We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“layed back home-like environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Templeside Hutong Guest House
Ranked #16 of 1,347 Beijing B&B and Inns
Beijing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“layed back home-like environment”
Reviewed 26 July 2010

if your looking for a quality place to stay with friendly people this is the place. it's also a great choice for anyone who wishes to experience the more typical Chinese lifestyle. Comfortable facilities and an extremely friendly and helpful staff. i highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dirt912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    30
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
20
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2010

I just spent 3 weeks living a Lianlian Guest house and now that I have left, I feel a real sadness. I went there to improve my Mandarin and it worked. The people there adopted me into their family and I was able to really get a real experience of living in China. The location in the Hutong gives you a real sense of life of normal people in China today and if you want big town Beijing, the metro is only a 10 minute walk away. This is not a luxourious place but it is clean and full of life. Bing and his wife Jojo run a real inn and are there to help you deal with any problems you may have. Andy and William who run the office speak good and improving english. Bing even offers private trips to the Great Wall and to other points of interest. Give them a visit if you want to come and learn about China today. I would highly recommend Lianlian and would return again at a heartbeat. I already miss my Chinese family.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akeyserlingk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2010

I spend two nice weeks in this hotel. The subway station is close and even if location is in the centre of Beijing, it is beautiful traditional historical building in hutong area. All sightseeing places in the city are accessible by subway or by foot, for longer trips like the Grate Wall you can ask the guy at reception and you will get all information and support.
Staying in the hotel wasn't only accommodation, but also cooking course, Chinese language course, learning about Chinese culture, having new friends, eating delicious food and drinking good beer with them.
People in all Beijing are very kind and helpful, people in the hotel are fantastic. I came to Beijing alone, but at this hotel I felt like at my home.
Thank you for really good time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YanCzechRepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma Queensland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

We had a wonderful time with Bing, William and Andy at Lian Lian. They could not have been more friendly and generous to us. We were invited to share meals with them and they could not have been any more obliging to us. It is a real taste of the old China to stay at the hutong and be in the midst of the hustle and bustle. Great location for Forbidden City and other tourist locations. Rooms are small and VERY clean. Great advice given for tourist activities including personal delivery and collection to the the incredible acrobatics show we attended.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thompnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xinbei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

need to take a while from subway to there
n if there's snowing or snow , be aware of what you wear
the service is nice and friendly, I'd like to visit them in the future
but the bathroom's door of the room we stayed is broken, hope they'll fixed it
a hostel that very "Beijing"and has nice atomsphere of the Chinese culture/hutong culture
at last day, becuz we missed a dinner wz all the vistor,the boss and the servicer
the boss insisted to have a dinner wz us, the places which he took us to is very local and nice, its the most memorable dinner n delicious in our trip

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiDebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2010

It's a tiny but awesome hostel remodelled from old Beijing houses in which you must enjoy staying, especially with the overwhelming hospitality! Not only the staff offer help day and night, but the host also gives you surprises like a dumpling night and even a birthday party!!! Moreover there's sufficient supply of heat and hot water in the room which can help you survive the freezing nights. We're totally impressed so we would say this is the best hostel we've ever stayed because it makes you feel like HOME!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whymabelwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

The best thing about the Lianlian guest house is the staff -- really friendly and helpful people who bent over backward to make our stay pleasant. The location is not bad, though it involves a bit of walking to get to the metro, we had no problems getting around the city from there. Rooms are nice, you might complain if you had only ever stayed in 4-star hotels before but they're excellent if you're on a budget. And the food is brilliant and very abundant!

Would definitely stay there again, mainly because of Jojo and her husband and the lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark09ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
Red Lantern House
Red Lantern House
#5 of 1,347 in Beijing
310 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,347 in Beijing
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Templeside Hutong Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Templeside Hutong Guest House

Property: Templeside Hutong Guest House
Address: No.8 Zhaodengyu Road, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China (Formerly Templeside Courtyard Guest House)
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,347 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Templeside Hutong Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in Xicheng District Beijing, next to the White Pagoda Temple, which is why we named "Templeside".the Forbidden city and TianAnMe Square /Beihai park is abt 3 km away. We did some redecoration work at the end of 2014 including buying new supplies and linen in the bedroom and bathroom. The business is ran by Ryan who born in Beijing.Our staff know a great deal about Beijing which optimize your trips to China so that you can enjoy the best of culture in China and experience more of Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Templeside Hutong Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing