We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to the big hotels”
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #44 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I chose to stay at Michael's House in Beijing as an alternative to one of the big hotel chains and I am glad I did. The facility is cozy and comfortable, with high speed internet. The staff is approachable, warn, friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Plus, it's an easy walk to the subway. Near the subway there is also a lake where one can take a lovely stroll, enjoy a meal, or take in the music and night life. Once on the subway, one can get to most of the favorite tourist sites quite easily, no need for a guide.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXSTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2010

Service was above and beyond and really made us feel welcome and at ease. Hotel staff all spoke english and we did not have any communication issues. Most travelers were from north america or europe as far as we could tell. Location is a bit weak as it was hard to find, but once you get there it is convenient as it is three blocks from the subway which links you to the rest of the city and the area was very safe. We'd recommend the hotel for others and return on future trips.

THANKS!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Lots of atmosphere and an interesting and easy 7 minute walk to the subway. Very comfortable beds with western mattresses. Staff were very helpful,especially Lydia who is a jem. We stayed for 6 nights...5 of which we spent in the Imperial room which was worth the extra money as it has a lot of space.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We can fully recommend Michael's House. Amazing rooms, designed with love for little details, down to the two lovely birds in reception.
Very quiet, even if you want to sleep longer.
Subway not too far away.
The personal helped us to book our Great Wall trip and hired a friendly driver.
Hot water could flow a little bit longer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ullrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

When we arrived at Michael's House the end of March we were two strangers in a foreign land - when we left a week later we felt like we were leaving family and a second home.

MH is a small hotel - about 12 rooms build around a traditional courtyard, You will find that the courtyard becomes a social gathering point to have a hearty breakfast, discuss adventures and relax with a tea (or something stronger) after a satisfying day.

The staff is exceptionally helpful and accommodating - Michael and Joanna are the owners and they are present much of the time. Lydia, Heibe, Salina and Sean do the rest of the work and are eager to help with anything from arranging taxis and seats for the acrobat show to pointing out local sightseeing gems - such as the street called Nan Luo Gu Xiang (try the Bell and Gong restaurant). The more you engage the staff and the other guests the more rewarding your experience will be. My wife fell in love with Lydia.

The rooms are spotless - the neighborhood local & safe - the taxis cheap - the subway 10-15 minute walk (avoid it if you hate climbing stairs) - free WiFi (can be spotty but there is a common wired computer) - not much English on TV (BBC, Bloomberg)

Highly recommended if you are a little adventurous want a unique stay in a local neighborhood, surrounded by wonderful people.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAbruzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

My husband, mother and I had the pleasure of staying at Michael's house on the front end of a trip. After our 5 nights at Michael's house we joined a tour group and hence had to stay at 2 other Beijing hotels but this gives us a great advantage to make comparisons. We have stayed in this type of hotel. It is a North American style boutique hotel which means it has 12 rooms all located off a central courtyard. It is located in an authentic Hutong area.
When first arriving you will travel down what appears to be a small backlane and arrive at a door with the inscription that reads Michael's house this will be your only hint that you have arrived at your accommodations at which point you may second guess your choice. Upon entering the threshold you will enter a pleasant courtyard of greenery, fish ponds and overall tranquil setting of which is enclosed with an overhead glass ceiling. You will be greeted by English speaking eager desk clerk who will quickly have you assigned to your room.

Our room consisted of a sitting area with a couch and flat-screen tv & wireless internet. The adjoining bedroom contained a Kingsize bed with a north American style comfortable mattress. Also included was an armoir with plenty of room to hand things. The bathroom consisted of shower, sink and toilet although all standard they were very clean and modern.

The neighborhood may feel intimidating at first but is an eclectic mix of new and old Beijing. While we never tried it there was a restaurant down the street that was known for Peking Duck and had all the entrapments of a upscale restaurant including valet service this was mixed with food carts selling strange and wonderful street cuisine. In addition, a great modern shopping centre was just down the street. Plus the subway was just 2 blocks away.

It would be unfair to compare Michael's house with the other hotels we stayed at as they were standard 5 star big city hotels. If want a tranquil, first class service, friendly, relaxing environment located in a vastly disappearing life I would highly recommend Michael's House.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmalfiRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Depending on who you are some features may be positive or negative! All the rooms, with great beds, look out into a roofed 'hootong' courtyard - hot when the sun shines and where breakfast is served, so not much privacy. However, this is a great place to have meetings and relax. The area is real Beijing and some of the tucked away restaurants are great, explore and be brave - some Chinese is a great asset. Next door to a great YHI if you need to lose the kids.

Breakfast leaves a bit to be desired and one six cup coffe percolator is really not enough. Beijing is swimming in yogurt and fresh and dried fruit so a better breakfast would not cost a lot.

The circle line is not far away with access to everywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikecopleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#115 of 6,565 in Beijing
434 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#34 of 6,565 in Beijing
515 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,185 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £47 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying A Convenient Location,the Hotel Offers You Traditional Ambiance And Modern Facilities With Guestrooms To Suit All Budgets.decorated With A Variety Of Main Colours, All Rooms Have Individual Styles.enjoy The Afternoon Tea With Your Friends Under The Glass Roof And Feel As If You Are Going Back In Time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing