We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special besides being cheap”
Review of Kellys Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kellys Courtyard
Ranked #68 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“nothing special besides being cheap”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This place is a great deal, if you are looking for a cheap accommodation close to the center of Beijing. But that's about it. The rooms are very small and basic. There is an open shower in the middle of the bathroom, which means everything will get wet. The location of the hotel is central but hard to find. Breakfast is as poor as you can get with one piece of toast and jam. In general, the place is clean and simple but lacks quality. I recommend it if you want to save some money, but I will not stay here next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffrige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    64
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
87
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed for 7 nights, really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful always willing to help, breakfast was included continental. Good place to relax quiet accommadation close to the metro with easy access to most major attractions.

Bob was always on hand to check if we needed any help with planning that days activity without trying to sell us anything. We did take his advice and go to the great wall at Mutianyu rather than the closer more touristy Badling section. This worked out at CNY750 for a taxi for the day plus our admission and cable car fees, all in all we were happy to go to a quieter part of the wall and didnt have the hassle of negotiating buses to get there though it probably is at the more expensive end of great wall trips.

If your looking for a taste of how people actually live in Beijing as well as a tranquil and comfortable hostel this is the place for you. If your looking for a backpackers in a traveler bar area then maybe try somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterGlasg0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happy place
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Kellys is the place if you want great value for your money. I enjoyed staying there because it did not have the typical touristy/expat vibe and/or overtly tacky Chinese decor for tourists who want to experience the "real" China. In my opinion, it's perfect for the yuppie on a budget, the older flashpacker, or travelers who want to feel "at home".

Interior: The courtyard is tastefully decorated with a small fountain and Chinese wooden furniture; my Mom even spotted an antique chair. There are also books and guidebooks you can browse/read in the common area. The bedroom we were in had a vineyard countryside feel to it. Really nice.

Location: It's in a no-fuss hutong in the shopping and financial area of Xidan so banks and ATMs are not a shortage.

It is also a 5-7 min walk to the Xisi Metro (closer to Xisi than Lingjing station) that runs quickly through essential lines you need to access the main tourist points.

Unlike in the Dongsi hutongs, where the main road is mostly boutiques, there are plenty of good quality local food choices on the main road. A little further walk (or a metro stop away) by the row of malls are plenty of Western, various Chinese, Japanese, Korean & Thai restaurants.

As mentioned in a previous post, the hutong (alley) may look dodgy upon entering Bingmasi as there is a food stall with street sitting and a recycling stall at the entrance but it is completely safe.

Also, if you're taking a cab, don't expect to be dropped off at Kellys door (like we did). Cars don't fit into many hutongs, you have to walk a few meters from the corner of Bingmasi hutong and Xiaoyuan.

Service: The service offered by John (Bob was on holiday) and other staff members were impeccable. It starts even before your arrival. They send a map and if you exactly follow the map they email you upon booking, you/your cab won't get lost. When we were not yet at the hotel much later than the time we indicated, John called to check in on us and also talked to our cab driver to make sure we don't get lost.

Since we checked-in past dinner time, John asked us if we've had dinner and if we would like to order food from a nearby restaurant that delivers. He arranged everything for us! The food was also very affordable and quite okay.

John also arranged a car for us to take to Mutianyu Great Wall. For us to save costs, he even asked other guests who may be interested to go to Mutianyu. We shared the car with two other guests.

If you ask John any question, he'll be happy to answer and give you a tip. The staff also always greets you. Kellys makes you feel like a guest in a very hospitable home.

Room for improvement:
The beds we had can be a bit sturdier, which is a common issue you'll read about many Chinese accommodations.

Room tip:
If you want to avoid hearing the neighbours request for the inner rooms. The neighbours are not constantly noisy, but if you're in one of the 3 rooms facing the hutong you'll hear an occasional conversation or two when people are outside their homes. Though this actually makes you feel you really are in someone's home.

If these don't bother you, Kellys is highly recommended especially if you're on a budget!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darylrose_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Very quiet, not the regular backpackers hostel you would expect...
Home like feeling, great for couples.
Wouldn't go there if you are looking for company or new friends...

Because of the great location (inside of a regular hutung), you will be able to eat breakfast in the local food stand with the workers, just 2 minutes walk and see how the people of city live.
The breakfast in the hostel is simple, so go out and try to enjoy the food outside.

John, the guy that works there is a great help, always with a smile and very welcoming. He can help a lot with planning and organizing time. But, if you want arranged tours(to the wall, i. E), I recommend to book it through one of the international youth hostels. You don't have to stay there for that...

We loved the place, and had a great time in Beijing.

Helpful?
2 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My mom came to visit me in China, and I wanted here to experience life in a hutong, so we booked a few days stay at Kelly's Courtyard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The hotel is located about 5 blocks south of the Xisi subway station. It is a very easy walk, and Xisi exit D has a working escalator, as well as an elevator if you arrive with luggage - see the attached map. The hotel was a little bit challenging to find at first. The Bingmasi hutong street has a burned out store at the end, which at the time of this review was being deconstructed. This area has a traditional hutong feel. Most of the other buildings have not been renovated, and it may seem a little rundown at first, but it is entirely safe.
Bob was kind and welcoming. He helped us get tickets to an acrobat show, chatted with us amiably about our day, and answered all of our questions. He made us feel like we never wanted to go anywhere else.
There was a basic continental breakfast included, with tea or coffee, toast, jam and butter. There was a comfortable upstairs deck as well.
The location cannot be beat. Line 4 connects with line 1, 2, and 10, and you are within walking distance of Beihai park. My mom and I enjoyed the stroll to the park, and then to the drum and bell tower. We found an incredible small tea house east of the tower neighborhood. It was really rewarding, meaningful, and unique. The other guests (about 6) were chatty and international.
If you are absolutely committed to having a Holiday Inn type experience, this place is not for you. The air conditioning is confusing, and you have to fiddle with the remote to get it to cool (it is the same as the AC in my room near campus, so I could figure it out, but you might just want to ask Bob to set it for you. Chinese appliances in general have too many settings, many of which seem superfluous, but I digress). I will stay here again the next time I have a visitor from out of town. It was a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GD-NC-Tx-Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Love this hostel! It is by far the best hostel we've ever stayed in. It offers a combination of traditional Beijing with the western comforts we are accustomed too.

It is a beautiful building consisting of a covered courtyard surrounded by a handful of guestrooms.

We were on honeymoon and had, prior to arrival, been dubious of staying in a hostel. Our fears disintegrated the moment the doors open and we were led into the courtyard. It is lit by a conservatory roof, complete with tree growing up through it, there is a fish pond - inside! And an ornate spiral staircase leads to a roof terrace where you can unwind and listen to the city hum (but not intrusively) around you!

Our room was clear, spacious, characterful an comfortable and came with an ensure bathroom.

Bob, the host, is so helpful and friendly, we did weary thing he recommended and had the time of our lives in Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex_Eamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

If you plan to stay in Beijing I would not miss this accommodation. It's quite an amazing place. In a typical hutong (so called the area with all small houses connected by lanes) in the middle of the city. It's an experience by itself. I found it quite easy to find it, once you follow the instructions given by email. English is well spoken in the hotel, which is a rare thing. Breakfast is quite normal, nothing to call back home, but you come here more for the experience than anything else. Even if all the rooms face the courtyard, there is such a silence that you can sleep through the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef_TravelPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,520 in Beijing
571 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#94 of 6,520 in Beijing
423 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#76 of 6,520 in Beijing
258 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
Courtyard 7
Courtyard 7
#23 of 6,520 in Beijing
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellys Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellys Courtyard

Property: Kellys Courtyard
Address: No.25 Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xisi South Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#30 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#36 Family Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kellys Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellys Courtyard Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing