We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever”
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
Ranked #15 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I'm a travel and hotel business traveler for over 25 years. I've stayed in many hotels. This hotel is the best ever. From the service to the decor, this is what 5 star is all about. Others have said to pay for the Oro or Gold floor. I agree, you save on breakfast and light dinner in the lounge access. If you like or are familiar with Fairmonts, they bring her unique brand of consistency to this location. Oh, and download the Fairmont Beijing Travel App...also outstanding.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
6  Thank tweyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

The Fairmont Beijing is truly a 5 star hotel. Our room had a sitting area with a desk/work area. Internet access was available. Room also had a refrigerator, iron and board, safe, large screen TV, coffee maker, and large bath with tub, separate shower, sink, and a toilet with a heated seat and water cleaning apparatus. The king bed was very comfortable. Turn-down service is available in the evening. Bathrobe, slippers and bottled water were provided. The only negative in the room was the poor lighting at the sink.

Room lights are controlled by a master switch. We had trouble turning off all the lights with the master switch until we found the individual switches on the night stand lamps. Follow the cord to the switch which is behind the table. Newspaper (China Daily) was delivered to the room during our 3 day stay.

Breakfast was in the Lunar 8 Restaurant on the lower level. The buffet breakfast included a good selection of Western and Chinese food. Good made to order omelets.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdcwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is a value for money. Everything is in a modern setting. Although I did not stay on the executive floor, the feeling was the same except there is no breakfast on my floor. However that was more than compensated by its nice cafe.
Next time I will try its Gym.

Room Tip: It is situated in the Business District and in these days you do not have to stay in the 5 stars at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewM32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Fairmont Beijing following your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that next time you visit us, you will be able to experience our Fairmont Gold executive floor, which in addition to complimentary breakfast in our award-winning Gold Lounge, also offers complimentary afternoon tea, evening cocktails and bedtime desserts! We do hope that you will have time also to try our gym, which has fantastic views over the Central Business District.

Once again, thank you for your positive feedback. We hope to welcome you again to our hotel soon (perhaps you can take care of our current complimentary Gold upgrade promotion to try Gold during your next stay)!

Sincerely,

Nicholas Stipp
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed 3 nights in June. We had a late arrival and are room was not quite right... They front desk and management was very helpful and gave us a comp upgrade without us asking. It was a good start to the arrival.

Room was very clean and spacious. Quite and wonderful beds. Shower was impressive.

Internet the best on our Asia trip, quick and steady wifi.

Rate included the lounge access on 20th floor. Good breakfast and snacks daily. Highly encouraged getting this in your rate/package as it was worth every penny. Friendly staff fin this area with different foods daily.

Overall excellent. It costs a little more than other hotels but worth every penny. I will stay here again if i ever return to Beijing.

Thanks again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Good location not too loud and very convenient. Rooms are huge with great features!
Spa and swimmingpool are gorgeous. Nice bar in the entrance.
Good beds and great bathrooms!
Check it out yourself!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Our group stayed at the Fairmont for 6 nights and enjoyed every moment of our stay. We had recently stayed at the Peace Hotel in Shanghai so we had the best of both worlds....old and new. Staff was so amazing and helpful and always there to assist. When you are away on a business trip for 2 weeks it is so nice to feel so welcome. Great location as well. Will be back I am sure!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Fairmont Beijing following your recent stay. I am glad that your group enjoyed your stay with us and our property in Shanghai.

We pride ourselves on the warmth and sincerity of our staff and I am happy that we succeeded in extending our welcome to you. Hopefully it allowed you to relax after your lengthy business trip.

Once again, thank you for your positive feedback. We hope to welcome you and your colleagues to our hotel again soon.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Stipp
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Travelling with my Wife, Father-in-law and myself to this Gem in Beijing placed a special shine on our experience in the nations Capital!

Travelling to many hotels with my work, I must say on a leisure stay here it was immediately obvious to us this hotel places exceptional pride on its customer service! This was amongst the best I have experienced. All the staff listened to our questions and went above and beyond the call ensuring all angles of our experience were covered from sightseeing (Tiananmen square and Imperial palace only 20 minutes away) with information provided by the informative Bob from concierge and helpful Gerry the porter in this area.

The famous steak house in the Fairmont closed the night we were there, however room service more than adequate providing an excellent array on Western and Asian dishes.

Our rooms on the 21st and 22nd floors respectively had to be seen to be believed. The Fairmont sells itself in it's extremely comfortable rooms and hand chosen designs.

The hotel facilities are first class. The indoor swimming pool (20 meters) perfect for a few laps in addition to a very relaxing jacuzzi attached. The gym amenities are ultra modern and themselves with an excellent outlook.

A BIG thankyou.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearfamily10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Fairmont Beijing following your recent stay. I am happy that you and your family had a great experience at our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay in the capital – you are welcome!

We pride ourselves on the warmth and sincerity of our staff and I am happy that we succeeded in extending our welcome to you. I’ve passed along your positive comments to our Chief of Concierge, Bob, in particular. He has great pride in this city and I am happy he could help you discover all the amazing sites that Beijing has to offer!

It is unfortunate that you were here on a Monday and unable to sample our award-wining steak house The Cut while you were here. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you again on any other day of the week to enjoy its fabulous cuisine!

Once again, thank you for your positive feedback. We hope to welcome you to our hotel in the not-too-distant future.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Stipp
Director of Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,587 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,180 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,568 in Beijing
820 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,972 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Business Hotel in Beijing
#10 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#14 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#15 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#73 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £90 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China - voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing