We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel strives to be number 1, and they deserve to be!”
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
Ranked #15 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This hotel strives to be number 1, and they deserve to be!”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

There are many reviews written about this hotel which describe the location, the opulence of the rooms, the amazing service, incredible food etc, but I want to describe the service, it was absolutely the best service and experience that we have had in any hotel, anywhere.

My wife and I were traveling from the United States to Australia for Christmas to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. It was a family trip, two adults and two children. Don't ask why but we transferred via Beijing, and as our anniversary actually fell on the day that we arrived in Beijing we decided to book an overnight stay, for one night, while transiting.

Based on the reviews from Tripadvisor, the Fairmont was the only hotel we considered. We booked two Gold Grand rooms, and as our children are young we had planned to separate the adults and just sleep. I had contacted the hotel in advance to arrange an airport transfer and request two adjacent rooms. This is where the wonderful service began:

The airport meet and greet was priceless, a representative met us at the aircraft door, guided us through immigration and customs, picked up our backs and brought us down to a sub basement executive level, for car pick up...after a 14 hour flight, it was very humane. Bottles of water were available in the car. 10 minuets into the ride, the hotel guests services manager called the driver on his cell phone to speak with us, and welcome us to Beijing and offer to take care of any requests or services.

When we arrived at the hotel, the Director of Guest Services and an entourage of staff met us at the lobby door, and we were escorted straight up to our room for "in-suite" check in. Along the way, we expressed an interest in trying Peking Duck for dinner, and our escort made an immediate advance reservation for us; we chose to stay at the Fairmont as it was late, and we had young children.

Our room. The Director of Guest Services had arranged a special treat to celebrate our anniversary; an upgrade to a large suite with an adjoined room for the kids. The kid's room was set up with a Wii, DVDs, and lots of gadgets to keep them busy. The adults had fresh flowers in both our living room and bedroom, and a special chocolate cake, personalized for our anniversary was waiting for us in our room.

At dinner, the children were presented with small toy panda's for their keepsake, very thoughtful indeed. The club lounge was wonderful with very nice refreshments and an excellent breakfast service.

I really, truly wish that we had planned more time at the Fairmont, because it was in itself a destination that made our trip. I will end by saying that the entire team at this hotel works hard to become and remain the number one hotel in Beijing, it is not an accident that they are highly ranked...they really are that good. I would never stay anywhere else in Beijing, and just may go back to Beijing and the Fairmont just to experience the spa, steam room, exercise rooms and pools.

Thank you Fairmont Beijing!!

Room Tip: Book the Gold Level rooms, it is absolutely worth it! Don't question it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    229
    60
    13
    10
See reviews for
207
403
74
446
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in September 2011 and could not have had a better time. My wife was attending a conference elsewhere in the city during the day and the Fairmont became our city oasis at night. The Cut dining room was fantastic, the restaurant in the basement was also really, really good. We upgraded at check-in to the Gold level, which has its own private breakfast area / lounge. Staff was warm, friendly and little to no language barriers. Room service was also tremendous. We booked an excursion to Mutianyu Great Wall through the hotel, which was a great day in itself, if a little touristy.

Also great access to the Beijing subway system - 2 minute walk from Yong'anli Station.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Gold floor on check-in, definitely worth the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MA_n_PF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Just do it and find put yourself x the people are fantastic, language is no issue and everyone is so friendly, local restraints are amazing and extremely cheap. I have had a really good vacation

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigadoon, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Beautiful room with everything one could wish for, and an extremely comfortable bed. Such an attention to detail. Exotic Chinese miniature still lifes in the room delight the eye - lacquered boxes, perfect apples on a plate, face washers tied with ribbon. Not a fan of the bathroom with picture-window-view-into-bedroom style of hotel room, though the Japanese-style automated loo was great. Also enjoyed the excellent quality bathroom amenities, brocade disposable scuffs, Nespresso machine, automatic curtains and blinds. The room had a great many appliance lights which could not be turned off (like smoke detectors, sprinklers, wall switches, TV etc lights) so it was a bit like sleeping in an aircraft cockpit. Staff were excellent, very helpful and pleasant always. We were only there for two nights and ate all meals in the hotel because we enjoyed the Chinese restaurant, especially the Peking Duck. Usually we avoid hotel restaurants. Breakfast buffet was also very good, if pricey. We also appreciated the hotel lobby bar, which had live music sometimes and delicious mojitos. The hotel might not be the most central location for a first-time Beijing visitor but it is very close to Yonganli Metro. The metro is an amazing deal, and works superbly – we used it to get to the Summer Palace and back again, having missed this on a previous visit to Beijing. We used the hotel limo to the airport which was perfect (cost 560 yen). Would probably stay there again if we return to Beijing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozitravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Not much to say except that its new, clean, comfortable, and a Fairmont quality experience in China. Staff speaks excellent english and is very helpful. 5-star can be shaky in Beijing with many choices and variable quality, You cant go wrong here, its what you would expect from a Fairmont property. Yes its true, its a heated toilet seat in there.

Beijing is huge, traffic is pretty bad except at off hours watch your location when choosing a hotel. Dont forget to look down by the Gugong (Imperial Palace) Wangfujing area or be ready to take a subway to save some travel time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLRfromVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I have just recently returned from a stay in the Fairmont Beijing, it is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The location, staff, level of service, security, spa you just couldn't find fault with anything. From start to finish it was one of the best trips I have had, if in doubt just go and enjoy it.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 15th floor, very quiet and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limerick89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon for 3 nights in November. We felt the location of the hotel was great, only a few minutes walk from the silk market and train station. We also found plenty of restaurants in the same area as the silk market, so you just need to walk a few hundred metres to be spoilt for choice.

We were given the auspicious room 808. I get the feeling the views are relatively the same from anywhere in the building - office blocks and other large buildings surround it. The room was very large, the powerpoints all universal and the bathroom and bed incredible. The toilet has a japanese-like contraption that washes then dries your bottom, then adds a fragrance when you stand up. I didn't like it, my wife did. The shower is so big you could pretty much run laps in it. The desk has connections for every computer input/output you could want. The internet was very slow compared to other hotels we have stayed at, even when using the ethernet cable.

Hotel service was great. Not all staff speak english that well but they all understood and clearly made an effort to get everything right. Nightly turndown service is provided. Breakfast is great, make sure it is included with the room as it would have been over 500RMB for two people otherwise.

Ate at lunar 8 restaurant once and had the beijing duck, which was yummy. Service was great, and once our waiter knew we loved duck he advised us of the traditional condiments and made sure we had some duck soup to go with it. It was dead empty though - only 2 other couples came in the entire time, and at the end it was just us and all the staff. Picking the last dumpling off a plate and having it cleared off the table seconds later makes it a little uncomfortable since you know you're being watched, however discreetly. Not the staffs fault though. The food wasn't too expensive given where we were eating, but the wine list was an altogether different matter. I think the cheapest bottle was 460RMB, but most were well north of 600RMB. We'd already committed to getting a bottle before seeing the wine list, and the wine was great, but it'd be nice if they had some options available for a little less.

Only complaints were that the towels smelt very smokey (not cigarattes, just like they'd been smoked) which was off-putting and the lights in the ceiling and room at night made me feel like I was at an airport. The smoke alarm, some other large red light, the phone screen, the other phone blinking.. not sleep breaking but certainly distracting.

We found the whole stay very routine. Nothing upset us, everything was smooth, yet nothing made us think we would definitely come back. I guess it has a lot of business guests and this is probably what they're after. Not sure why it is number 1 in beijing, but then I can't see any reason it couldn't be. All a bit beige really.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thetownfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,350 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,473 in Beijing
735 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,473 in Beijing
320 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#23 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,387 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Property: Fairmont Beijing
Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Business Hotel in Beijing
#10 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#14 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#15 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#86 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China - voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing