We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beijing Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #46 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beijing Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. We appreciated the hospitality. The girls at the front desk were especially helpful. Their kindness in answering questions, giving recommendations, ordering taxis and helping us to order pizza so that we could eat dinner in after a long day of sight seeing were great blessings to us. The cleaning staff also did a great job, as our room was always refreshing to come "home" to you.

The beds were comfy and the courtyard was relaxing. This place had all the comforts of the west with the charm of the east. We were traveling in Beijing with another couple, so we took advantage of the courtyard. It was a great place to hang out together and relax at the end of the day.

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room which was very nice and comfortable but small. It was fine for us as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    138
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
119
207
64
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Church Gresley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect. The small courtyard hotel (a little difficult to find) is just a short walk from Jishuitan Metro Stn. Entry through big glass doors into a covered courtyard area. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Free WifI which is always a bonus. Comfortable bed. Decent bathroom. Breakfast buffet style right outside the room. More than happy to store your suitcases until you are ready to leave. All good ! My only gripe ? The rooms around the courtyard area are subject to the 'in house' music played in the reception area until at least 10.30pm, I was jet lagged, tired and needed an early night to get some sleep... no chance. My room was also right opposite the reception desk, phone, conversations and a 7am start by the staff meant little privacy, if this worries you, ask for a room away from the courtyard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Iain M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W, Owner at Michael's House, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Lain,


Thank you for your review. I do appreciate your comments about our stuff and room.

Michael’s House is a typical Beijing-styled courtyard hotel. This kind of architecture was composed by four sides buildings surounding the central open/or glass-roofed yard, which historically used to accommodate one big family. Sitting in the yard lobby you will find youself already among a cozy and relaxed family.

We never worry, in this environment, about the familarity and intimacy among the guests or between with our staff, but only privancy. We understand that guests need not only the cozy atmosphere in the lobby yard, but also the quiet and privacy when they close the door. We used the two-double hollow glass and aluminium alloy to build the windows and doors plus soundproof and shade curtain to insulate the rooms from the outside conversation and music. That had been proved effective during the past 6 years.

I am sorry to read you didn't get a good sleep after a long flight especially with jet lag, and I apologize our staff have neglected to remind you to completely close the window which I believe could be the most reason for what have happened. We will continue to improve our procedures and training our staff more precisely so that guests can enjoy more satisfied services from us and we could keep our good reputation in the hospitality industry of Beijing.

Thank you again and hope we will have more opportunities to accommodate you in future.

Best Regards

Michael Z Wang
Owner of Michael's House Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

A small courtyard hotel that is a 10 minute walk from the Jishuitan subway station on line 2. Surprisingly, the place looked just like the pictures. We stayed in one of the double suites. Our room had a comfy king bed and a couch. They offered to put in another bed for our teenage son, but he liked the idea of sleeping on a couch. Room was clean and beautifully decorated as was the covered courtyard. It's away from the tourist areas and quiet at night. Slept really well here. Showers had 50 liters of hot water which was sufficient. Western style breakfast: bacon, eggs, yoghurt, fruit, juice etc, which I skipped as there were many street options in the neighborhood: dumplings, noodles, soup etc. Would have preferred more chinese options with the breakfast. Staff spoke very good english, were very helpful and wanted to make our stay in Beijing enjoyable. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chhschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is small, quaint, clean and very affordable. It was our favourite stay of the entire trip. The rooms are beautifully decorated as is the atrium. It's inviting charm makes you feel as though you are a guest in their home.
The girls that run the hotel are fantastic and cater to your every need. They also speak English very well and are a great resource for information and directions.
The location is fantastic: close to the subway, lots of local restaurants and late night shops and drinks. It was extremely hard for the taxi driver to find however, so I'd advise having a map, written directions and a phone number (all in Chinese) for the taxi driver. Our cab fare from the Rail Station was about 100 RMB.
The breakfast that is included in the morning is perfect: eggs, bacon, fruit and cereals. More than enough to get you out and seeing the sites without having to find a restaurant with pictures on their menus!
I would highly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FFHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arorangi
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This small, inexpensive courtyard type hotel was a gem. A bit hard to find, even with the excellent directions supplied in English and Chinese (for the taxi driver) but delightful once you get there.

You enter through an attractive courtyard and are greeted by friendly staff with reasonable proficiency in English. The room was GREAT -- very large -- I stayed in the emperor suite with a four poster king bed encased in golden curtains. The bed was VERY comfortable with fresh clean white sheets and cozy duvets -- I slept like a baby! Bathroom was clean and fresh with lots of hot water and lots a clean snowy towels.

The rate included an American style breakfast -- hot, tasty -- bacon, eggs, sausages and a wide range of cereals, breads, and other goodies as well as coffee and a range of teas.

The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the subway -- which, after the initial "fumbling" was amazing cheap and very easy to get around on (station names are in Chinese and English).

For the more "faint of heart", the only down side was that, while close to the city center, it is in a part of town where there is little or no signage in any language other than Chinese and few people speak any English -- so even getting a meal close to the hotel was interesting involving lots of pointing at pictures on menus, or at other peoples plates, and gesticulating wildly LOL.

If you are out of your comfort zone when completely immersed in a very different, and mostly completely incomprehensible culture, this may not be the hotel for you, but if you are filled with a sense of adventure and want to experience "the good, the bad and the ugly" of Beijing - it is a WONDERFUL spot.

I will stay there again next time I am in Beijing :-)

Room Tip: I think any room would be great, for a few dollars more the Emperor Suite is "pretty cool"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiaorana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Michael's House is a small, traditional courtyard style hotel, 10minutes walk from the incredibly cheap and efficient subway. The staff speak good English and are always available to help. Our room was comfortable and spacious but the most wonderful part about the accommodation was to have good quality, clean, white sheets very day and towels! The bed was dreamily comfortable and a delight to come back to after a long day's walking around the various city sights.
There is a relaxing courtyard area for breakfast. Breakfast is buffet style and there is plenty of choice.
We have travelled all over the world and Michael's House is definitely one of the nicest hotels in which we have stayed. You need look no further.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, MN
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is pretty difficult for cabs to find from the airport....so if you can print out the hotel directions in advance that would be helpful. Look out for the black cabs at the airport. We were approached by a van driver when we left the que who wanted 100 bucks to drive us to Michael's. The correct fare is about 15 bucks. We took the real cab, who got in a fender bender bender in the hotel alley. The streets are super narrow.
The lobby is absolutely charming. Rooms are quite nice off the lobby. TV noise can be bothersome if the guests next door have the volume up. Breakfast quite nice. The staff is great. If they know you have an early tour they will have coffee and some breakfast items out for you.
The tours are nice and feasonably priced. We did the 260 yaun tour to Mutianyu Great Wall that was great. (Ask about the toboggan ride down, instead of cable car both ways) . It came with lunch. Quite nice with about 10 different dishes for the table.
THere are two great restaurants nearby. A Szechuan rstaurant and one that specializes in Peking Duck. Ask for directions, they are vey close and convenient. And cheap!
The nearest subway is Jishuitan. About a ten minute walk. Adds a bit of walking after a long day of trekking in the city, but taxis are cheap and convenient.
Really loved the place. My wife did too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#68 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#52 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#92 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Property: Michael's House
Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing