We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and welcoming”
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #44 of 6,596 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at Michael's House for three days in the third week of July. We enjoyed it alot. We had been touring with family for two weeks, and were looking to poke around by ourselves on a somewhat more relaxing pace.

This small hotel is almost like a B & B, with a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. The hotel looks exactly as it does on the website. We stayed in the deluxe Queen Suite, which had the most comfortable bed we had encountered in our first two weeks in China. The sitting area of the suite had a comfortable couch and a flat screen tv. The whole place was immaculately clean, and the bathroom had the amenities of a larger hotel...hairdryer, shampoo, etc. There are rooms there of all price ranges, including a dorm room with bunk beds.

The location was in the North West of Beijing within walking distance of the Jishuitan (SP?) subway station, as well as within walking of the upper lake area. The location of the hotel is totally different from that of downtown Beijing, and it will give you more of a feel of the less touristy part of the city, although if touristy is what you want, it is easily accessible. (We did that earlier in our trip)

Michael Wang, the owner, is on the premises, and is an enjoyable person, a good host, and speaks English, as he has lived in the US for several years. He is happy to give you suggestions and directions, and he and his staff will happily write out directions in Chinese to hand to a cab driver.

Also, when we made our reservations, they emailed us directions written in Chinese to give to our cab driver, as their place is a little difficult to find down a small alley. THat was a big help!

Our last two nights in Beijing, we moved downtown to a fancy hotel to see the other side of Beijing, near the shopping, the ritzy shops, etc. We loved that too! We were glad we had seen both, and without a doubt, Michael's House was the most personal.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2009

Good location, awesome staff. The staff went above and beyond. I know zero Chinese and had a few ideas of what I wanted to do when I got there. They helped us put it all together. On our first day Mike, the owner, took us out to the Summer Palace himself. Nicely decorated, good size/clean rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We started our 4 week stay in China at Michael's House in Beijing. We made some arrangements before leaving like airport pick up etc. They did one hell of a job making ou stay as pleasant as could be. Punctual concerning the made arrangements, friendy as they try to do just everything needed to make you feel at home, advising as they take time to give you good advice to make your stay very pleasant. Not big but best in class!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geencar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

My 3 teenage kids and I had a great stay in this hotel last week. We found the location quite convenient - it is about 10 minutes walk from Jishuitan subway station on line 2 (the cirlce line), so if you don't mind the walk you can get anywhere in the city easily. And there are lots of taxis nearby. The courtyard setting is very cosy and comfortable...like having your own living room right outside your room. Very good value. The other guests were friendly and we were able to trade experiences regarding what to see and do. A special mention is deserved by the staff, who were extremely friendly and helpful. Anywhere we wanted to go or see, they were willing to look up details for us and write out directions in Chinese for the taxi driver. I would stay here again in a flash, and the kids enjoyed it too.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewCalGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

My name is Joe Zhao. I work and live in New York.
I stayed in Michael's House for 3 nights with my wife.
We were amazed by the personal attention from Mr. Michael Wang, the owner.
We feel really like staying home.
We really like the room with junior suite function
The bed is the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pongpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Quite simply, if you are looking for somewhere in Beijing, you must consider Michaels House. Of the hundreds of hotels I have stayed at, Michaels House is one of the best.
The staff are very kind and friendly, the rooms are delightful, and the courtyard lounge and dining area is beautiful. The only thing I would mention is to ensure you have a phone with you upon arrival - taxi drivers are reluctant to go down the laneway where it's located, so for the first time you arrive, it's easier to call the staff (24 hours reception) and have them explain the location. Once you've arrived, you'll never have a problem finding it again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seanfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

This is a very nice little hotel with very helpful and service minded staff. It is clean and the people there work hard to keep it that way. The staff spoke English better than in to five star hotels (one in Xian and one in Beijing) we visited on our trip to China.
I don't know if Tripadvisor have changed the location, it used to be totally wrong, but the actual location is 10min walk north-west of Jishuitan subwaystation. From there it will cost you 2 RMB to go to any other subwaystation. It's easy, safe and fast.
The neighbourhood seem to be a typical chinese neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenrikEkstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#111 of 6,596 in Beijing
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#32 of 6,596 in Beijing
523 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#57 of 6,596 in Beijing
1,197 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#20 of 6,596 in Beijing
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £52 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying A Convenient Location,the Hotel Offers You Traditional Ambiance And Modern Facilities With Guestrooms To Suit All Budgets.decorated With A Variety Of Main Colours, All Rooms Have Individual Styles.enjoy The Afternoon Tea With Your Friends Under The Glass Roof And Feel As If You Are Going Back In Time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing