We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service makes this place a standout for us.”
Review of Kellys Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kellys Courtyard
Ranked #66 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly service makes this place a standout for us.”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We have a lot of fun staying at Kelly's Courtyard. I think the biggest selling point for us is Sandy, who was really helpful. She speaks very good English and was able to tell us where to go and eat. What I love about it is that I feel like I am actually staying with a relative in Beijing and get to do somethings that is not completely tourist related. Another great thing is that Sandy and her co-worker live on-site so you have access to them 24/7.

Location: The hostel is pretty centrally located. It is close to two train stations and also near many bus lines. China has one of the cheapest public transportation, so we really glad to be able to take advantage of it. Although my husband and I often stay out late, we always feel safe walking around the area. There isn't much going on at night, for that you have to hop on a cab to the nearby night spot.

Note: the hostel is located inside a maze of small streets, called Hutong. Most taxi drivers have hard time finding the place. I would highly recommend that you print out the hotel's map (provide on their website) to help you navigate. Please note the car cannot drive all the way to the front of the hostel so be prepare to walk at least a few blocks.

Cost: I found the price of the stay to be reasonable. It is cheaper than the chain hotels but a bit more expensive from the low-end hostels. But I feel that I do receive good value for our stay, with English speaking guides, clean rooms and safe atmosphere. I would not purchase any service they sell through the hotel because they are extremely over priced. They offered a car service pick-up from the airport at 250 when on our own it only cost us 110. I think that is the case no matter were you go in China, if they know you are tourist, they tend to jack up the price. :(

Room: The room is a bit small (I don't really have enough space to layout my luggage except on the bed), but that is to be expected, you are staying in an old traditional building. The bed is a little bit hard, but still overall it is very comfortable. You do have your own bathroom. The AC is in good shape and quickly cool down the room, which I found to be extremely important during the hot summer day in Beijing. Because all the rooms face the courtyard, you do not have as much privacy as traditional hotel rooms.

Breakfast: Okay, it is nothing to write home about. Just basic toast, fruit, yogurt and juice. My husband loves the toast because they cut it thicker than the ones back in the State. We love the courtyard and really enjoy eating our breakfast there. I read someone complain about the juice to be watery, that is how they have it in China, because when we purchase juice from other places, they also come out watery. I didn't have to pay extra for my tea bags or coffee. They do have a cooler that sells some basic drinks such as beer, water, and soda. The water cost 3 and normally it cost about 2. It was so insignificant, we normally just purchase their water so we can have them cold and we do not have to carry more than what we need.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wcwlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    64
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
88
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights accompanying his mother and sister (first time travelers to China) before we got sick of the tourist-trap atmosphere and left to find a hostel.

Positives: rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. The courtyard is pretty and peaceful. Staff member Sandy is really kind and helpful. All staff speak good English and will make you feel comfortable and will conveniently arrange tours and transportation, for a nominal fee. There is a comfy rooftop sitting area and the showers are strong though they go cold after about 10 minutes.

Negatives: we thought the price tag (440RMB for a double) was too much for the quality of the rooms and service. There is a real feeling of stinginess, such as no hand soap in the bathroom, no toothbrushes, no tea bags next to the kettle (you have to buy them for 15RMB) and an appalling breakfast. A few pieces of cheap fruit, some crappy cookies, yogurt, fakey fruit juice, and Chinese bread. Also, laundry is charged BY THE PIECE... starting at 10RMB for a T-shirt. If we had done all our laundry it would have been nearly 1000RMB.... insane! We wouldn't have minded staying here if the price was more reasonable, about 250-300RMB per night. Also, avoid their tours. English-speaking staff member Anna has years of experience as a tourguide and will bully you into taking her extortinately priced Great Wall tours and will get angry and defensive if you question their value. This place is best for first timers to China who don't mind paying a lot for the convenience of English speaking staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fieryfox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We stayed at Kellys Courtyard for 2 nights. We were a group of 3 and they managed to provide us a 3-bed-room, which was very nice. The room was a little bit crowded now, but we were out for the whole day, so it was ok. The Hostel is very nice with a cute decorated courtyard, where they serve the breakfast and where you can hang out and have some beer if you like to. The rooms are very nice decorated with antique looking furniture and a small bathroom, separated from the room with a glass wall (of course there's also a curtain). The shower is not separated, so be careful when taking a shower, as the whole bathroom is getting wet! The breakfast was soso, really little selection (Toast and some cookies) but ok, because it's included in the room rate. The staff is really nice and help you out with every question you have!
The location is nice, because you can see the old hutongs and some real chinese living, but taxi drivers have no clue how to get there...we told the taxi to drive us to the xisi metro station and walked the rest (around 10 min.). Everything is closed at night, despite a 24h KFC and some really small chinese shops, but we never felt scared. You can only get access to the hostel by ringing the door bell or with a small keycard, so it's really safe!
They also provide free WiFi, which is really nice!

The Hostel might be a bit overpriced for what they offer, but it's really charming and nice, so we probably would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou_Lou911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We arrived after a couple of weeks on the Transiberian railway and could not have been more happy with our choice of accomodation. It's absolutely gorgeous with a very friendly and relaxed athmosphere and fantastic value for money. Very helpful staff who arranged excellent tours and also helped us to arrange shipping.

The only mildly frustrating thing was that the free internet in fact was a shared computer with the staff of the hotel, who made it pretty clear that they expected you be very quick. But according to other reviews there is now a wifi installed.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solgrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2011

It was a real pleasure to arrive at Kelly's Courtyard after our first day's excursions around Beijing. Despite our driver's concern about finding the exact location of the hutong and a couple of wrong turns by us after we left the taxi - arrive in daylight, it is too easy to miss this hutong - we managed to find Kelly's at the end of a narrow alleyway. The outside looked a little plain and uninviting but once we were through the door, Kelly's felt like a warm and cosy oasis away from all of the noise and congestion of Beijing.
Anna was there to greet us on our arrival and pointed out the location of the metro station which was a short walk away.
As a family of 5 we had 2 rooms across the courtyard from one another both of which were clean and comfortable and tastefully furnished. The nice thing about the courtyard arrangement was that as a family we were able to put the children to bed after a busy day and sit and have an evening drink just outside the bedroom doors whilst browsing through an edition of Time Out Beijing and planning last minute trips that we wanted to do the next day.
The breakfast consisted of pastries,toast, fruit, and yogurt, juice and tea and coffee all tasty but the kids needed a top up mid - morning.
Kelly's provided us with a far more memorable stay in Beijing than a large chain hotel would have given us. The rooftop was popular with the kids where they could chill out and read or play cards and grab a drink from the fridge downstairs - the drinks are very reasonably priced so don't bother buying them from anywhere else. I would recommend Kelly's to anyone who would like something comfortable and a little different from a stay in Beijing but if it is luxury and mod cons that you are after this would not be the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington state
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed here for five days and found it to be a great place to stay while exploring the historical sights of Beijing. The decor and the location within a traditional hutong was far more interesting than staying in a sterile chain hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and willing to go out of their way to provide directions and recommendations. We ate at several nearby restaurants they recommended and were really happy with the food (we particularly liked their recommendation for Peking duck). It was really convenient to the subway and we didn't have to ride too far to go to most of the things we wanted to see.

No place is perfect, though, and being a budget option, of course, Kelly's Courtyard has some negatives that could bother some. They weren't particularly problematic for us.

-Location is both a plus and a minus. Our taxi couldn't get us all the way to the hotel because the streets were too narrow. It could be easy to get lost on the way there. Print a good map!
-Breakfast is pretty basic, continental-style. Coffee or tea, juices, bread, yogurt, fruit, and some baked goods. There are inexpensive options nearby for more substantial breakfast, though.
-Walls are thin, and noise can be heard from outside, but it isn't a noisy area. If other guests happened to be noisy, it could be an issue.
-Their wifi is free, but it does occasionally go down and require some form of manual intervention on their part.
-Beds are pretty firm. This is probably standard in this part of Asia.

I would definitely stay here again if I came back to Beijing!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graycodekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Kelly's Courtyard offers everything you need in a hotel in Beijing and more. The staff were fantastic providing everything from travel advice and an extra cup of coffee in the morning. The location was close enough to the major sites while being in an old typical hutong. The courtyard and the roof top garden were ideal places to relax after a long flight or a busy day site seeing. The included breakfast was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#42 of 6,520 in Beijing
571 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#97 of 6,520 in Beijing
423 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#77 of 6,520 in Beijing
258 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
Courtyard 7
Courtyard 7
#23 of 6,520 in Beijing
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellys Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellys Courtyard

Property: Kellys Courtyard
Address: No.25 Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xisi South Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#30 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Family Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Kellys Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellys Courtyard Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing