We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #47 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Stayed 6 nights. Great value, comfortable rooms, fast internet access, friendly and helpful service, and many, many interesting foreign guests..

Location in NW of city, but close to summer palace, zoo and 10 mins walk to subway. Neighbourhood a bit sleezy, muslim restaurants might be exotic to some people. Try soy sauce eggs for breakfast from street vendors - delicious!

Hostel staff speak good english and can book activities e.g. acrobatics, great wall etc.

A refreshing change from international hotels that all feel the same.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneGrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2010

I hesitate telling anyone just how wonderful Michael"s House is as we fear that we will never be able to get a reservation there in the future. Michael and his caring staff of Sean, Lydia, Hebe and Selina are like having your favorite relatives/friends awaiting your arrival. They will arrange for a car/driver to meet you at the airport and tend to your every need. They don't just care for you, they LOVE caring for you. We felt that they could very well have had "WHAT CAN I DO TO HELP YOU" tattooed on their foreheads. We met a couple from New York at the Summer Palace. They said they almost stayed at Michael's, but it sounded to good to be true. We told them, "It is true." They missed out.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Lovely little place. Difficult to find if you can't speak the language or don't have an interpreter. Lucky my wife is Chinese. Nice comfortable room. Nice flat screen tv with HBO. Wireless internet which is great for free. Friendly staff who are available through the night I think. I was up late and there was somebody manning the reception. Lovely traditional Chinese courtyard. Huge selection of English books for tourists. Nice breakfast in the a.m. although I'd prefer a Chinese one instead of Western. Eat as much as you like though. Good shopping centre up the road and plenty of food stalls nearbuy and very affordable restaurants. Good shower with IKEA shampoo/shower gel. Hair drier in bathroom. AC in room.y pleased with the experience. We left a shoe there and they got in touch with us to let us know so good follow up.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I chose to stay at Michael's House in Beijing as an alternative to one of the big hotel chains and I am glad I did. The facility is cozy and comfortable, with high speed internet. The staff is approachable, warn, friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Plus, it's an easy walk to the subway. Near the subway there is also a lake where one can take a lovely stroll, enjoy a meal, or take in the music and night life. Once on the subway, one can get to most of the favorite tourist sites quite easily, no need for a guide.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXSTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Service was above and beyond and really made us feel welcome and at ease. Hotel staff all spoke english and we did not have any communication issues. Most travelers were from north america or europe as far as we could tell. Location is a bit weak as it was hard to find, but once you get there it is convenient as it is three blocks from the subway which links you to the rest of the city and the area was very safe. We'd recommend the hotel for others and return on future trips.

THANKS!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Lots of atmosphere and an interesting and easy 7 minute walk to the subway. Very comfortable beds with western mattresses. Staff were very helpful,especially Lydia who is a jem. We stayed for 6 nights...5 of which we spent in the Imperial room which was worth the extra money as it has a lot of space.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We can fully recommend Michael's House. Amazing rooms, designed with love for little details, down to the two lovely birds in reception.
Very quiet, even if you want to sleep longer.
Subway not too far away.
The personal helped us to book our Great Wall trip and hired a friendly driver.
Hot water could flow a little bit longer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ullrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#110 of 6,606 in Beijing
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#37 of 6,606 in Beijing
525 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#59 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,206 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £53 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying A Convenient Location,the Hotel Offers You Traditional Ambiance And Modern Facilities With Guestrooms To Suit All Budgets.decorated With A Variety Of Main Colours, All Rooms Have Individual Styles.enjoy The Afternoon Tea With Your Friends Under The Glass Roof And Feel As If You Are Going Back In Time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing