the main road there are some small restaurants that have good cheap food.

There is a grocery, Watsons and other shops near the Jishuitan subway station where you can get almost anything you might need. There are also some chain restaurants in that area.

If you stay here, do walk to Xihai and the other lakes. It is one of the best areas for a walk in Beijing, and not far. There are many tea shops and bars around the lakes. The full circuit would take a couple of hours, but you can walk around just one or two lakes if you prefer.

The staff speak English well and are helpful, though they leave you alone if you want to be left alone. Unlike a B&B, guests do interact mostly with staff and not the owner. While they do try hard to please, I do feel like they are somewhat limited as staff. They do sometimes go above and beyond--one offered to show us to our destination since she was getting off work soon.

Also, they sometimes get pretty busy helping a guests with complicated questions which is good, but so others might have to wait to get assistance. This is certainly a valuable resource for non-Chinese speaking guests visiting Beijing.

Most of the amenities are familiar and should be comforting to Western guests. Things are clean and soft and generally in working order. The internet connection was reasonably fast, though it dropped briefly at one point. Two bottles of water were provided free daily.

The drawbacks are mostly that it is small. The regular rooms are tiny--much nicer for one guest than two, since there is so little place for belongings. Windows open only on the courtyard.

Being small, it may not always be possible to arrange early check-in and check-out. Also, housekeeping staff are not available in the evenings or overnight. I presume large problems would be attended to, but I had a small problem that had to wait until daytime to fix.

I found a few quirks--one room had robes, while the other did not. Also, one included tea and instant coffee, but had a teapot that didn't work, while the other had a working teapot.

This time, my rate did not include breakfast. While I would have enjoyed coffee, I was happy to leave earlier in the morning rather than wait for breakfast to be served and to take advantage of other nearby options. There are good restaurants on the larger street serving good dumplings, fried dough (youtiao), wonton soup and so on. There is also a Chinese crepe vendor (jianbing) nearby, though this can also be an afternoon or evening snack. You can also grab a cup of coffee (free refills) at the McDonald's by the subway station.

Next-day laundry service was reasonably priced and good.

All in all, there are imperfections, I will recommend Michael's House and likely stay again.

Room Tip: Be aware that the standard rooms are very small. As a single traveler, it might be nice to have two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellevret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#94 of 6,483 in Beijing
419 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#78 of 6,483 in Beijing
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Xidan
Kellys Courtyard
Kellys Courtyard
#67 of 6,483 in Beijing
227 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Property: Michael's House
Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing