We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificnet China”
Review of Wendy Wu Tours

Wendy Wu Tours
Ranked #76 of 491 Tours in Beijing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 25 December 2017

We spent a marvellous 22 days in October 2017 on a Wendy Wu Magnificent China tour. We found every aspect of the tour well organised and stressless. Logistics were exceptionally well managed, from luggage transfers to providing boarding passes for flights, guidance through stringent airport security, skilled bus drivers, to good quality and well located modern hotels. The tour gave valuable insight into a rich history; and we experienced a very busy modern China, growing before our eyes. The tour group comprised 25 very friendly and good humoured people from the UK, USA and Australia, who quickly bonded and became ‘Ivan’s Family’. Ivan was our National Guide and was a key factor in the success of the tour. He dealt very efficiently with a multitude of details and kept a ‘fatherly eye’ on us all, offering assistance and advice wherever it was needed. This included explanation of the copious amounts of excellent food provided in various styles at local restaurants. His coordination with local guides at each major location and their excellent input made for relaxed and well informed travel. The tour included visits to many well publicised historical and scenic places, performances referencing traditional Chinese culture, and the chance to shop at commercial establishments and markets. It also gave the opportunity to see rapidly changing rural and city landscapes and technology. Among these was a visit to the Three Gorges Dam, part of a relaxing three day cruise on the Yangtze River. Others like the profusion of high rise apartments growing in all cities, extensive elevated motorway networks as in Shanghai, and thousands of electric motor scooters, were all around us. We found that helpful preparatory advice, comprehensive inclusions and the genuine enthusiasm and capability of our guides engendered confidence and much enjoyment. We have no hesitation in recommending a Wendy Wu tour of China.

Brian and Anne Maye. Armidale, Australia.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank bmaye2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"internal flights"
in 28 reviews
"three gorges"
in 20 reviews
"terracotta warriors"
in 55 reviews
"yangtze river cruise"
in 25 reviews
"maglev train"
in 19 reviews
"china tour"
in 52 reviews
"local guide"
in 30 reviews
"grand tour"
in 13 reviews
"silk museum"
in 11 reviews
"night cruise"
in 8 reviews
"optional excursions"
in 7 reviews
"lunches and dinners"
in 6 reviews
"holiday of a lifetime"
in 6 reviews
"lazy susan"
in 5 reviews
"jinmao tower"
in 4 reviews
"delights tour"
in 3 reviews
"top deck"
in 3 reviews
Filter

199 - 203 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2017

My partner and I went to China for 3 weeks, 2/3 of this trip was a Wendy Wu Tour, and we loved it. We got taken to a lot of places I'm not sure we could have sorted ourselves without the help of the tour. Our guide, David, was excellent as well, we really got along with him. If you needed anything he was there to help and sort it. Good enough english too, he had a lot of information about the places we went. This tour had a good mix of attractions and things for us to do. We would be in a big city with skyscrapers one day, to walking through caves and learning the ancient side of china the next

I would recommend this tour for any age to help with your time in china as it was exactly what we wanted and needed.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank TimP3373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

What a great tour to see China. You see so much in 22 days it is exhausting to think about how much we have seen, the many river cruises, the temples and how many hours of walking and steps were covered.
Every city was different with its own culture from The Great Wall, The Terricotta Warriors, the Panda's, the Li River to the vibrant cities of Bejing & Shanghai. The Maglev train in Shanghai is a must travelling at fast speed.
The tour is well structured with a Yangtze river cruise in the middle. The Three Gorges Dam was expansive and going through the locks was definitely worth watching. This was a great way to relax and enjoy the good food and drinks. It is definitely worth paying for the upgraded package when you book.
Our national tour guide David was so knowledgeable and was always able to answer your questions. He was very organised and was able to ensure that we always saw what was stated on the itinerary even when our planes were late and our schedule delayed.
The food was plentiful with a wide variety each meal. Each province served different food - some spicy but definitely very tasty.
China is not a country to go to by yourself. You feel very safe but there is definitely a language barrier.
With David's expert knowledge about China and a great group of fellow travellers we had the best time. Every day was busy but you definitely didn't want to miss anything.
I would definitely recommend Wendy Wu tours.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Ros039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Badly organised flight from Cambodia meant no sleep before starting our sightseeing in Beijing. Terrible hotel, dirty and shabby. Taken to second rate show in filthy theatre, overcharged by guide for tickets. Guide told us we would be paying 50 dollars in tip which we politely declined. Overall very disappointed by Wendy Wu, both by their bad planning and also the dishonesty of their guides.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank cac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyWuTeam, Customer Care Manager, UK at Wendy Wu Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear cac7

We are extremely concerned to hear of your overall disappointment with the tour. This is certainly not typical of the type of feedback we usually receive.

Please contact a member of our Customer Care team who will be able to investigate the issues you have raised. Our Contact details can be found on our website.

Kind regards

Lorraine, Customer Care Manager, Wendy Wu Tours (UK)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

We have recently returned from four weeks in the Far East. Our tour started in Cambodia and were to then fly to China. We found out at the last minute that flights were changed and we flew late at night, only to arrive in Beijing before doing our day tour of the city. This was the start of a catalogue of poor planning decisions that left us exhausted throughout our tour.
We had paid a high price for what most teenage backpackers would expect on a budget when travelling this route.
Much of our time was spent travelling and little time seeing the sights. And there was no time given for relaxation and for us to explore on our own.
Our flight from Singapore to India was split between two flights, one was excellent with Singapore Airline, but 17 had a budget flight with Jet Airways that was aweful. On checking at the airport however, we found out that seats were still available on Singapore Airline, so we were extremely dissatisfied.
On reflection we also realised that a lot of of the tour included visits to factories where a hard sell approach was used for us to buy local products this was a waste of time and seriously reduced our time at the major sights.
The most upsetting day was our visit to Bangkok, where we were left in a back street with no guide! We had no idea where we were and felt very vulnerable. This was due to our guide exhausting us as we walked unnecessarily around the attractions to find our restaurant. We insisted on using 'tuk tuks', but no clear instructions were given to the driver as our guide was unfamiliar to the city.
This was such a fantastic tour on paper, but this was not matched in reality. We still had visited some wonderful places, but we have been left frustrated by the poor level of organisation by Wendy Wu tours.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank whitesofwidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyWuTeam, Customer Care Manager, UK at Wendy Wu Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear whitesofwidley
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with various elements of the tour.
Complaints of this nature are extremely rare and please be assured your feedback has been taken extremely seriously.
We are currently investigating the issues you have raised and we will be in touch again, via your travel agent, as soon as possible.
Kind regards
Lorraine, Wendy Wu Tours (UK)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wendy Wu Tours also viewed

 

Been to Wendy Wu Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing