We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decline in quality in 2 years” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel
Ranked #19 of 921 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decline in quality in 2 years”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

I had stayed at the hotel a few years ago and loved it. Unfortunately, something has happened. The 4 public computers were down to 2, and often they were not working or occupied. The room no longer supplied soap, toothpaste, toothbrushes, etc. Had to ask for more tp. Noisier than before. The wonderful roof area is no longer for the public, except to hang wash to dry. Our bathroom locked us out, so we could not enter the empty room. The staff was quite helpful on each occasion, but there should not have been so many problems. There were no hooks to hang clothing. The location is excellent, but the hotel was in much better shape 2 years ago.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    51
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
3
8
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2010

I found the hotel location is near to Beijing Metro Station.
But the budget room is in the basement, no window, low roof but quite big bed for one person. The hotel give free internet access at the loby and the provide two computer for public use (if U don't bring your own computer).
The food at the hotel is self service, not too bad but not delicious either.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samajivikata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

Horrible odor of tobacco everywhere ! This place nobody even understand what "no smoking" mean. And more musty smell in the room. I arrived late night so I stayed 1 night. I asked for better room, they just don't mind, I ran away.
Also WiFi don't really work even at the lobby , slow or nothing.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippeSama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRod83
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

We ended up here after the Forbidden City Hostel botched our reservation. The room was right beside the front desk/lobby area so it was a little noisy, though totally understandable and not too bothersome. The room was clean but a little chilly even without the AC on. The bed was HARD as rock but we noticed this is sort of a China thing. Great service at the front desk with assistance in booking tours and giving us tips as to what to see and where to eat in Beijing. Great location, close to the subway and to a wide array of restaurants and convenience stores as well as one of the "hutongs" in Beijing.
Their computers suck though, they keep dropping the internet connection, so if you expect to communicate with someone via email bring a laptop/ipod or anything to avoid using their computers.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

Having done a lot of research on what hostel to choose, and being on tight budget, I chose the Drum tower hostel and man! I am so thankful I did.

Checked website online, checked prices(really affordable), liked the look of it, read some reviews and I decided I'd give them a call and ask them where they are exactly at and if they actually have rooms free, because many conflicting websites showed different availability. So I was in for a pleasant surprise because they actually made the booking for me on the phone! Reached beijing at around 6 am, called up the hostel and they happily gave me directions and it is REALLY easy to find. Very close to the metro station, right next to the drum tower and bell tower, walking distance to the Huahai bar street, I completely loved the location.

Next up the interiors, the lobby area is very lounge like and with a very calm and relaxed type of atmosphere. We had a triple room ensuite and it was clean and had all the necessary knick knacks. I couldn't find anything to complain about. There's a rooftop where you can sit and chill out and adore the awesome view of the bell and drum tower and at all the local chinese activiies going on around you. I heard that they are starting a bar and barbeque on the rooftop, if that happens, there's no reason why anyone should give this hostel a miss. The room cost us 200 rmb a night, the dorms were much cheaper but I dont think they were available when we were there.

Brian and the others at the desk are really helpful, and you could call em up in the middle of the night to ask them where to go at that hour and how to get there. I had a fantastic experience here and I would return there without a doubt.

Details:
1) Linen included
2) Wifi
3) Soap, Toothbrushes, Paste, and other toiletries
4) English speaking staff
5) Tour arrangements
6) TV, Kettle, AC, Ample charge points
7) Clean bathrooms
8) Excellent Location
9) Total value for money

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeemaHari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

First of all, the staff spoke English which is not so obvious in China! What's more they were very helpful in everything: buying train tickets and organising trips to the Great Wall, Summer Palace, etc. The hostel is right in the centre, walking distance to all of the main sightseenig spots. There are plenty of restaurants around and I felt the area was safe. Rooms are cozy but differ in size (I stayed in two different twin rooms and one was much bigger than the other). However, they are very new and clean, only the bathrooms are a little lower standard but still very good.
The hostel is definitey very nice and I honestly recommend staying there!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ola_PL_Warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

我觉得你们公司真好,陪我聊很长时间,陪我去一些地方,多么好。我确实喜欢这个青年旅舍。你们特别好。谢谢你们的服务。下次我一定会来看你们。

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heinkersbeil89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#29 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#133 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Xidan
Chinese Box Courtyard Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Leo Hostel
Leo Hostel
#6 of 921 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Houhai
Courtyard 7
Courtyard 7
#20 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Chongwenmen
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
#4 of 921 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel

Property: Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel
Address: No 51 Old Gulou Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 921 Speciality Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE DRUM - Specialist Capsule Hostel & Hotel All dorm beds are private capsules. Private rooms are 3 star hotel grade. Just 200 meters from subway lines 2 & 8, & Drum Tower. Great tours & very sociable pizza cafe/bar... The Drum "Hot-stel" combines hotel accommodation with new-concept dorm room design.Free wireless/wifi internet is available throughout and the entire hotel has central heating along with air-conditioning. * All private rooms newly renovated with secure key-card access, flatscreen TV, western toilet and 24 hour hot water shower. * All dorm rooms have been upgraded into separate V.I.P. capsule bunk beds with secure keycard access doors, offering complete privacy to every dorm guest * Ensuite single capsule-rooms available (1.7m height, 3-4m wide - with attached toilet & shower).Beijing's best option for those just looking for a cheap private space with washroom facilities. * Don't miss the rooftop viewing deck, with unbeatable views of the Drum & Bell Towers, or consider booking a spacious roof-garden room. * Relax in the comfortable lounge area on one the ikea sofas or Korean/Japanese-style tea rooms. (* The onsite sports cafe/bar provides a great meeting place for guests, offering a hearty selection of western cuisine, fresh coffee, draft beer and cocktails.) * Great Wall of China tours and more can be easily booked through reception. Reception also arranges ticket booking and laundry facilities. * Excellent location, just 200 meters from 2 major subway lines. Easy access to Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven, Summer Palace, Lama Temple, Silk Market, Olympic area, Embassy area, all major train stations, the airport and more.Beijing will be your oyster with the free Beijing subway & sites map. Bicycle rental available. * Locally, banks/ATMS, post office, 24 shop, pharmacy etc are all just a short walk away. Stroll down to the nearby historical Drum & Bell Towers, and explore the ancient hutong quarter around the picturesque houhai lake, lively both day and night. * The Drum "Hot-stel" welcomes all. For more information please read below and see the photograph section. You can also contact us direct: drumtower.nihao (gmail). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing