We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beijing Hotel”
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
Ranked #15 of 6,492 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Beijing Hotel”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed at the Fairmont Beijing at the beginning and end of a week long trip to China with my 2 children. We booked a Gold floor King bedded room through Expedia because they had a free internet and breakfast promo to go along with a great nightly rate. Upon check-in, we were charged 200 CNY more per child per day for the Gold privileges which was acceptable, but not as advertised by Expedia. This is primarily a business hotel in the financial district, but the hotel staff was extremely welcoming to us regardless of our casual attire. The breakfast buffet at Lunar 8 is HUGE and offers delicious western and Chinese selections, as well as a very expansive pastry bar. You can watch fresh dim sum being made most mornings and eggs are cooked to order. We found the wait staff at Lunar 8 to be amazing both at breakfast and dinner. They were always available to attend to our every need and desire...and after 2 days there, they remembered everything we wanted from previous visits and had our table set with bottled water and fresh juice while we were at the buffet. Excellent service. The dinner menu is Chinese, but they do have a western menu available, too.

The rooms themselves were very spacious. Everything is automated from the moment you walk in and find the blackout drapes opening automatically. Lights are controlled by wall buttons and at the also conveniently at bedside. There are automated blinds for bathroom privacy and my kids love the Toto bidet toilet.

My only complaint is that there are smoking rooms available in the hotel which resulted in people smoking in the elevators. Hit or miss if you're going to get into an elevator which has become a smoke chamber. Also, while our room was non-smoking, the corridor to the room was sometimes smokey. We did not notice the smoke problem at the front end of our trip, but when we returned, it was an issue that put a damper on our otherwise wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Gold floor rooms have free wifi and breakfast. Also, join the free Presidents Club for free wifi wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sashak808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Director of Front Office at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear sashak808,

Thank you for such a detailed review! We really appreciate every guest's feedback. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed the service and the dining options offered at Fairmont.

Regarding the smoke smell in the elevators. We don't allow any smoking outside of the smoking rooms. However, there are always going to be rule breakers and I'm so sorry to hear that you experienced that during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    234
    62
    14
    10
See reviews for
211
414
76
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Fairmont Beijing didn't disappoint.

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. One chap in particular spent over half an hour on the phone with Air China so we could rearrange our flights (neither of us can speak Chinese very well). He was so courteous and incredibly patient! I actually regret not writing his name down so he can get full credit.

This may not seem like a big deal but when you have stayed in over a dozen five star hotels to be honest they all start to look and feel the same after a while, and what stands out is their quality of service.

We stayed in the deluxe room for 3 nights and it was lovely. Super comfortable bed, large bathtub with a small bathroom TV and the usual 5 star amenities you'd expect. The heated floors and toilet were a bonus and so nice as the weather was freezing! It was also a novelty as we come from sunny Perth where that sort of thing would be pretty useless.

The location was sweet. It was walking distance to the popular Silk Market and there were plenty of nice eateries around as well. Would recommend staying here to all of my family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonyaZephyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Director of Front Office at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear SonyaZephr,

I couldn't agree more with what your said about how the service is what stands out. For frequent travellers such as yourself every hotel room starts looking the same after a while and you're right, its the quality of service that makes a hotel memorable. At Fairmont our mission is "to turn precious moments into treasured memories" for our guests. I'm glad that our service was memorable.
I hope that you'll stay with us again during your next trip to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great hotel to stay while in Beijing. Friendly staff, good service and good food. Easy access to subway and shopping places. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. All staff are polite and greet you with great smile.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Director of Front Office at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Nick W,

Thank you for giving us a perfect review! Our mission at Fairmont is to turn moments into memories for our guest and I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed the service here. I hope you were able to enjoy the dining outlets at Fairmont Beijing during your stay with.
I hope to have you with us again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somero, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The place of the hotel is excelent. You have the possiblities easily to go where ever you like from this place.The overall look of the hotel is clean and the service quality is in high class level. The service really happen just in time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jouko Juhani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Director of Front Office at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Jouko Juhani L,

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your business trip to Beijing. Thank you for the wonderful review. We try our best to provide our guests with memorable service and I'm glad to hear that we were able to do that for you during your last stay with us. I hope that you'll stay with us again the next time you're in Beijing. Be sure to upgrade to a gold floor. The Gold Lounge has everything including business center, meeting rooms, and delicious cocktails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Had an opportunity to stay at this hotel on a regular basis over the last two years; during this time the progress has been commendable. Initially, the staff was trying to cater to both local and Western clients and that is difficult but over time a proper balance was found to the point that this establishment, in my opinion, currently meets the hospitality standards of its centennial Canadian Pacific predecessors.
In case you choose this place, stay on the Entre Gold floor, lounge is discreet and well catered while the staff is attentive. As a test, ask for olive oil for the smoke salmon or soft cheese, next morning you will find both on your table when you arrive. At night, they serve, when asked, the special drink, a mix of three rums with diet coke. In any event, consider airport pickup, you can go straight to your room, actually, if you can, try a suite, it is special and the Toto equipment is intriguing, had to install it in my houses after my wife visited.
If you need something, ask the concierge, did not steer me wrong over the last two years, was even able to find Camel cigarettes in Beijing. Nice place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordanwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Director of Front Office at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear jordanwin1,

It has been our pleasure to be your home away from home for the past 2 years. Thank you for such a wonderful review of us. Many guests have found our Toto toilets interesting but it's nice to hear that your wife asked for them to be put in your house. I look forward to seeing you again during your next stay with us. Please, bring your wife, I'm sure she'll enjoy the new spa menu that we have created at Willow Stream Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Hotel staff (front desk, concierge) would consistently avoid eye contact. They were either on their computers or iphones. I was shocked to find out this hotel does not offer a supper buffet. In addition, in room dining and steak restaurant were outrageously overpriced. No atmosphere whatsoever in hotel lobby....in one word....Boring. As a frequent traveller, I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank FreqTrav00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Director of Front Office at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear FreqTrav00,

I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As we cater mostly to business travellers we don't offer a buffet at the hotel unless on special holidays. However, if you'd like, our Concierge team is very knowledgeable and will be able to recommend the any kind of outstanding buffets in the city. Next time you're in Beijing I truly hope that you'll come by the Lobby Lounge for a drink. We have a wonderful musician performing every night. Again, I'm very sorry to hear that we were not able to wow you with our service. I hope you'll give us another change to change your perception of Fairmont Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed four nights here and used it as our base to explore Beijing. It is a little outside the centre of Beijing - but it is a lovely new and very well designed hotel.
Rooms are very comfortable - great beds and lovely marble bathrooms with separate showers. Spare blanket and iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. Lots of hanging and storage areas, Nespresso machines and turn down service.
Breakfast in the basement cafe is pretty good - nice range of food and decent expresso coffees. It is better to get there early as not all supplies are replenished and if there is a large tour group there it gets a bit busy.
The food we ordered through room service one evening was pretty good, if expensive, compared to restaurants in the city.
Good gym with excellent range of equipment and also a yoga room.
Staff are helpful - some speak better English than others.
All in all highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe H, Director of Front Office at Fairmont Beijing, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Go55,

Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We'vd had a lot of guest say that they liked the breakfast in Lunar 8. I hope you came back after breakfast hours and tried the Peking duck there as well. It's really one of the best places for the most traditional Peking dish. I hope you'll stay with us again when you visit Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,492 in Beijing
1,396 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,492 in Beijing
745 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,492 in Beijing
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,492 in Beijing
2,418 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,492 in Beijing
2,868 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,492 in Beijing
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Property: Fairmont Beijing
Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Business Hotel in Beijing
#10 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#14 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#15 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#83 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China - voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing