We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of Crescent Moon

Crescent Moon
Ranked #186 of 12,817 Restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Xinjiang
Neighbourhood: Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Amazed this place hasn't had better reviews as this was the best meal of our time in Beijing (from some fairly stiff competition: everywhere we ate was recommended by a friend who had lived there for two years). The lamb skewers are very fatty - they're supposed to be - you basically have to eat them really hot as soon as they arrive, then they're delicious - if you leave them too long less good, for sure. All the dishes were good, but the big plate chicken and the green beans particularly stand out in memory as highlights of the meal (along with the lamb kebabs!)

Date of visit: December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LightTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 87 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

Tho I understand the bad review before mine I found the place an enjoyable experience with great tasting dishes. I enjoyed the lamb kebebs and green beans(spicy dry fried) and the fresh yogurt so much that I visited twice in my one week in Beijing.
The lamb kebabs are definitely small but very tasty and so I ordered two of them .And still reasonably priced.
Rather plain decor and service but in an interesting hutong. Go for the food and experience.

Date of visit: September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mozenbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Really authentic Xinjiang food down an interesting hutong. Be sure to try the chicken pie. Service is a bit surly, decor pretty tacky but fun but food makes up for it all. You'll find it difficult not to over order as it is all so good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank twelve12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 November 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 October 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Crescent Moon also viewed

 

Been to Crescent Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.