We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 days at Beijing ”
Review of Wendy Wu Tours

Wendy Wu Tours
Ranked #76 of 491 Tours in Beijing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Chris and I had a wonderful time in and around Beijing on our Wendy Wu tour. Our talented guide Jerry, made our time even more special through his assistance and guidance with additional options, recommended restaurants and always prepared to go that little extra to make our trip special. Supported ably by Driver Mr Lee, he kept us informed and his "stories" kept us entertained. He's also very skilled as a Future teller" predicting changes of weather, even snow in Beijing. Highly recommend both WW and Jerry. Caring and takes a personal interest.
Steve & Chris

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank ChrisSteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
All reviews
"internal flights"
in 28 reviews
"three gorges"
in 20 reviews
"terracotta warriors"
in 55 reviews
"yangtze river cruise"
in 25 reviews
"maglev train"
in 19 reviews
"china tour"
in 52 reviews
"local guide"
in 30 reviews
"grand tour"
in 13 reviews
"silk museum"
in 11 reviews
"night cruise"
in 8 reviews
"optional excursions"
in 7 reviews
"lunches and dinners"
in 6 reviews
"holiday of a lifetime"
in 6 reviews
"lazy susan"
in 5 reviews
"jinmao tower"
in 4 reviews
"delights tour"
in 3 reviews
"top deck"
in 3 reviews

190 - 194 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

We began in Bejiing with tour guide Jerry and thought it could not get better. Well we were wrong! In Xi’an we were greeted off the bullet train by tour guide, Isaac, who though very young had an infectious enthusiasm for his work and attention to detail that made our visit both informative and extremely enjoyable. We saw the Terracotta Army, bustling Muslim Quarter and finished at the traditional theatre. In Chong Jing - after the only hiccup, a flight delay - our guide, Ian, took us to the old town, the panda zoo and the mono rail to an excellent ‘hot pot’ dinner. Ian is a very kind and caring man, proud of his traditions and eager to share his great knowledge. We have been so lucky see so much in the company of such fantastic guides!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank SAWardCreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Gerry from Wendy Wu tours took us to the Great Wall and the Emperors Tomb today. We have had a fabulous day. Gerry is extremely informative and very helpful. Would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank WendyPhil_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Firstly let me say the guides know their stuff, how to organise a group efficiently and how to extract us much money from them as they can. They seem to have the same attitude at head office too.
If you look at Wendy Wu's brochures they do actually include a tipping amount for each trip and it looks as if it's mandatory too.
My wife and I were on a group land/sea tour organised by a UK travel agent and Wendy Wu were the appointed land tour agency. The trip was hugely disappointing considering the cost and it's still something of a mystery to who is responsible for this mess up. Perhaps it's the fault of the UK agency for publishing a brochure which couldn't be fulfilled by Wendy Wu or perhaps Wendy Wu failed to deliver what they had told the agency they would. Whatever, the first and only complaint goes to the Agency and currently they are still dealing with the sackful they have received. Wendy Wu , according to the responses I have received take no responsibility and feel no monetary compensation is due which suggests that they are blaming the agency for miss selling their trip.
I won't go in to the details of what went so horribly wrong but I will make a point about tipping.
We received our proper tour itinerary directly from Wendy Wu only a few days before we departed on the trip. In it was mentioned suggested tipping amounts .
and I quote
"Tipping - Tipping is a necessary part of the tourism industry worldwide. For your tour, we recommend the following tipping amounts to the local guides and drivers:
China: RMB80 per person per day
Southeast Asia: US$7-9 per person per day
India: US$9 per person per day
Singapore: SGD3 per person per day"

If tipping is a necessary part of the tourism industry it's because companies like Wendy Wu are creating it.
Tipping is totally alien to the culture of the Chinese. They don't accept tips in many places and look at you strangely if offered. Wendy Wu's guides on the other hand are quite the opposite and demanded their tips before they had even begun the tour! On top of that I'm sure someone gets an incentive to take you to all the various crafts shops and factories as well as organising extra curricula activities such as theatre visits and optional extra tours..
Recommended tipping amounts have no bearing on average wages in those countries either.
I know different nationalities have a different attitude and approach to tipping, to my mind it's an antiquated out of date way of rewarding staff. Employers should reward their staff with proper wages reflecting skill level, abilities, performance etc and which in this particular case should be paid for by levying appropriate tour costs.

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank DaveinNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyWuTeam, Manager at Wendy Wu Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear DaveinNorthWales

We are sorry to hear of your continued disappointment with the arrangements we made on your behalf. All issues raised have been fully addressed with your travel agent and please liaise with them if you have any further queries.

Tipping is expected in the tourism industry in China and the other regions in which we operate. Your tour was specially designed as requested by your travel agent and the recommended tipping amounts you have mentioned were agreed with them upfront. We are sorry if you were unaware of this prior to receiving your itinerary.

We truly hope there were elements of the tour you enjoyed and that you have returned with happy memories of the unforgettable regions you visited.

Kind regards

Lorraine, Customer Care Team, Wendy Wu Tours (UK)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We took a private 3 day tour of the Beijing area with Wendy Wu Tours. Our tour guide was Lily. It was great. Lily was very knowledgeable. She has a degree in Chinese history. She is very friendly, personable and took very good care of us. Her English is good and she patiently answered all our questions (and we are very inquisitive). I lost my phone and she went out of the way to call places we had been until she found it. We went with Wendy Wu because of their ratings and the ability to customize a tour for the six of us. We were very pleased with everything on our tour. Our accommodations were excellent. We had to make last minute changes due to unforeseen circumstances and Lily and Wendy Wu made all the adjustments needed. We highly recommend Wendy Wu Tours and Lily.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Cathy-Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wendy Wu Tours also viewed


Been to Wendy Wu Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing