We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location, charming courtyard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flowering House Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #72 of 1,347 Beijing B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quiet location, charming courtyard hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked a standard room for 5 nights but were told that we had been “upgraded” and that we would need to switch rooms for our last night. The first room we stayed in had 2 single beds pushed together, a nightstand, a chair, and an old school large TV that only had Chinese channels. There was only one very small window above the bed which meant you got very little sunlight in this room. The second room we stayed in had more a platform style bed that was built into the room that was kind of cool. This room also had big windows so it was much brighter, but also a lot less private since it was right on the courtyard next to the office so people are also milling about. Both rooms had heated floors and both bathrooms were similar in that the shower was not separate from the bathroom (ie no curtain dividing the shower from the rest of the bathroom) so that everything gets wet when you shower. The 2nd room’s bathroom was better set up though as the position of the shower was better situated so that only the toilet area got wet but that the sink area stayed dry.

I am not exactly sure if we were truly “upgraded” or what the difference was between all the rooms, but looking at the website, my impression was that the more expensive rooms were bigger. The walls are thin and you can hear the people around the courtyard quite easily. One of the rooms had what appeared to be a laundry type sink right outside the door and when people used this sink, it sounded like someone was in our bathroom. One night we woke up to what sounded like 2 little children calling out for Mommy, but turns out it was just the cats that roam around the courtyard. We had to ask for a new roll of toilet paper each time we ran out, as it was never replaced.

The staff was friendly and spoke English well. We saw signs in the office advertising tours that they could help set up, but we set up our own tours so never utilized them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kauai2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    28
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
13
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This place is in excellent location. From Forbidden city, it is within a walking distance. People are super nice. Everybody speaks English. They go out of their way to help guests. One thing you have to keep in mind is you have to reach this place before it gets too dark. Otherwise it might be difficult to find it, afterall Its China.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra van N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed in this courtyard hotel for two weeks end of October 2013. A lovely quiet place with friendly and helpful staff. My warm bedroom with a comfortable bed looked onto the flowering courtyard, hence its name. It's not far from the metro station while being down an authentic hutong with a lively market every day. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A somewhat pricey room, given the quality, but a good location, nice courtyard, friendly staff and not too touristy a location.

Breakfast was limited and only available until 10. The shower in the room didn't drain (double room, en suite bathroom), which was a shame because it was actually a nice bathroom. The room itself was pretty dark.

I probably wouldn't stay here again, but that's mostly because Beijing has so many other options.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I recently stayed here for 4 nights. This 'boutique hotel', in the hutong area of Beijing, gives guests the opportunity to stay in what was once an original typical Beijing house.. All the rooms are off a central courtyard and the one that I stayed in actually had a 'da-kang' - a huge bed with a mattress set into a stone base! The staff were great - very helpful and with time to chat.
One point: the hutongs are not really designed for vehicles and the address was difficult to find. Therefore, to avoid paying an inflated taxi fare, it's best to flag down a pedi-cab (a bike pulling a rickshaw) and let a local take you there.
The area is very safe, gives you a great chance to live as a 'local' and is very convenient for restaurants and the wonderful 'subway system' (ie the metro/underground).

Room Tip: Ask for the one with a 'da-kang'
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy-harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hutong is in a great location, it is within walking distance to the Forbidden city, Tianamen Sq and my favorite place NanLuoGuXiang Alley. NanLuoGuXiang Alley is a cool place for food and drink in the evenings with live music and all sorts going on.
I will say at the hutong the rooms were a bit small but I expected this already, you should be aware it is far from luxury but is clean and beautiful in its own way
The girls at reception are really good fun tho and are willing to help with anything you might need.

I would say however that if you are going to book any trips the hotel is really expensive, if you go to Forbidden City or Tianamen Sq you will be offered much better deals.

All in all it was the perfect place to stay for us and definitely recommend it!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANNYBOI83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel had a great location for accessing many different parts of Beijing. The surrounding hutongs are teeming with life, and you get a great taste of day to day living by simply walking around the area. It's a short walk to Nanluoguxiang hutong, and just a bit further to the Houhai area with several lakes and lots of bars and restaurants. There is a subway station within a 5 minute walk. The wifi worked well the whole time. The staff was friendly, and everyone spoke English well.

My room was charming but small, though I didn't need it for anything other than sleeping really. The bathroom was a bit cramped, but I didn't think this was such a bad thing. If you want a fancy room when you travel, then this isn't the place for you. If you're more focused on the location and activities available when you leave your room, then this place is great. I found the neighborhood much more charming compared to staying in a hotel closer to the Forbidden City, which I did for a couple nights after staying at Flowering House.

I bought a bicycle on the street after I arrived, and I think this is the best way to see the city. From the hotel, I rode to Tiananmen, the Forbidden City, Houhai, and even the Olympic Park. The courtyard itself was charming, and I spent several evenings drinking beer and relaxing at the tables outside.

Room Tip: My friend had the "comfort room" which was right next to my standard room, and his room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Sitting on the City Walls (Beijing) Courtyard House
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,364 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flowering House Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flowering House Courtyard Hotel

Property: Flowering House Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.23 Huageng Hutong, Jiao Dao Kou, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 1,347 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flowering House Courtyard Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a 5-minute walk to subway,a 15-minute walk from Nan Luo Gu Xiang, the charming Flowering House Hostel features beautifully designed rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen cable TV. The hostel has a reading corner and provides car rental and laundry services. Hostel Flowering House is a 15-minute walk from Yong Ong He Gong Lama Temple. It is approximately 25-minute drive from the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square. Beijing International Airport is a 30-minute drive away. Flowering House’s air-conditioned rooms feature traditional Chinese décor. An electric kettle, a hairdryer and a work desk are available. The hotel’s 24-hour front desk provides luggage storage, while a tour desk arranges for sightseeing tours. A snack bar is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Flowering House Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing