We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was this really a hotel? It felt like a second home.”
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #41 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Quite simply, if you are looking for somewhere in Beijing, you must consider Michaels House. Of the hundreds of hotels I have stayed at, Michaels House is one of the best.
The staff are very kind and friendly, the rooms are delightful, and the courtyard lounge and dining area is beautiful. The only thing I would mention is to ensure you have a phone with you upon arrival - taxi drivers are reluctant to go down the laneway where it's located, so for the first time you arrive, it's easier to call the staff (24 hours reception) and have them explain the location. Once you've arrived, you'll never have a problem finding it again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seanfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2009

This is a very nice little hotel with very helpful and service minded staff. It is clean and the people there work hard to keep it that way. The staff spoke English better than in to five star hotels (one in Xian and one in Beijing) we visited on our trip to China.
I don't know if Tripadvisor have changed the location, it used to be totally wrong, but the actual location is 10min walk north-west of Jishuitan subwaystation. From there it will cost you 2 RMB to go to any other subwaystation. It's easy, safe and fast.
The neighbourhood seem to be a typical chinese neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenrikEkstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

If you want to have a feel of real Hutong and authentic Beijing experience, this is the right place to stay. Small family-run hotel where you receive very friendly and thoughtful services. The location is convenient for sight-seeing. This is indeed a boutique hotel with unique decoration.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matosas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

My wife, little boy and I stayed at Michael's house back in January and we liked it so much we came again in April. As soon as you walk in place you feel at ease, which after a day's sightseeing in Beijing was just what we needed! The rooms are great, staff really helpful and the atmosphere around the place perfect. The biggest compliment I can give this hotel is that it was part of the holiday experience and one of the reasons our visits to Beijing were so enjoyable and therefore very different from the instantly forgettable stays we often get with larger chain hotels. Good work Michael, it is how a hotel should be! Tony, Helen and Harry

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigtdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

A group of 10 of us stayed at Michael's House for almost two weeks and, from the start, the place felt more like home than a hotel. The staff are amongst the most attentive I have ever encountered, without ever being fussy or intrusive. The rooms are tastefully and individually decorated; the place is spotless; the atmosphere great.

Any requests or enquiries we had (and they ranged so wildly I'm surprised the staff kept up with us) were dealt with efficiently and in such a helpful manner... This is a very special place, a world away from bland hotel chains. If I ever get the chance to go back to Beijing I will head straight to Michael's House.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missvantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

The staff was the most attentive I've ever had at a hotel. The service was excellent. They helped us book several tours in Beijing, and also on our trip to Xian. I would highly recommend this Boutique Hotel to anyone who wants a true taste of Chinese culture. The hotel sits in the middle of a Hutong, and we were able to see how the citizens of Beijing go about their daily routines. Sean, Snow, and the entire staff were great!!!!

Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
Thank HawaiianIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 解小杏儿
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#111 of 6,568 in Beijing
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,188 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#38 of 6,568 in Beijing
518 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#19 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £47 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying A Convenient Location,the Hotel Offers You Traditional Ambiance And Modern Facilities With Guestrooms To Suit All Budgets.decorated With A Variety Of Main Colours, All Rooms Have Individual Styles.enjoy The Afternoon Tea With Your Friends Under The Glass Roof And Feel As If You Are Going Back In Time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing