We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hutong in a safe neighbourhood”
Review of Kellys Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kellys Courtyard
Ranked #55 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely hutong in a safe neighbourhood”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Kelly's hutong might be a little hard to locate as it is an alley within another alley road! However, once we got inside, we felt like we were transported into another world! We love the attention to details in the environment. It was a successful and interesting blend of traditional Chinese and modern English design. Our rooms had everything we needed and it was indeed a quiet hutong with the absence of a television.

Wifi works fine in our room and breakfast was a simple spread of bread with butter and jam. Muffins, cookies and cupcakes are available along with juices, or you can opt for coffee or tea.

However, Kelly might not be an appropriate accommodation spot of you are seeking intimacy as the walls are really thin. Everyone is able to hear what's going on in your room. Yes, your snoring, conversations and ahem, other sounds too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liyun86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    61
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
84
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at Kelly's Courtyard in March 2012 and it was quaint, genuine and welcoming. The rooms were comfortable, other guests conscious of each other but friendly and happy to share a bottle of red wine with you in the courtyard after a big day of amazing sightseeing. Bob was kind, friendly, gentle by nature and full of handy information and offers of assistance - a rare gem!

Tips to ensure your stay is enjoyable, book a driver to collect you from the airport/train who knows how to find Kelly's Courtyard and speaks English. Take earplugs just in case some guests want to stay up later than you. Get your drivers mobile number so if you are taking taxi's and they dont know how to get to Kelly's you can phone your driver who will give them directions.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Kelly's. It is a cute and cosy place with lovely decoration and attention to detail. The rooms are comfortable and uniquely decorated. The location is great- not a very touristy area (which we liked), but plenty of restaurants in walking distance and a 5-10 minute walk from the line 4 subway.

What really makes the stay is the small size of the place and the personalised, friendly service. Bob is lovely and goes out of his way to help the guests. He recommended restaurants and helped us with whatever information we needed as first time visitors to China.

Pros:
-Good location, easy access to subway
-Bob is a fantastic manager, very helpful and friendly
-Lovely decor, very authentic
-Nice simple breakfast
-Excellent heating/air conditioning (and personal controls in each room)
-Very clean, rooms well cleaned daily

Cons
-We had hardly any hot water and it went from very hot to ice cold with no warning
-No fridges in rooms (which we would have liked)
-Has the potential to be noisy if other guests are inconsiderate. Bob is very good about reminding people to be quiet, but that didn't stop a rude French tour guide who came daily to pick up some guests.
-Difficult to locate when you arrive from the airport, taxi drivers aren't generally willing to take you to a complicated destination (even if you have a phone number etc)

Overall, a great stay and I'd recommend this place to others!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l0ves2travelar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We spent 5 nights at Kelly's Courtyard in mid-April and the entire experience was wonderful.
From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and in good hands - Bob (manager) really is a star and was just so friendly and helpful!
The hotel is charming, quiet and beautifully decorated in a traditional Chinese style - plus comes with a roof-top terrace!
The rooms are small but adequate and the light breakfast served is a welcome start to busy sight-seeing days. There is also a fridge in reception where you can buy water, local beer, etc.
Kelly's is very well located - not only are you near the metro; main shopping streets; key sights etc but you also have the chance to experience real-life in a Hutong.
If you are staying in Beijing, be sure to choose Kelly's - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed here with my two best friends from the US. We took a three-day trip from HK to Beijing to see the most popular tourist attractions.

Kellys Courtyard is adorable--cute vintage furniture in the loby, cozy western-style antiques in the bedrooms, and a friendly staff member named Bob.

THANK YOU BOB! He was the most kind, helpful person during our stay. His advice for us to skip the Great Wall when it was cloudy out wasn't fully appreciated until we ventured out to Tiananmen/Forbidden City instead and realized we couldn't see anything.

The next day, as he suggested, we went to the Great Wall and were so glad we waited for such a clear day for the sights. I met other travelers who weren't as lucky and didn't see anything at the Wall. This local information was priceless and made our Great Wall trip worthwhile.

Like children traveling alone with a note for their parents, Bob would write us notes in Chinese like "please drop us at Xisi Station," so that our taxi driver could drop as back to our hutong. He also wrote us notes so that we could go to Dadong Roast Duck (do it!) and to the 798 Art District and beyond. He helped us plan which sites to see during the day--he was just so thoughtful and kind! I really appreciated his help. We were so charmed by him!

Note: The courtyard isn't very sound proof, so if you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs. We didn't mind the noise too much.

We traveled in February and the rooms and courtyard were plenty warm!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliePK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Got to learn of Kelly's Courtyard (KC) through a friend and booked ourselves here for 5 nights.

Location:
It was a little hard to locate the place while lugging two huge suitcases and the alleys look the same but we noticed little signs that led us to KC.

KC is tucked somewhere in the alleys but is within walking distance to eateries and subways.

Advisable to walk at least in pairs if you're returning to KC late at night, it's a safe neighborhood but dark so it's good to have company.

Service:
I would like to give thanks to Bob for his attentive and prompt service. We arrived a little early and the room wasnt quite ready and my companion gave some attitude in the hope that we will get our room asap.

Bob apologised thrice and assured us that it will be sorted out soon and sat us down with tea and got us breakfast. Sorry Bob, my friend can get a little "off" sometimes.

I didnt get the name of the other two ladies who served us but i must say they were equally friendly and prompt.

Room:
There are only 9 rooms in KC, either 2 single beds or one queen sized. Every room comes attached with a decent bathroom and heating system. All rooms are European-themed.

I didnt have a proper space to lay down my luggage and leave it open cos of the space, but the bed was decent for a few nights' rest.

This place may not be suitable if you are used to posh hotels with huge beds and spacious bathroom with built-in jacuzzi. But Im surprised to see a lot of caucasians throughout my 5 nites' stay at KC. We met a Scottish couple who were working in Beijing but stole some time to spend Christmas at KC.

If you are still skeptical you may consider staying for a night or two for the experience. I'm definitely going back there.

Ambience:
Quaint. Simply quaint. The exterior is very Chinese, from doors to walls but some of the furniture used were antiquated. Soft music was played in the background, think lounge, think pink martini.

If you are used to speaking like an amplifier, do tone down a little cos the place is only that big and noise is kept within. I was woken up by 3 noisy taiwanese girls one afternoon but what the heck...

Recreation room/Rooftop terrace:
Take a walk up the spiral stairs which leads to the recreation room for guests (there's a tv) and the roof top terrace. nice place to chill out with beer or coffee.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was the same everyday. Toast and tea/coffee, and served with fresh (and sweet oranges) and cherry tomatoes.

Others:
Bob gave us a brief "orientation" of KC and told us the places we can visit and things to do, from trying local food (peking duck) to shopping at the wholesale mall to watching the acrobatic performance.

Do bring your own toothbrush and paste (and shower caps for the ladies?) though they provide towels, shampoo and shower gel.

We were treated to wine and snacks on Christmas' eve and Christmas Day! the popcorn was awesome ;)

I guess i've covered the essentials for now... Thank you Bob and team for making our stay a memorable one and keep up with the service standard! I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Pick room 4 cos it has better privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DivyaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Can't be beaten for service-'Bob', (his English name) the lovely chap running the place, became a friend by the end of our stay-beyond helpful. Others have explained it's traditional location just a short walk from the subway, charming features, competitive prices...etc. Stay here, simple

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy-actor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#46 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#71 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#94 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#32 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellys Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellys Courtyard

Property: Kellys Courtyard
Address: No.25 Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xisi South Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#30 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Family Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kellys Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellys Courtyard Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing