We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, wonderful service.”
Review of Fairmont Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Beijing
Ranked #15 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, wonderful service.”
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Convenient location - minutes walk from subway station. Take a map and hotel location with you - taxi drivers are not too familiar with this new location.
Beautiful rooms with very high-tech bathrooms (and toilet!) and lighting system.
Spacious spa although not fully operating with limited services.
Beautiful dining facilities but didn't try the food.
Indoor pool with excellent fitness centre.
Free wifi with President's Club membership.

Others:

2 bakeries down the road (exit the hotel and walk down the straight to your right) for breakfast and yummy pastries!

English-speaking tour guide Maggie (maggie11882000@yahoo.com.cn) is excellent.

1949 Hidden City: Noodle Bar for hand-make soup noodles and Duck de Chine for duck and 50% off quality dimsum... the best!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    229
    60
    13
    10
See reviews for
207
404
74
448
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
188 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Location: Not the greatest location for restaurants and nightlife, but the subway station is a five minute walk and the hotel is close to the “Silk Market”. One late evening we were looking for a restaurant and I asked the doorman what were the flashing neon lights down the street, his reply a housing development. The next night we made the 5-minute walk towards the lights, which we discovered were advertising an “Entertainment and Gentleman’s area. A quick look around and we noticed, “massage” signs, clearly not a good dinner location!
Hotel: A new hotel with very nice public space and fine restaurants, surrounded by large office towers, a true 5star hotel.
Room: We had a fantastic room, very clean and modern.
Internet: We are members of the Fairmont Gold club and received free internet otherwise I think it is expensive. No free internet in the lobby as seems to be the norm in China.
Service: was excellent from the front desk to the bellman. One late evening we wanted a simple noodle dinner. The doorman insisted on walking us to the nearby restaurant and made sure it was open. We asked for a taxi to the airport on departure, The bellman insisted on taking our luggage from our room to the lobby and the taxi was waiting as promised. If you can afford to have access to the Fairmont Gold lounge, it is worth it. Good breakfast, evening drinks and snacks were included. The staff in the lounge were extremely helpful and attentive. While the hotel is geared to the business traveler, the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and assist with site seeing and shopping. The concierge arranged a driver to drive us to the Great Wall. While not as cheap as getting our own taxi off the street, he spoke in Chinese to the driver setting out where we wanted to go and providing the driver with the hotel phone number in case of needed translation.
Summary: Fairmont Hotels need to run their North American hotels the same way as the Fairmont Chinese hotels operate. I highly recommend this hotel.
TIP: when you arrive at the airport have the Info people write out the hotel name and address in Chinese as the hotel is new and not well known to taxi drivers.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2010

This hotel is beautiful, extremely comfortable, and offers great amenities. The location is excellent, right by the subway and on a side street, so there's much less traffic noise than other choices. The service could not be better. I used the gym and the spa, both of which were amazing. The chef is terrific, so there is always an excellent dining in option. The concierge was knowledgeable and helpful in arranging short sightseeing outings. The entire staff makes this an outstanding stay. I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna-washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2010

One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at. Stop your looking and just book. Unbeilivable facility and service. Great locations. One block from subway and the silk market. The service is 5 star all the way. You will be very impressed with the service you will recieve. We were greated by the head Conceirge (Bob) and were well taken care of. Staff speaks very good english. Unbielivable spa. You won't want to leave but what a wonderful place to return to after your adventuntures!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This hotel is fantastic. Service is really exceptional from the manager on down. The manager solicited our opinions on how to make it better and everyone made sure our stay was the best ever. Health Club and spa are great, and the room is extremely plush and comfortable. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Good location; good on site restaurant; all the amnitiies you could want, and the best sevice possible.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steinkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2010

I am currently using the hotel wifi to write this review. Firstly we are traveling with 2 kids age 3 & 2. The hotel checkin was smooth. Bell men nice and helpful as well as the rooms are amazing. The rooms are so modern and the nice wooden baby crib is great for our 2 year old. The deluxe king room has a couch and we just turn it around for our 3 year old. The tv doesn't have childrens show so best to bring an iPhone to plug in. The DVD player has a USB jack so maybe try a jump USB drive with movies on it for the kids if you plan a visit. The fairmont has been very helpful ( Elton and Dave) in the lunar 8 restaurant in getting kids meals for my kids. They go above and beyond service. The spa and pool are now open and look great. Nice steam rooms and gym is 24 hours and offers free red bull. Nice! Hotel location is literally 200 meters from silk market. Sometimes cabs have a tough time finding it, so tell them it is behind the LG building and is attached to the reignwood building. If you see the Starbucks next to the silk market it is directly across the street and down the road. I am very impressed with the hotel and they have been wonderful with making my kids comfortable. They even gave them a gift at dinner last night. Highly recommend this hotel and will be sad to check out in 3 days. But will be back in 5 days. So can't wait.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apaxtheguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
238 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed here during the hotel's "soft opening" phase, but everything was still great. The rooms are top quality, and the beds were very comfortable. The location is pretty good, and taxi's are very easy to find. Generally, most taxi's could find the hotel when returning, but because the hotel was still pretty new, some of the taxi drivers didn't know where it was.

Also, we arranged for a private car transfer from the Beijing airport. I highly recommend this. It was relatively cheap and a representative met us at the airplane door, escorted us through customs, got our baggage, and escorted us to our private car (in a special underground waiting area away from the crowds). The car then took us to the hotel, where the staff greeted us by name, and walked us to our room where we were checked in (we didn't even have to stop at the front desk).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tacostuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,357 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,473 in Beijing
737 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,473 in Beijing
321 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,389 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Beijing

Property: Fairmont Beijing
Address: No.8 Yong'an Dongli, Jianguo Menwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Beijing
#8 Business Hotel in Beijing
#10 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#14 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#15 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#88 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional accommodations and service in an ideal Central Business District (CBD) location await you at Fairmont Beijing, China - voted #1 hotel in China on TripAdvisor in 2012. Stunning architecture and interior design reflects traditional and contemporary Chinese styles. Savor the ultimate dining experiences in our award-winning restaurants, keep fit on the road in our state-of-the-art gym and pool, then relax and indulge in our Willow Stream Spa.Please visit the TripAdvisor homes our hotel restaurants, The Cut and Lunar 8! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing