We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay, great neighborhood, location, service, rooms, food”
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #46 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in Beijing. Very good english is spoken by the staff, rooms are clean, nice and if you get the junior suite, very big. Courtyard is a nice place to come back for a break and just relax and chat with any other guests that are hanging around. Centrally located to most attractions, and a great "true" Beijing neighborhood with food vendors on the streets and clothing vendors.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank kathyD2274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

I was staying a another hotel for business which was a large modern building but decided to stay in a more authentic hotel for the remainder of my stay. Found this hotel from the reviews on trip advisor.

The hotel is located in a back alley of an area that does not look so great but when you walk in it is a beautiful small hotel inside with koi fish in the court yard. the room was nice and the staff spoke great English and was extremely helpful in find what to do or how to get around.

The taxi driver had a hard time finding it so make sure to have the address printed in Chinese.

I would recommend this to anyone looking for a more exciting and "real" stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtltravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Michael's House was a very comfortable place to stay. We stayed in a delux double room directly off the courtyard that had a small sitting room area (sofa, coffee table, desk, TV) before entering the bed and bathroom area in the back. The room was clean, fairly basic, nothing fancy. The bed was very good and pillows were plentiful. The covered courtyard that our room opened onto became the defacto living room, complete with comfortable chairs and couch and a self-serve bar. It is the place to meet and greet, have breakfast and afternoon drinks, put your feet up after a day of walking and compare notes with others. Staff were very friendly, very helpful. The night market just around the corner, and a good Sichuan restaurant just two blocks away, made up for an otherwise marginal location. It is only 8 minutes walk to the metro station, but 25 - 30 minutes to the restaurants, bars and night life of the lakes district. Traffic is awful and a cab will take you as long or longer than walking. And at the end of a day of walking, that last 8 minutes walking down a large, busy roadway seemed to take forever. Price was average for decent small hotels in Beijing: you can find cheaper and you can find more expensive. All-in-all, we liked Michael's House.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VonWoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

My wife and I traveled from Seoul South Korea, with our hosts from Korea. They are also Canadian and on a one year contract in Seoul. We are all in our Sixties and this was our first visit to Asia. We were there from Wed to Sat. We were in "Standard Double" Rms that were for $79.00 USD, directly from Micheals webb page. The Rms were larger than I expected..The curtained area, in the pictures, to the right of the bathrooms has the safe and a lot of room for luggage. I have just "reread" the last 10 reviews and agree, in general, with all of them! I have rated Micheal's excellent in all catagories, higher than some, because I feel it is as good as any place I have stayed, (Which includes T.Advisor's "Hidden Gems".) All staff were very friendly and positive.Sean was very good in responding to my barrage of email questions before we left Canada. In one of the last 10 reviews it is mentioned that Micheal's will arrange to have a driver pick you up. This would be a good idea. We didn't do this and as we arrived in the common area of the airport we were met by a english speaking lady who offered "Taxi?". She arranged for one at 400Yuan.(About 60.00 USD/Cdn.) Alarm bells went off in my head as I was sure Sean had said 130Y would be about right. The Taxi did not have a meter, identification, etc. Our return to the airport, on a slow traffic day, (Sat. P.M.) was 110.Yuan ($16.50 USD) by a driver arranged by Micheal's. Although our intial "Taxi" trip was for four, with a car load of luggage I'm sure "we had been, had"! (There is nothing negative here, for Micheal's!) They arranged a driver to the Great Wall and it was a full day.for 800 Yuan ($120.00 USD) for four of us in the car. Entrance fee to the Great Wall, cable car, Lunch, and Chang Ling Museum were extra.
If you read the last 9 reviews, I agree with everything positive

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed at Michael's House in Beijing during late April/early May 2010. The bed in this hotel was by far the most comfortable we found in China. The staff were very helpful; they purchased train tickets for us to Kowloon with a 15% service charge. They arranged an English-speaking tour guide for 400 RMB daily, which did not include transportation. The Jishuitan metro station is a short walk away and we used the subway system to travel with the guide to various destinations around the Beijing. On another day we hired the guide plus another 700 RMB for a car and driver to takes us to see the Great Wall at Mutianyu. Once the guide had shown us the Jishuitan metro station, we were able to get around the city on our own using the subway. One day we visited the Summer Palace via subway. Michael's House proved to be a great location. The area around the hotel is not impressive and quite dreary, but it is a neighborhood and we felt safe walking around the area. Great hotel and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailingjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

quiet located in a Hutong, good access to subway/metro
the environment is very unique , rooms a surrounding an open place, kind of atrium style, but sheltered by a glass roof, Furnitures are cozy, the rooms a very clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast is some american style coming along with typical kind of chinese dumplings. The staff is very kind, always supportive and helpfull. Absolutly value for money and the best alternative to a standard chain hotel. you do not nedd to carry your own computer, there is one for public use with high speed internet connection.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BohemianGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Small hotel with a a very friendly atmosphere from staff and between guests. The room was compact but nicely set up, and they have some larger suites available. It's a little way out of town, but near to the metro line 2 which is a very handy line for getting all around Beijing. The central courtyard is a nice shared space for sitting around in during the day, and is also the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank historynut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#111 of 6,599 in Beijing
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#39 of 6,599 in Beijing
523 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#57 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,198 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#20 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £52 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying A Convenient Location,the Hotel Offers You Traditional Ambiance And Modern Facilities With Guestrooms To Suit All Budgets.decorated With A Variety Of Main Colours, All Rooms Have Individual Styles.enjoy The Afternoon Tea With Your Friends Under The Glass Roof And Feel As If You Are Going Back In Time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing