We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and small” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kellys Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kellys Courtyard
Ranked #57 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice and small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

We stayed at Kellys Courtyard for 2 nights. We were a group of 3 and they managed to provide us a 3-bed-room, which was very nice. The room was a little bit crowded now, but we were out for the whole day, so it was ok. The Hostel is very nice with a cute decorated courtyard, where they serve the breakfast and where you can hang out and have some beer if you like to. The rooms are very nice decorated with antique looking furniture and a small bathroom, separated from the room with a glass wall (of course there's also a curtain). The shower is not separated, so be careful when taking a shower, as the whole bathroom is getting wet! The breakfast was soso, really little selection (Toast and some cookies) but ok, because it's included in the room rate. The staff is really nice and help you out with every question you have!
The location is nice, because you can see the old hutongs and some real chinese living, but taxi drivers have no clue how to get there...we told the taxi to drive us to the xisi metro station and walked the rest (around 10 min.). Everything is closed at night, despite a 24h KFC and some really small chinese shops, but we never felt scared. You can only get access to the hostel by ringing the door bell or with a small keycard, so it's really safe!
They also provide free WiFi, which is really nice!

The Hostel might be a bit overpriced for what they offer, but it's really charming and nice, so we probably would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou_Lou911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    60
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
83
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We arrived after a couple of weeks on the Transiberian railway and could not have been more happy with our choice of accomodation. It's absolutely gorgeous with a very friendly and relaxed athmosphere and fantastic value for money. Very helpful staff who arranged excellent tours and also helped us to arrange shipping.

The only mildly frustrating thing was that the free internet in fact was a shared computer with the staff of the hotel, who made it pretty clear that they expected you be very quick. But according to other reviews there is now a wifi installed.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solgrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

It was a real pleasure to arrive at Kelly's Courtyard after our first day's excursions around Beijing. Despite our driver's concern about finding the exact location of the hutong and a couple of wrong turns by us after we left the taxi - arrive in daylight, it is too easy to miss this hutong - we managed to find Kelly's at the end of a narrow alleyway. The outside looked a little plain and uninviting but once we were through the door, Kelly's felt like a warm and cosy oasis away from all of the noise and congestion of Beijing.
Anna was there to greet us on our arrival and pointed out the location of the metro station which was a short walk away.
As a family of 5 we had 2 rooms across the courtyard from one another both of which were clean and comfortable and tastefully furnished. The nice thing about the courtyard arrangement was that as a family we were able to put the children to bed after a busy day and sit and have an evening drink just outside the bedroom doors whilst browsing through an edition of Time Out Beijing and planning last minute trips that we wanted to do the next day.
The breakfast consisted of pastries,toast, fruit, and yogurt, juice and tea and coffee all tasty but the kids needed a top up mid - morning.
Kelly's provided us with a far more memorable stay in Beijing than a large chain hotel would have given us. The rooftop was popular with the kids where they could chill out and read or play cards and grab a drink from the fridge downstairs - the drinks are very reasonably priced so don't bother buying them from anywhere else. I would recommend Kelly's to anyone who would like something comfortable and a little different from a stay in Beijing but if it is luxury and mod cons that you are after this would not be the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington state
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed here for five days and found it to be a great place to stay while exploring the historical sights of Beijing. The decor and the location within a traditional hutong was far more interesting than staying in a sterile chain hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and willing to go out of their way to provide directions and recommendations. We ate at several nearby restaurants they recommended and were really happy with the food (we particularly liked their recommendation for Peking duck). It was really convenient to the subway and we didn't have to ride too far to go to most of the things we wanted to see.

No place is perfect, though, and being a budget option, of course, Kelly's Courtyard has some negatives that could bother some. They weren't particularly problematic for us.

-Location is both a plus and a minus. Our taxi couldn't get us all the way to the hotel because the streets were too narrow. It could be easy to get lost on the way there. Print a good map!
-Breakfast is pretty basic, continental-style. Coffee or tea, juices, bread, yogurt, fruit, and some baked goods. There are inexpensive options nearby for more substantial breakfast, though.
-Walls are thin, and noise can be heard from outside, but it isn't a noisy area. If other guests happened to be noisy, it could be an issue.
-Their wifi is free, but it does occasionally go down and require some form of manual intervention on their part.
-Beds are pretty firm. This is probably standard in this part of Asia.

I would definitely stay here again if I came back to Beijing!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graycodekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Kelly's Courtyard offers everything you need in a hotel in Beijing and more. The staff were fantastic providing everything from travel advice and an extra cup of coffee in the morning. The location was close enough to the major sites while being in an old typical hutong. The courtyard and the roof top garden were ideal places to relax after a long flight or a busy day site seeing. The included breakfast was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed 5 nights in Beijing. The ambiance in the guesthouse is above all expectations. Very nice furniture and very clean. The staff was marvelous. They speak very well English (that's a plus in China) and are also very helpful to search out anything you want in Beijing.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irtj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

We booked two double rooms in Kellys Courtyard for our family of 2 adults and 3 children. The traditional courtyard house is located at the end of a small alley in Bingmasi Hutong and has been sympathetically restored with the accommodation arranged in the rooms around the glass-roofed central courtyard. Each room has a comfortable double bed and a small shower room. Breakfast is taken in the courtyard at tables outside the rooms and consists of juice and tea, small local pastries and bread for toasting, also yoghurt and some fruit. Not a hearty breakfast but pleasant, and something to start the day on. There is a small spiral staircase leading to a pretty room upstairs where there is a table, computer, television and sofa, and then out onto a decked roof garden with tables and loungers that overlooks the surrounding Huntong. It is very pretty. The accommodation isn't ideal for families with very small children in that my husband was across the courtyard in one room with a child, whilst I was in another room with my two youngest. Of course, we knew this was the arrangement when we booked - but our desire to stay in a traditional Hutong courtyard house took precedence over sharing a room - and we were not disappointed with our choice! Sandy, the young man who was managing Kellys Courtyard during our stay is very friendly and very helpful, offering directions and advice. He also arranged a driver for us so we could visit The Great Wall. During our week stay my 5-year-daughter was unwell, and Kelly, the owner, was extremely kind and helpful, ferrying us to the hospital and pharmacy herself. Kellys courtyard is in an excellent location - we loved the Hutong, a real, living community, and yet just a very short walk to the nearest bus stop or metro station to reach all the big sights. You are literally a stones throw away from the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square........and taking a traditional Beijing taxi home at the end of a days sightseeing is a fun way to round off the experience. We loved it!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#46 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#68 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#92 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Houhai
CU National Youth Hostel
CU National Youth Hostel
#131 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#29 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellys Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellys Courtyard

Property: Kellys Courtyard
Address: No.25 Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xisi South Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#30 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Family Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kellys Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellys Courtyard Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing